Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally it's here
This is truly the best Stephen King novel made into an awesome film! The cast is great and story greater! I first saw this years ago on tv and finally found the video but due to me constantly watching this spectacular film it has kind of started to ware out! So for any Stephen King lover you will not be disappointed and finally the dvd is released this year! Watch out...
Published on 23 Jan 2004 by crackernun

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't "Stand" It... haha... sorry.
This was pants.

The first disc is okay - a bit drawn out - but then the second disc is hijacked by the producers of bad Eighties' soap operas. There isn't a scene without the cheesiest background instrumental tosh that would do better in a soft porn. And this music is CONSTANTLY playing, no matter what's going on be it a romantic smoochfest or they're being...
Published 14 months ago by Nathan Casey


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally it's here, 23 Jan 2004
This review is from: Stephen King's The Stand [DVD] (DVD)
This is truly the best Stephen King novel made into an awesome film! The cast is great and story greater! I first saw this years ago on tv and finally found the video but due to me constantly watching this spectacular film it has kind of started to ware out! So for any Stephen King lover you will not be disappointed and finally the dvd is released this year! Watch out for a cameo by the great author himself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film, 31 Oct 2003
By 
This is easily my favourite film of all time. Regardless of the fact it is a tv. movie, the film is amazing. From the very first scene the acting is superb, the fear of the trapped scientists is extremely believable, and Blue Oyster Cult's "Don't fear the reaper" creates a very chilling atmosphere to begin the film with.
As the film progresses, the viewer is shown what happens when both science, and fantasy combine. The ancient rivalry of good versus Evil is well presented in a modern day situation. The story leads to a climax that is acceptable but nowhere near as good as it should have been in scale with the rest of the film.
Sound and Special Effects are ok, nothing especially breath taking, and the effects in the last scene are a definate anti climax. However this is made up for by the non-flashy effects experienced earlier in the film, such as the stigmata-guitar scene.
In summary, the outstanding plot of this film, coupled with the highly developed characters (which is definately what makes this film so brilliant) make for a story of almost epic proportions.
Buy it now, and you will be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M O O N - that spells gotta get it, 10 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Stephen King's The Stand [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this when it was put on sky over a few nights years and years ago. I had the foresight then to tape it, and it has stood the test of time, and has given me hours of enjoyment ever since.
There is humour, humanity, evil, fear, loving, you see how the survivors of a flu epidemic in the USA divide into two groups , the good and the bad. The acting is superb, the storyline intense, and I can honestly say this is one of the best translations into film of Stephen Kings work.
I have been waiting anxiously for this to be released, as my old tape is now seriously on its last legs. Thats how good it is.
Did I mention the music? Decent and has great variety.
M O O N that spells buy it, you certainly wont be disappointed. Hours of entertainment that will have you enthralled with the honest portrayal of man at his best and worst. The epidemic could happen, especially nowadays with the SARRS virus, maybe it gives us all an insight as to the worst that could happen.
Rob Lowe's portrayal of a deaf mute only fails once, and I myself only noticed this the 15th time of watching it. I cannot think of any actor or character that lets the standard down. The only thing I don't understand is why it hasn't been on screen since.
I could rant more about the storyline, the characters, but there is no need to spoil what is a thought provoking film done with humour and the Stephen King touch of humanity at its worst.
Buy it, watch it, you wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Stand, 19 July 2011
Many of Stephen King's stories made unsuccessful leaps from the pages to the big screen. This is an exception. The plot is fantastic and some of the actors really hit the mark. I think the story is a success because it isn't too far from reality. Man trying to interfere with nature or play God, only for it to backfire spectacularly. The opening sequence to this film is immense and the song that supports it, awesome. BOC - 'Don't fear the reaper' fits perfectly with this film and gives the opening of the movie a real edge. As well as this, there are other great tracks such as 'Don't dream it's over' by Crowded House. As well as the pieces written by W.G. Snuffy Walden. As a story it works, it is certainly up there with 'The Langoliers' and other King classics. Every character has their own dimension and inner plot, which gives the film terrific depth. Randall Flagg plays the role of the devil fantastically well, even now as an adult, he sends chills down my spine. To anyone who enjoys horror movies and is a fan of King, then I would definitely recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the movie is, it can't hold a candle to the novel, 21 Aug 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Stephen King fanatics such as myself waited a long time to see a cinematic version of Stephen King's The Stand, the apocalyptic epic which many fans then and now consider King's masterpiece (although The Dark Tower series may have passed it in terms of importance to King's legacy). Personally, I consider the novel It to be King's magnum opus, but The Stand naturally means a lot to me. One wondered if a film version could ever be made that could do the original novel justice; certainly, King himself would not proceed with such a project until such time as he felt he could pull it off. This six-hour miniseries is fantastic, due largely to King's hands-on overseeing of what can be called "his baby." This was a massive undertaking, and it yielded a final product just about as good as it could possibly be. The obvious truth is, though, that even this monumental film pales in comparison to the novel. While the onset of the superflu and its horrifying effects is told extremely well and in great detail, other parts of the story are glossed over to some degree, particularly the activities in the Free Boulder Zone; more importantly, there simply isn't enough time to flesh out all of the important characters, and it is this unfortunate yet essentially unavoidable quandary that somewhat diminishes a fan's enjoyment of the story.
By and large, the casting is excellent. Gary Sinise is one of the most underrated actors in Hollywood, and he essentially becomes Stu Redman in this production. Jamey Sheridan is more than acceptable as Randall Flagg, Ray Walston is brilliant as Glen Bateman, Rob Lowe gives a powerful performance as deaf-mute Nick Andros, and Bill Fagerbakke oftentimes steals the show as the mentally challenged Tom Cullen. Molly Ringwald is good, but she just didn't become the Frannie Goldsmith I had long ago created in my mind, her character becoming rather aggravating to me in the later segments of the production. Laura San Giacomo really brought Nadine Cross to life, and the raw yet tapped sexual energy she brought to the role makes me think she could have tempted me over to the dark side without a heck of a lot of trouble. Matt Frewer simply is Trash Can Man; it's just a pity that his character was not explored to the much more significant degree found in the novel. The one character I have a problem with is that of Harold Lauder; Corin Nemec overdoes things a little early on, but the real problem is with the character more than the actor. It's not simply a matter of Nemec not really looking like Lauder; the problem is that Nemec's character is thoroughly unlikable from the very start, whereas the Harold Lauder of the novel is someone I sympathized with to a significant degree (at least up until his little surprise parting gift to Boulder). Of course, no discussion of the actors and actresses assembled here is complete without a chorus of praises sent Ruby Dee's way for her remarkable portrayal of 106-year-old Mother Abigail Freemantle. I was shocked to learn that Ruby Dee was actually a vibrant, far from elderly woman. One must also mention Stephen King's fine acting performance here, as he puts in much more than just a brief cameo appearance.
The Stand does have some weaknesses in terms of the special effects, notwithstanding the amazing makeup job on Ruby Dee. While the explosions and decayed bodies are brought off quite well, the transformation of Flagg's face between human and demon leaves much to be desired, and some of the special effects at the climax of the film are not very impressive at all. The way in which masses of dead bodies were displayed was quite effective, but I was a little bothered to see dead men and women hunched over buffet lines, poised in the seats of tractors in the field, etc. "Captain Trips" was not some type of poison that killed you instantly; you suffered with the flu for some time before death came knocking, and I can't believe gravely sick people were doing some of the things they were purportedly doing when the end came.
In the final analysis, Stephen King's The Stand is far from perfect, and watching the miniseries is by no means a substitute for reading the epic novel. You don't get a chance to really know these characters inside and out over the course of a mere six hours, and those who have not read the novel may question why some characters were even there in the film. Still, The Stand represents a monumental achievement in miniseries and film production, and I for one am thankful that a network allowed King as much time as it did in order to bring the pages of his novel to life. On a final note, the special feature about the making of The Stand is quite disappointing, coming in at just over five minutes in length. This disappointment is offset to some degree, however, by the inclusion of commentary provided by Stephen King, director Mick Garris, and several of the actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't "Stand" It... haha... sorry., 6 Jun 2013
This was pants.

The first disc is okay - a bit drawn out - but then the second disc is hijacked by the producers of bad Eighties' soap operas. There isn't a scene without the cheesiest background instrumental tosh that would do better in a soft porn. And this music is CONSTANTLY playing, no matter what's going on be it a romantic smoochfest or they're being chased by the hillbilly Satan guy.

Had to switch it off as I couldn't bear it any longer... and we'd already watched around three hours worth!

Also, it sort of seems like it's heading for a 'ra-ra let's all love Jesus' thing. Should have rather called it 'Touched By An Angel: the Movie'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Film makers: please leave Stephen King's books alone!, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Realization had dawned on me some years ago that the works of the great SK are rarely transformed successfully into the visual medium of a film or tv mini-series.
His art is the written word,and from that our own imaginations do the rest to visualise a world of chaos,fantasy or fear that the man has created with every sentence.

How sad that this is yet another of his great novels that flounders in the format of of a six hour,made for tv tea-time show.

That audience may enjoy this interpretation,but for fans of his books there is so much missing and disappeared.

My rating is for this poor,sanitized production(Gary Sinise apart),not the novel.

Two of the best ever adaptions of SK's novels were The Shawshank Redemption (3 Disc Special Edition Box Set) [1995] [DVD] and The Green Mile (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] which are both still being churned out in Special Editions such was their impact.

I don't think 'The Stand'(the tv series) will remain out there for long as a legacy of Stephen King's work ---it would be an injustice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the stand, stephen king., 4 May 2003
By 
I FIRST FOUND THIS GEM WHEN BROWSING IN MY LOCAL VIDEO RENTAL STORE IN THE EARLY 90'S,NOT HAVING HEARD OF THIS TITLE BEFORE AND BEING A STEPHEN KING FAN, I THOUGHT I'D GIVE IT A TRY, I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED.THE STAND IS A POST APOCALYPTIC GOOD VERSUS EVIL TALE IN WHICH A BIOLOGICAL WEAPON HAS DESTROYED CIVILISATION, SAVE FOR A HANDFUL OF SURVIVORS, WHO FOR REASONS UNKNOWN ARE IMMUNE TO THE 'SUPERFLU'.THESE SURVIVORS ARE DIVIDED INTO TWO GROUPS, ONE, A BENEVOLENT LOT, LED BY MOTHER ABAGAIL, WHO APPEARS IN THEIR DREAMS SEEK TO CREATE A DECENT SOCIETY AND LIVE IN PEACE.THE OTHER LED BY A RANDALL FLAGG, A DEMONIC FIGURE SEEK TO CREATE AN ANARCHIC SOCIETY.A POWER STUGGLE ENSUES BETWEEN THE TWO AND PROVIDES A MEMORABLE MOVIE EXPERIENCE FOR THE VIEWER.MAGNIFICENT, TRUE STEPHEN KING GENIUS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, yes, but....., 28 April 2004
By 
Mr. J. Dow "Choobs" (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King's The Stand [DVD] (DVD)
All the above comments are quite right, but it's worth pointing out that this is one of the worst DVD transfers I've ever seen. For starters, it'sin 4:3 and I'm pretty sure it was shot in 16:9. Secondly, there are a*lot* of compression artifacts. The picture is blurred and speckly inalternating amounts and the sound is poor. My first reaction on watchingthis was "dear God, it looked better on VHS". It may well be a great moviebut poor quality video does tend to be a little distracting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the adaption Stand?, 1 Nov 2007
By 
G (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
The Stephen King novel on which this epic mini-series based is a classic.
The makers of this adaption have made quite a good fist of it, even maintaining the books somewhat downbeat but redemptive ending.
Stand out performances include Rob Lowe and Gary Sinese.
I would recommend this as one of the few good Stephen King adaptions.
(which include the green mile, the shining, salems lot, the shawshank redemption, stand by me and hopefully the upcoming "the mist").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stephen King's The Stand [DVD]
Stephen King's The Stand [DVD] by Gary Sinise (DVD - 2004)
15.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews