Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gross out 'viral thriller'
This film is for people who don't take movies too seriously, if you are able to have a laugh you could really enjoy this film. I would recommend it to anyone who hasn't seen it before, it's not the goriest or scariest of films but its worth a watch.
Published on 3 Oct 2008 by C. Boyes

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you go down to the woods today.....
Cabin Fever is the directing debut of Eli Rothi, who also co-writes and co-produces. It stars Rider Strong, Jordan Ladd, James DeBello, Cerina Vincent, Joey Kern & Jeff Hoffman. Plot sees a group of young college graduates rent a cabin out in the woods for party weekend but start to fall victim to a flesh eating virus.

Eli Roth has never been shy in coming...
Published on 23 Jan 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gross out 'viral thriller', 3 Oct 2008
By 
C. Boyes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cabin Fever [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is for people who don't take movies too seriously, if you are able to have a laugh you could really enjoy this film. I would recommend it to anyone who hasn't seen it before, it's not the goriest or scariest of films but its worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you go down to the woods today....., 23 Jan 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cabin Fever [DVD] (DVD)
Cabin Fever is the directing debut of Eli Rothi, who also co-writes and co-produces. It stars Rider Strong, Jordan Ladd, James DeBello, Cerina Vincent, Joey Kern & Jeff Hoffman. Plot sees a group of young college graduates rent a cabin out in the woods for party weekend but start to fall victim to a flesh eating virus.

Eli Roth has never been shy in coming forward, happy to be a self publicist and megaphone for hyperbole, he made some bold statements in the run up to the release of Cabin Fever. He had been bemoaning the lack of gore and nastiness in the current crop of horror film's, even venturing that horror should get back to the 80's style of The Evil Dead et al. With that in mind, Cabin Fever is a little disappointing in that it's not as outrageous as expected, but it's a nice touch having a virus as the cause for the horror, even if in reality the structure is cribbed from other more notable back-to-the-woods horror film's. However, where he does score bonus points is that his "fever" is double ended, it's not just the virus as a fever motif at work, but the fever of the group as well, their reactions to the infected and their fear of the disease itself. This allows Roth to slide in some grue and nudity as he dabbles in interesting fates for his characters.

Roth would make good on his "more blood " promise with his follow up to Cabin Fever, Hostel, and then top that with that film's sequel. It seems that Cabin Fever, with its modest budget, was merely the stepping stone that he needed. It made over $30 million in profit Worldwide, proof if ever it was needed, that horror is always a big money earner if done right. Cabin Fever did not live up to initial expectations, but it's still a bloody gooey good time for the discerning horror faithful. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 14 July 2011
By 
Mr. C. J. R. Beale (Stevenage, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cabin Fever [DVD] (DVD)
great actors, good storyline which makes you wonder what it causing everything to happen, creepy locals, typical early 00s horror but what seperates it from others is that its filmed really well and the acting is believable, so is the script(well as muich as a horror script can be)

Seriously buy this movie...JUST DONT BUY THE DAMN SEQUEL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but got few extras goodies, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Fever [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good film, I'm glad we've got directors cut in UK for once. I think film does feel bit weird at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PANCAKES!, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Fever [DVD] (DVD)
This is a decent movie, I don't know why it got so many 1 stars, the acting is alright(it could be better) its got a decent script although one scene is particularly weird (PANCAKES) lol! I think the writters should of told us how the man(henry) got the fever instead of silly scene like the pancake bit! I think its an alrite movie! I did watch cabin fever 2 before this one and I have to say this one is much better number 2 is boring and the acting is bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not BriIIiant, 23 Mar 2004
This review is from: Cabin Fever [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Don't believe the hype that surrounds this movie. After all the superb reviews I was dying to see it and immediately brought it. But afterwards I was sadly disappointed. Whilst it was described to be a non-stop crazy gore-fest, it is actually nothing more than a slow downward spiral which builds up to nothing. It isn't really gorey either. There's hardly any bloodshed with just a couple of rotting corpses.
So if your looking for a outrageous gorey horror classic, save your money and buy something else. :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars see red, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Fever [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
5 college friends go for a weekend away to stay in a cabin, a man is nearly shot and it is soon found out that there is a severe contagiouse body rotting desease theyare doomed,a good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars awful, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Fever [DVD] (DVD)
the worst horror I have ever seen. fake, stupid acting and boring! don't waste your cash! not my cup of tea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst piece of crap ever, 9 Mar 2014
This review is from: Cabin Fever [DVD] (DVD)
From the lack of solid story to the worst acting ever right down to the most out of place sound track ever. This film is second only to solaris on the crap'o meter. Id go into more detail but seriously this small review and the hundreds of others on here and imdb say it all. This film is so bad there are no words i can use to accurately describe how pants this film really is. Deserves 0 stars but there wasn't an option for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly Good, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Fever [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Fairly good film and fast delivery. It is not that scary but entertaining to watch on one of my nights off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cabin Fever [DVD] [2003]
Cabin Fever [DVD] [2003] by Eli Roth (DVD - 2004)
3.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews