Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value extras
There are some interesting extras included with this Hyperdrive Edition. They include ;

A new text introduction to the film written by Dan O'Bannon who died just before this release.

The original version of the film (68 minutes).

A full-length audio commentary of the final version (83 minutes) by Andrew Gilchrist who tells you everything...
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by M. E. Gosano

versus
64 of 71 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing
Have just tried to watch my newly received copy of the Dark Star 30th Anniversary Special Edition. What a disapointment. In what sense is this edition "Special"? No digital remastering, dreadful sound, and not even subtitles for the hard of hearing (and believe me, you need them to follow what the actors are saying). The "extras" are simply short biographies of some of...
Published on 26 Nov 2008 by The Supercargo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it's dated now, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Star, 30th Anniversary Special Edition [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
The quality isn't perfect (especially the sound) and anyone who has seen Red Dwarf will think it derivative but this came first, there was nothing like this before it and the scene with the alien in the lift shaft is still one of the funniest ever filmed. Just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good package, 27 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good DVD issue with an accepatble SD transfer, given the old source material. An entertaining commentary track and the informative, if a little padded, documentary "Let There Be Light."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funny sci fi spoof, 21 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Star [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
One of Carpenters first films, a humorous riposte to the pomposity of 2001 a space oddysey. Nice touches include the tetchy alien, the less the glamorous conditions aboard, the talking bomb. Very droll, very clever. Not for shoot-em-up special effects lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the best comedy sci fi, 6 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for me this is a fantastic low budget film,love the characters.if you have a straight sense of humour not sure if this is your type of movie and if you have no sense of humour try watching this little beauty you may find you have one!great film and a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total enjoyment from beginning to end, 17 Oct 2005
This review is from: Dark Star [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those rare films that is a true pleasure to watch, especially if you are utterly bored by the same-old 'blockbuster' rubbish put out by Hollywood year after year. Just stick it on, sit back and enjoy the ride, in the company of hippy astronauts on a weird and crazy mission in deep space. The ending is hilarious, and the accompanying music will stay with you a long time. And look out for the philosophical debate between man and machine. This says it all about our so-called technological advancement. Have a great trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Star, 30 Jun 2002
By 
Ian de Wessington (Washington, Tyne and wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is a fantastic example of how a low budget can be used to best effect.
If you have a love of Science Fiction and subtle humour then this is a must see film.
The crew of Dark Star are on a mission to blow up unstable planets, after a few years in space with the loss of the commander, the ship falling apart and nerves at breaking point the crew of Dark Star prepare for yet another bomb run.
If your a special effects watcher then this film isnt for you, but if you ever wondered what it was really like to spend years in space with people that you dont like,a 6 month transmission time to earth and no toilet paper since the storage area blew up then this could be it.
Some fantastic moments include:
Pinback stuck in a lift after chasing an escaped alien
A frozen dead Commander giving advice
A video diary that auto deletes any rude or offencive content
And the talking (somewhat intelligent) bomb that wants to explode even if it is still in the hold
Also includes some very touching moments, Doolittle's escape with home made music and Talbys dreams of surfing.
I have real hopes that this will become a cult film and so release on DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where ALIEN came from, but this is SO funny, 14 Mar 2000
This review is from: Dark Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Interesting to see that this is only the second review of this American film, reviewed again from UK. Maybe irony really is lost on our USA friends.
The film features the following marvels:
* A quite fantastic personal diary from Dan himself (who isn't even supposed to be there!). How in in hell did Dan O'Bannon turn down the acting career?
* The most ridiculous alien ever on film, and the best explanation for any alien's existence.
* Possibly the most realistic representation of long-term space travel - years with the same 3 people. You'd go nuts too, right?
* Very VERY fine acting. Low budget it may be, but you don't see this callibre of deeply realistic acting very often. Dan O'B shines as a natural comedic player.
* A rubber chicken (this IS sc-fi, right?). *S* I'ts not surprising that John Carpenter directed this. He's always had a tongue in the cheek from 'Dark Star' to 'Escape From LA' (ignore the critics - Escape LA is plain daft! - take it as such (er, that WAS him wasn't it? ).). Mr Carpenter seems to have an eye for discreetly silly things - B-movies made into blockbusters.
[Anorak stuff: Dan O Bannon wrote the screenplay for Alien (not sure about the apostrophe so I left it out here, anoraks). Indeed, in ALIEN, the bomb became Mother, but also the robot Ian Holm, and even the alien too, sort of. In ALIEN the alien became just a little more savage in its intentions, the ship got a LOT bigger (designed by Roger Dean - that bloke who used to do the airbrushed album covers for the band 'Yes'). In ALIEN the people were remarkably similar to 'Dark Star' - real people, ...with having to DO something out of the routine.]
---
I too have to mark this as my favourite film in the whole the history of film.
Gems like this are rare in film-making. Low budget usually means under/over actcing and too much enthusiasm from the photogrpaher. Thankfully, Dark Star is incredibly mature in its direction, performances, photography and direction, not to mention storytellying.
A truly unique and FUNNY film, the like of which won't happen again (although "Dead Man" (Johnny Depp) came close, but it wasn't half as understatedly funny as it thought it was, or maybe that's just me).
Dark Star is a gem.
Snap it up before it's lost forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the budget - a good hoot - bit expensive though, 8 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dark Star [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen thi at the movies (student union) and thought it was pretty good actually. All on a shoe string budghet. Good humour and Dan worked really hard through out the movie. There is no disguise of the cheap FX effects but it works well for the wnole movie.
Its only rated down because of the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets... probably!, 11 Feb 2012
An absolute classic film. Isn't it great that it's even on Blu-ray? Who would have thought? By the way, aren't we getting sick and tired of waiting for "Prince of Darkness", "They Live", "In the Mouth of Madness", "Christine", even "Village of the Damned" and an uncut "Body Bags"???
But I digress.
Reading the other customer reviews, it's great to see that people really want to be as positive as they can about this release. Accentuating the positive is such a rare thing in reviews.
I must add my congratulations to the folks behind this restoration, too. They've done a mighty and much appreciated job.
But...
I have a couple of issues with this release. The audio is OK. Certainly not the most immersive DTS experience you'll ever have, but who'd expect that? When I listened to mine I could hear that there is a definite 'pre-ghosting' (I don't even think it's a term...yet!) but in many spots, both dialogue and sound effects could be heard in the background a few moments before they appeared in the film proper. Maybe I just had mine turned up too loud??
The thing that really bugged me about this release was was the digital blurring in the crew quarters sequence so that the nude pictures could not be seen on the wall. Don't get me wrong I wasn't sitting there desperately waiting to see some vintage porn on the wall, but the blurring was really distracting and completely unnecessary. The film has been available uncut for so long, couldn't it just have been left alone for what will be it's ultimate incarnation for the forseeable future? Change the rating if you have to, the only people buying this disc will be very familiar with the film, I'm sure. There won't be many under 12s just dying to add "Dark Star" to their collections...but come to think of it, that would be kinda nice, wouldn't it?
Fairly minor quibbles I agree, but I love this movie and these were just a couple of factors that took away from my enjoymenta little bit.
Congratulations on a successful bomb run, fellows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Birth Of Comedy Sci-Fi, 13 May 2006
This review is from: Dark Star [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
John Carpenters first film and wgat a film.

A crew of pot smoking airhead misfits floating through space, with a faulty computer.Loved every moment of this film and can see why it is such a cult classic.It may not to be every mans taste but if your a fan of Mr Carpenter, Red Dwarf and just good Sci-Fi then this is the film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Star, 30th Anniversary Special Edition [DVD] [1974]
8.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews