Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic
The first two disks (Walking with Dinosaurs, The Ballad of Big Al) are fantastic. They immerse you in the prehistoric world and make you follow the adventures of various animals. It's incredibly well done, and very emotional. The best nature show I've ever watched.

The third disk (Land of giants, The giant claw) is much weaker. No immersion, no story, no...
Published on 27 Jun 2010 by Harmony K.

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good some a bit lame
The main disc is great but I'm not sure if its worth paying extra for the box set. Still must be said its a good series
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by C. Fitchie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 27 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Dinosaur Box (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The first two disks (Walking with Dinosaurs, The Ballad of Big Al) are fantastic. They immerse you in the prehistoric world and make you follow the adventures of various animals. It's incredibly well done, and very emotional. The best nature show I've ever watched.

The third disk (Land of giants, The giant claw) is much weaker. No immersion, no story, no emotion. An annoying guy traveling with his car or small plane among the prehistoric animals. This of course ruins the whole effect. Showing bones ruins the effect too. They should have put the CGI in one show, with a little story to keep things flowing nicely. They they should have put Nigel and the bones in a "making of" extra.

Anyway, don't let this stop you from buying the big box. The first two disks are totally worth the price by themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative family viewing, 29 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Big Dinosaur Box (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is superb value (under a tenner at the time of writing). The DVDs are informative and entertaining. It's not often that my six year old asks to watch a DVD more than once but he absolutely loves the 'Walking With Dinosaurs' episodes, prompting him to ask loads of questions and find out more about Dinosaurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The BIG Dinosaur Box, 20 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Dinosaur Box (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Bought out of a childish fascination with dinosaurs, this DVD box set did not disappoint. Would recommend to entertain and educate children (despite a few of of the dinosaurs leaning suspiciously toward fiction), the shows were certainly entertaining and there are quite alot of episodes in the box. Also good for adults with an interest in the prehistoric. Its enjoyable to watch the period come to life in front of your eyes. I'm a university student, and these DVDs certainly entertained myself and my flatmates. A nice product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big dinosaur box, 4 Jan 2010
By 
A. Comelli "andcom05" (australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Dinosaur Box (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
walking with dinosaurs is one of my all time favourite doco's. with very good special effect's and commentary by
kenneth branaugh, the bbc have presented an enjoyable and interesting look at prehistoric life on earth.
this boxset makes great value for money with the inclusion of 'the ballad of big al' and 'the giant claw'. a fascinating look at a rare plant eating dinosaur that featured massive front claws.
an excellent boxset, highly recomended to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Big Dinosaur Box, 1 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Dinosaur Box (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
"The Big Dinosaur" box was sheer, delightful entertainment from start to finish, enjoyed by both adults and kids in the family. The special effects and animation have dated very well, and look just as fresh as they were when these programmes were first screened on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and interesting, 31 Mar 2008
By 
Jhon Brown (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Dinosaur Box (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The walking with dinosaurs series is fantastic the cg is good but the animitroics are a bit off and the narration is fantastic. The ballad of big All is also very interesting and has the same high standards as walking with dinosaurs. The ones featuring Nigel Marven are still very good cg wise but Nigel's acting is mediocre, sometimes his rections to the dinosaurs are not believable. But a good boxset all together worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Big Dinosaur Box Set, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Big Dinosaur Box (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This item was delivered very quick. It is really good, my son (4 1/2 yrs) absolutely loves this box set! and my daughter (2 1/2 years) does too. It is played all the time, literally everyday!! Great value for money and really informative. Definately recommend to any dinosaur fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Box Set For A Young Fan, 2 July 2012
This review is from: The Big Dinosaur Box (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
My son got this box set for his 6th birthday and he is a major dino obsessive! Walking with Dinosaur's is the best DVD of the 3 but the Ballad of Big Al and Giant Claws are also very good - the special extra's disc weren't of much interest to my son (though I think they will become interesting when he's older) but I enjoyed them! The violence isn't gratuitous - unlike many dinosaur programmes we've seen - and isn't scary or upsetting in my opinion. Overall this is a great value box set and is a great way to get kids into dinosaurs :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars walking with Dinosaurs box set, 3 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Big Dinosaur Box (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my son and he absolutely loves it. He has the walking with beasts and thought that was great.
He will probably watch it over and ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4yr old LOVES it!, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. L. J. Valentine (bedfordshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Dinosaur Box (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this for our son last christmas (3yrs old) he is dinosaur crazy. this was an excellant buy and well worth getting the box set.we also enjoy watching them and are very well up on our dinosaur knowledge now! your child will not be dissapointed with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews