Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!
Finally, my search for the Arcade version of Pac-man has borne fruit. Bought it as a Valentine's gift for my hubby who's a great fan of Pac-Man. There are also four other games some of which we played when we were kids. Initially thought the price was a bit much for just Pac-Man, but we've both found that the other games are great fun too. It brings us both back to the...
Published on 24 Feb 2004

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware
These are not the original arcade versions but seem either to have been reprogrammed or have had chunks of code removed so they fit in less memory. Pacman for instance lacks the sound effect when using a power pill and dig dug lacks the original title screen as well as reduced number of colours on the main character.Bosconian is the worst example, how do you move in 8...
Published on 5 Feb 2004 by n ferguson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 24 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Namco 5 in 1 Stick (Plug n Play TV Games) (Video Game)
Finally, my search for the Arcade version of Pac-man has borne fruit. Bought it as a Valentine's gift for my hubby who's a great fan of Pac-Man. There are also four other games some of which we played when we were kids. Initially thought the price was a bit much for just Pac-Man, but we've both found that the other games are great fun too. It brings us both back to the days when we were kids. The music and the images are the most similar to the orginal arcade version compared to the PC software versions I've downloaded. In fact, the sounds makes me feel like I'm playing in an arcade. Best of all, it's small and light enough to bring it anywhere to play.
I had to use a SCART to AV convertor on my old TV but it works fine. The cable is quite long and allows you to play it at a distance away from the TV. However, I was a bit disappointed that rechargeable batteries are not recommended and therefore had to go out and purchase 4 alkaline batteries. Other than that, I find the speed a bit slow on Pac-Man but it could have been because I was trying to escape the ghosts ! All in all, a must for Pac-Man fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but not perfect., 26 Aug 2005
This review is from: Namco 5 in 1 Stick (Plug n Play TV Games) (Video Game)
This is great fun for the money. In return for just a few notes and pack of batteries you get:
Pacman - A classic!
Galaxian - A damn hard classic!
Rally X - Fast and fun.
Bosconian - Fun easy, despite no diagonal movement.
Dig Dug - Disappointing.
Yes, you can get the real original versions running on your PC via MAME, but it's a lot of hassle to get them running, and who wants to sit in front of their PC to play this kind of game?
The main niggles are:
1. None of the games have the two player 'take it in turns' mode from the orginal arcade machines.
2. Highscores are not stored when you change games or swich off.
3. The reset button is located in a stupid place - I've hit it by accident several times during frantic action in Bosconian.
Although these are all fairly minor concerns, it's a shame because with a little more thought this package could have been 100% perfect. In particular, the first two points are crucial in giving you a reason to keep playing - to beat the other player, or your own high score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 classic retro games in one handy joystick!, 26 Jan 2004
This review is from: Namco 5 in 1 Stick (Plug n Play TV Games) (Video Game)
Setting up the Namco stick couldn't be easier - just plug the 2 AV cables into your Television and you are ready to play ( this little baby is powered by 4 "AA" batteries though, so don't forget to order them!)
It's as easy as that - 5 different games are accessed from the main menu; Pac-Man; Galaxian; Rally-X; Dig-Dug and Bosconian. These are all arcade-perfect translations from yesteryear that will appeal to retro fans and collectors, but will also have Dad stuck in front of the TV reliving his mis-spent youth. The machine is worth the price for Pac-Man and Galaxian alone, with the other titles acting as an added bonus.
This is a great piece of kit that's simple to use and great fun to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and addictive gadget, 9 Aug 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Namco 5 in 1 Stick (Plug n Play TV Games) (Video Game)
I used to play the original arcade machine, so was delighted when I found this for sale. Lots of fun for the price of a meal and no food poisoning (although your fingers may ache a bit....)

It's a shame that it does not have an mains adaptor socket, as you occasionally find on these products. I use rechargables, which save me a fortune, although the manual recommends you don't. As long as you don't leave them in for an extended period, then you should be OK. Having to unscrew the battery compartment can be a pain if it is well used, but can understand why this is the case.

Reset control is stupidly placed, have deprived myself of some high scores, so it loses a star for that(!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good buy, 27 Mar 2004
This review is from: Namco 5 in 1 Stick (Plug n Play TV Games) (Video Game)
ive always been into arcade games and this is what i have been waiting for! 4 of the games are brilliant (pac-man, bosconian, rally x and galaxian) while dig dug just isnt as entertaining. overall its gd fun and challenging! the only thing to take into consideration is that it does require 4 AA batteries that are NOT INCLUEDED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some awesome BLASTS from the GAMING past, 29 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Namco 5 in 1 Stick (Plug n Play TV Games) (Video Game)
Bought this NAMCO -PLUG n PLAY TV GAME / JOYSTICK , and gotta say I am very very impressed by it , the cable is very long - about 12ft i think , the Joystick and buttons feel very solid and responsive , it takes 4 AA batteries , and beware when they are running low the games wont play ,and you just get a hazy coloured screen , its just a shame there was no electric /adapter powered option - its batteries only I'm afraid

1.PAC-MAN - never really was ever a fan ,but am becoming one now, it has great sound n graphics - very arcadey
2.GALAXIAN - one of my fav arcade games ever & again great sound n graphics - awesome
3.RALLY X - this was a new one on me , but its great fun , as you try to pick up flags while avoiding the chasing cars and other obstacles ,a very fast paced car challenge type game
4.BOSCONIAN - again this was a new one on me , erm a bit of a cross between ASTEROIDS and SCRAMBLE = great fun
5.DIG DUG - my fav from the lot , spent loads of money playing this game on holiday way back in the early 80s , and it looks and plays just like i remember it in the Arcade - truly awesome and addictive game

I highly recommend this product , its great fun playing the old games again , and they dont come much better looking and sounding than this - especially when you consider its battery powered gaming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware, 5 Feb 2004
This review is from: Namco 5 in 1 Stick (Plug n Play TV Games) (Video Game)
These are not the original arcade versions but seem either to have been reprogrammed or have had chunks of code removed so they fit in less memory. Pacman for instance lacks the sound effect when using a power pill and dig dug lacks the original title screen as well as reduced number of colours on the main character.Bosconian is the worst example, how do you move in 8 directions with a 4 directional joystick. Compare them with the originals on an emulator like Mame to see what i mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Retro, 21 Feb 2004
By 
S Warren (Ipswich, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Namco 5 in 1 Stick (Plug n Play TV Games) (Video Game)
Now here's a blast from the past.Five classic namco games all in one handy controller.These may not be arcade perfect , but my God they are so good.Pac-Man is worth the asking price alone ! Buy one of these right now and see how video games started all those years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars big kid again, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Namco 5 in 1 Stick (Plug n Play TV Games) (Video Game)
love it . took me back to the 80's , hour's of fun , if you like pac man get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classics, 18 Dec 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Namco 5 in 1 Stick (Plug n Play TV Games) (Video Game)
i wanted to play galaxian again as remember playing it in my dads pub. it is a very accurate copy because not all versions of galaxians at the time of release in early eighties played exactly the same a bit like variants of original space invaders slight variations colour celephane etc. found pacman not a bad game as well again remember it from days as a child. would reccomend it but make sure you have new batteries in it if any good because cant pause a game so once started make sure no interuptios. that happened one day when playing the galaxian was going quite well till interupted for a second lost momentum and couple of lives did complete 60+ sheets not sure how many i would of if hadnt been interupted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Namco 5 in 1 Stick (Plug n Play TV Games)
Used & New from: 12.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews