Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but a bit too easy!
I was so looking forward to this game, the first Getaway was great but really difficult.
I was expecting the same with the sequal.
Black Monday is a great game, a lot of the missions are really good, shooting and driving around london and the stealth missions are good too. However being an average gamer (i.e. not very good usually) i thought this game would...
Published on 15 Nov. 2004

versus
27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Short, bought on Friday finished on Saturday
I've been looking forward to this game for ages after being a big fan of the first game. The graphics seem pretty similar to the original, but the gameplay has been improved with better driving and slightly better on foot control. My only real complaint is that the game is way way too short. I have only spent somewhere in the region of 6 or 7 hours on it and have already...
Published on 13 Nov. 2004 by Stephen Richmond


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic game, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2) (Video Game)
A really awesome game, one of the best ps2 games i have played, its an all round winner in my book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars He who is tired of London is tired of life?, 5 Jan. 2005
By 
G. Morgan "Milton Drake" (Seattle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2) (Video Game)
I think the main reason this sequel dissapointed me is that the crew who put it together have not advanced it in any way over the original. They have improved nothing.
The cars are still the same: still too heavy and sluggish and less fun to control than the snake game on my old mobile. The cars still use the God awful indicator system whereby your directions are as-the-crow-flies and do not correspond to the map of the streets. You still can't look behind you or to the sides. All in all the driving part of the game has NOT been improved.
The on-foot shoot-out scenes are still kind of fun but the camera angles are all messed up and you can only recover three times (unless this is a bug)and there are no health pick-ups. There has been little to NO improvement in the shoot-out scenes.
London for all intents and purposes looks exactly as it was left in the original Getaway. With two years since the original a respectable game designer would maybe want to pick a different UK city? Like Brighton maybe? Or Swansea. Being as only tiny segments of the entire sprawling map are interactive it really doesn't matter as long as its different - but is it? NO.
The only thing that is propelling me through the game is the plot and cut scenes. The gameplay doesn't motivate me to play at all, or the cars, or the scenery... so should I buy a game just to watch the cut scenes when I can simply buy a movie?
NO.
All in all in my opinion Black Monday is a game slapped together in laziness that is below the standards of its competitors. But then again I live in London and I'm tired of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars black monday the getaway 2, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2) (Video Game)
this is not as good as the first getaway but it still is good to play good game to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first Getaway, 3 Feb. 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2) (Video Game)
After the brilliance of the first Getaway I was expecting a lot from this game. However, the story line wasn't nearly as good as on the first game and took me a weekend to complete. Once I had completed it, it wasn't even as if I could explore the city because apart from a couple of streets here and there it was exactly the same area as on the first Getaway. The makers rushed this game after the success of the first. They would have been better off taking longer and giving the first title a worthy sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars should be a film, 16 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2) (Video Game)
forget san andreas this game is way beter better graphics great story line and you decide how the game ends 22 chapters seems quite a lot but it is much easier than 1st game 3 playable characters in this game sam eddie mitch great fun to play buy this game or trade your old games in to get this game cheaper
buy it ps cutscenes rule
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Make a quick getaway, 27 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2) (Video Game)
Black Monday has done nothing to address the problems with the first Getaway game, in fact this game is far poorer than the original. The same sloppy targeting system, no advancements in the car handling and even shorter than the original.
Many question comparisons to GTA in their attempt to defend this game. I however question the comparisons because the excellent GTA games should never be compared to this atrocious Getaway sequel. This is one of the worst (expectantly awaited) games of 2004 along with Driv3R. I cannot understand how a games developer can justify doing so little with an existing title with so much time to play with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Black Monday, 15 Jan. 2005
This review is from: The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2) (Video Game)
I managed to complete this game in just 5 hours. i found the story line dull and there just wasn't a single part of the game that took practise.
I am a big lover of the GTA games and found this to be i pathetic copy. after completing the game i had a look at the extra features and found that these are even worse. a part from the language in the game i would say this would be a good game for 9 year olds to prepare them for the freedom and great gaming GTA offers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Getaway: Black Monday, 11 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a reasobable game but has a very short lifespan. More missions as Mitch would be better. The gameplay has not changed at all and london is still well portrayed. The new map makes things alot better.This game would get 5 out of 5 but the lifespan means don't pay more than £15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap sequal ruins Brand reputation, 18 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2) (Video Game)
Oh dear, what can I say. The original game was the inspiration behind my buying the PS2 console, so you can imagine that I was looking forward to the sequel.
Well having played and completed the game in a week I can say that the sense of disappointment was crushing, and I couldn't help but feel that if this was the game that had come out first they would never have bothered with a follow up.
The best bit of the previous game was the realistic driving around London's streets. Now you still get the London streets and recognisable UK cars, but the cars have become indestructable and their handling characteristics dulled. You can be driving at top speed down any road and it doesn't matter what you do to the steering you cannot lose control of the car. So bang goes the realism that the first game introduced.
With the previous game's best part gone, you are left to play the shoot em up. To "develop" this bit they have given everyone machine guns, but like all shoot em ups this has taken the game further from reality. No longer will a couple of bullets do, now you have to empty entire clips of submachine gun fire into your enemy. Add the fact that for some reason you have become all but indestructable and the game is so easy that it is over before it has begun.
Save yourself some cash and buy the original, otherwise steer well clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 July 2014
This review is from: The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2) (Video Game)
Great classic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2)
The Getaway: Black Monday (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews