Customer Reviews


258 Reviews
5 star:
 (179)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


325 of 333 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy a USED copy
Just thought I should warn future prospective buyers through the marketplace. Do NOT buy a used copy... once a CD Key has been used Blizzard lock down that Key, and it is non-transferrable. So if you buy a used copy then you won't be able to play.
Published on 8 Mar 2005 by D. Maughan

versus
99 of 112 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game but way too time consuming
This is, without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played. The sheer depth of it is astounding, I put in over 20 full days (that's 480 hours!) on one single character and was still 10 levels off the elusive level 60 and that is why I stopped playing.
For the first 20 - 30 levels the game is great, there are loads of quests you can complete by yourself, loads...
Published on 17 Oct 2005 by Mr. G. Harper


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *** DON'T BUY THIS GAME USED ***, 23 Mar 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (Mac/PC) (Video Game)
If you are thinking about saving a few bucks and buying this game used, don't. You need an authentication key that can only be used once. I don't know why Amazon are allowing people to sell this game used. It's completely useless without a new authentication key.

Great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for us non-addictives too, 15 May 2009
By 
Anine (Trondheim, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (Mac/PC) (Video Game)
A lot of people have talked about how time consuming this game is and how it is so fun it's addictive. I agree, but I also disagree.

As an 18 year old girl with "normal, healthy interests" - as my grandmother would put it - I find this game really fun. It's probably due to the instant satisfaction and the diversity of the game. Still, I just don't spend very much time on it (1-5 hrs a week, depending). I guess I don't have a very addictive personality, and I don't need to "escape", but I do still play, because it is aestethically nice (I care about that) and really really fun.

However it's not so fun that every single person who starts playing it would necessarily want to give up on other things to play it. Yes, as I said, it is great fun. Some people also talk about how you need to play such an awful lot to get anywhere, but I disagree. It's possible to spend little time on it each week, only thing is that it takes you a lot longer to level up. But if you -like me- enjoy the process, it shouldn't cause a problem.

The only really bad thing I can think of, is that you need to actually read the manual as you go along, because the game is not very beginner-friendly.

But anyway, don't be alarmed by the promises of instant addiction. You needn't give up on your life to play this, and you might not want to either. You know yourself best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


160 of 185 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh yes, 8 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (Mac/PC) (Video Game)
blizzard are in my opinion, one of the best 4 games developers in the world, with the starcraft, diablo and warcraft series, they have proven themselves to know how to make fundamentally excellent and enjoyable games, which is exactly what an MMORPG needs to be
world of warcraft is an MMORPG (massively multiplayer online role playing game) set in the history-rich world of azeroth, you pick a team - there are two teams at "war" - the horde and the alliance, though that's not to say this is strictly a player vs player game though, there are non-pvp servers where the war atmosphere is maintained through other methods, the horde are comprised of orcs, undead, tuaren and trolls, while the alliance are humans, night elves, dwarves and gnomes.
along with choosing a team & race, you must choose a class, there are a number of classes such as:
Paladin: a holy knight, capable of taking damage well, who can also heal competently and has other support spells
Rogue: a sneaky chap who strikes from the shadows, causing incredible amounts of melee damage
Warrior: the warrior is typically the chap responsible for taking damage in fights, they have the most health and the best armour, along with skills designed around them taking damage and holding "hate" so the enemy sticks on the warrior instead of attacking weaker classes, although, quite uniquely in wow you can design your character around being an offensive warrior, or berserker, who can do melee damage which almost rivals that of a rogue
Hunter: the hunter is a ranged attacker (guns or bows) who commands the respect of animals, he can "charm" an animal to his side and it becomes his permanent pet, he is capable of reasonable damage with many utility spells
Mage: a powerful class designed around doing a lot of damage over a short period of time (direct damage spells)
Warlock: the warlock is a class designed around doing a lot of damage over a long period of time, on long encounters (raid bosses etc) their damage is unsurpassed, they also command demons pets which they may summon to their aid (including a warrior type pet and a rogue type pet, and more), warlocks also have many useful utility spells
Shaman: the shaman is described as a hybrid class, they are competent healers, able to take damage reasonably well when needed, and able to cause damage reasonably well, sort of a combination of a mage, warrior and priest, yet the sum of their parts is no more powerful than any one of their component classes, they also have powerful utility spells and "buffs"
Priest: the priest is the generic healer, he has powerful healing spells, resurrection spells and buffs (statistic improvements), or you can specialise in offensive damage as a priest
Druid: the druid is a difficult class to describe, in their natural state, they command nature magics, able to heal well and cause damage well, they also have what is described as the best buff in the game, yet their strength (and weakness) is their versatility, they are able to shapeshift into various forms, such as a cat (which gives them limited rogue abilities) a bear (which gives them limited warrior abilities) and more, their versatility means they can fill almost any role needed in a group, but since they do not do anything as well as the "parent" class, they are considered to be the "silver medal" of the game at this point
after you have decided on your class, you must venture out into the wide world, filled with hundreds, and probably even thousands of other players (depending on your server), here you adventure, quest, fight, gain experience, level up, and gain new abilities and spells. As you adventure you will learn more about the world, its history, and perhaps make friends along the way
although most MMOs are designed around group play (and wow is not especially different here), all classes are able to "solo" (fight alone) to a reasonable degree, group play is beneficial, but no longer will you have to sit for 40 minutes just to get in a group, like you did in, say, everquest. Also unlike everquest, the game isn't designed around the "grind" (tedious constant killing of enemies to gain experience), the game is more quest-based and the concept of "downtime" (having to rest to regain strength after fights) barely exists. Wow is a game of fun, not a game of work (unlike everquest & probably eq2). Players can also band togther to form guilds, guilds will bring a strong sense of community to the game
at high levels (60, and beyond as expansions are made), the game will cater for "raids", raids are events where guilds fight very powerful AI creatures which may take 40+ people to kill, but the loot (items) they drop will be incredibly powerful, unlike Everquest and other MMOs, wow will mostly have "instanced raids", this is where carbon copies of the zone are "spawned" specifically for your guild or group, meaning there will be no competition for items, quests and zones, meaning also that any guild will be able to get into raiding
the game also has a number of "battlegrounds", where players can fight other players (remember, this is *war*craft), and possibly parttake in sieges on enemy cities and strongholds
along with all this, the game will have a rich tradeskill based economy, where players can gather components then produce items from them, then sell or use them
along with the "player vs environment" servers, there are also full on player vs player servers, where players can enjoy the full atmosphere of the war, with an honour system where people are rewared with honour for killing players near/above their level, and lose honour for killing players who are significantly lower than they are in level (with appropriate rewards/pubishments for having high/low honour) the game will stay fun and hopefully put off the "griefers" who just want to pvp to make other people's lives miserable
the game has so many little touches of brilliance, it's hard to sum them all up.. you can fly around the world by griffin, ride by beast or walk on foot, every class is unique and enjoyable, and develops well over the 60 levels
ultimately, world of warcraft is looking like being as close to perfect as you can get from an MMO, unfortunately the US release has been forced by the publishers so the game is probably going to launch unfinished, but with a february 05-ish release looking likely for UK, the game should be finely polished by then
blizzard are one of the best four games developers in the world in my opinion, and although they've made many mistakes (this is their first mmo afterall, and it's not even finished yet), it is looking like being another wonderful game, and a benchmark in MMO history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Truly a great game would get 5 stars but...it can ruin your life!, 14 Sep 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (Mac/PC) (Video Game)
So you done your basic research on the game you know what it's all about? Here's what else you should know...

World of Warcraft is a great game, no doubt about it, 10 million + subscribers says so. It's the best in its league, no other can touch it. It comes with both quality and quantity. There is one problem though and that is, there is a chance it will take over your life. You see WoW is a game where you can't just play casually, you have to invest a lot of time in it. We're talking 3-6 hours at a time depending on how often you want to play it. And those hours really go quick and can easily turn into days. And those days will turn into...every day.

I didn't have a clue what I was letting myself in for that day, or what lay ahead after I clicked "Enter World". Those few minutes I spent on deciding what character class I would play as and what it would look like, in contrast to the time I spent on it afterwards.

So a game about leveling up? Ding ding, hardly. Though leveling your character in World of Warcraft is one of the most time consuming parts of this game. There are a lot of levels to go through. But you can get to level 60 (a big milestone) a lot quicker than it use to take. With more and more ways to gain experience though, there's always so much to do and there is never enough time to do it in. And you still got 20 more levels to reach, and that takes even more time than it takes to get from 0-60.

It's a great relief and achievement when you reach level cap. All that time you've spent getting there has paid off. You've thought you would never make it but you finally have. Well not exacly. Because now the game only really truly BEGINS. That charcter you've just spent the whole summer locked in your room on is not anything without, that's it...GEAR. Come across another player from the opposite faction who is also max level, chances are you will get walked all over in a battle. Spit on and laughed at, leaving you wondering what the hell just happened there.

Yes gear, the one most important aspect of World of Warcraft. And not just any gear, EPIC gear. Without it you do not even have the slightest chance of competing in this game. And that's when the true grinding begins. That's when you start getting hungry for that all important gear. Gear with those high numbers, gear that will gain you more and more power, gear that glows and looks great and will make you immortal as so you think. And when you do begin gaining that epic gear and done all the grinding and slaying you possibly can without not being able to tell between fantasy and reality. And you've been ripped into by every other player enough times it makes you want to throw your keyboard at the screen. Just because you did something or you didn't do something that you were meant to at that last stage of another boss encounter. An encounter that you started on last Sunday and todays is Thursday, or is it Friday, you just don't know anymore.

It still isn't enough. Because there will always be something else out there that you must do. Whether it's just killing another monster or increasing your skill level. Or working on that achievement that you just have to have. You will always come across other players out there that you will envy. That's because you know they are better than you are. But unless, you're on the verge of passing out from sleep deprivation and your P45 has arrived in the post and you have forgotten what a social life ever was and that everyone you did know has disowned you or are passing out themselves because they've also become addicted to the World of Warcraft. It's unlikley you will ever be them. And you will never feel like you've done justice to yourself and the hundreds of pounds you spent over the months on subscriptions and expansions and you end up thinking to yourself...what a waste of my money and my LIFE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Addictive, Awesome, 2 Mar 2006
This review is from: World of Warcraft (Mac/PC) (Video Game)
I bought this game being new to the MMORPG genre and I have to say I wasn’t sure it would be for me. Within a day I was hooked. The game is, in a word, fantastic. The scope is unbelievable and you literally cannot run out of things to do. Despite the monthly fee it is money well spent as the game is constantly updated via live patch updates. I started the game at version 1.2 and currently at 1.9 (patches come about once every 2 months with 1.10 imminent) the game is almost unrecognisable (in a good way) to what it was.
The game should come with the health warning of being highly addictive and I found myself playing well into the small hours every day of the week, a considerable increase in my time spent gaming. You will find you spend hours playing and especially at the higher levels this becomes more of a necessity. However upcoming patches (1.10 currently) are geared highly towards more casual content, making the game suitable for raiders who spend hours in the top level dungeons and also for casual gamers who only want to play an hour or so a day.
Whether it’s Player vs. Player (PvP) or Player vs. Environment (PvE) you’re after, or simply exploring, trading, crafting or socialising, WoW (World of Warcraft) has it all. The game has just hit over 1 million players and realm performance is constantly being improved.
If you have not played the previous Warcraft titles I would suggest playing at least Warcraft 3 and its expansion. I played these after hitting level 60 with my second character on WoW and have to say that knowing the background history really brings the game alive in a totally new way.
All in all, a fantastic game, sometimes like a first person shooter (WSG 'Capture the Flag' PvP Battleground) and at other times unlike anything you've never seen before. The quests are continuously innovative and fun and you cannot run out of things to do! If you want to get an online game, this is the one for you.
I cannot stress enough two things: firstly how good it is and secondly how addictive it can be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars subscription, 17 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: World of Warcraft (Mac/PC) (Video Game)
Please be aware this title is a subscription-based "massively multiplayer online role-playing game" (MMORPG). With this retail box you get to play for a calendar month, after that you will have to to pay a monthly* fee in order to continue playing.
Naturally all WoW fans will tell you that you get your money's worth, but you should be aware of the ongoing pricing before you buy this box.
* Actually there is a variety of ways to pay, monthly/quarterly/6-monthly (8.99/25.17/46.14 respectively, at time of writing) via credit card or direct debit. The fee is flat-rate, the same no matter how much you actually play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 10 Mar 2005
By 
A. H. Harrison "gizmo-aggramar" (Oxford - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World of Warcraft (Mac/PC) (Video Game)
Never played an online game before but, as I have always enjoyed Warcraft I, II and III, I thought I'd give it a go. Fully expected to cancel my account before the first chargeable month. Now think I may never cancel.
Don't give the monthly charge a second thought, as you will save far more through the fact that you will never have the time go down the pub again. In fact, you will probably never go out at all. There will also be no point in you buying any other games as you will not want to waste any WOW time playing them. What you should worry about is: lack of sleep, and a total inability to think about anything in the real world, leading to loss of: job, wife, kids, health, sanity...................
This is a truly beautiful and totally absorbing game. Buy it and kiss goodbye to everything else in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Games Ever! But One Downside...., 23 May 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (Mac/PC) (Video Game)
Ok, this must be one of the best games ever created.

i bought this in 2007 and thought what the heck i want to try it because so many people think its great.

I got onto the game and thought it was great from the beginning even when you start out at level one. There was one problem of this game and that problem is, IT'S SO ADDICTIVE!

Sometimes i used to be on this game nearly 5 - 6 hours a day and used to hop on the computer as soon as i got in from school. from when i bought it i have been on and off on this game. It has great quests to do and stuff to explore in this huge world.

I am now currently on this game as i have come to a point of boredom at points and it is still fun as it used to be.
If you buy this game watch out for the addictive side, but apart from that great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but beware the updates, 11 Dec 2009
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (Mac/PC) (Video Game)
Loving WoW, but it took hours to download the latest patches even with a 6.5mbps connection. It more or less downloaded a whole new version of the game. What's the point of the installation DVD Amazon? You might as well get the 10 day free trial then just subscribe to WoW. Now then, where's that goblin raiding party got to...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good game can get repetative and is expensive and higly addicting, 22 Jun 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (Mac/PC) (Video Game)
Just liek in the title this is a good game it can get sligtlhy repetative as most of the quets are the same it is expensive and you will find that you get hooked on it and after a couplew years you realise how little youve accomplished after putting so much tinme into the game AND IT DOES TAKE OVER YOUR LIFE,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World of Warcraft (Mac/PC)
World of Warcraft (Mac/PC) by Blizzard (Mac, Mac OS X, Windows, Windows XP)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews