Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Prisoner ofm Azcaban
I thoroughly enjoyed Chamber of Secrets and this next game is almost as good. Not so challenging and scary (no giant spiders or snakes) but loads of things to collect and trade. Graphics are top class, soundtrack wonderful, and story line good. On the debit side, you MUST close down all virus protection and firewall applications and any other background "stuff" otherwise...
Published on 20 Jun 2004 by Mary

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best for younger gamers
The third Harry Potter pc game begins with Harry, Ron, and Hermione searching for the rat, Scabbers, on board the school train. Once at Hogwarts, the trio takes turns learning new spells, completing challenges, and taking final exams. They collect candies as they explore the castle and grounds, and trade the candies at Fred and George's shop for collector's cards and...
Published on 12 Jun 2004 by Kona


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best for younger gamers, 12 Jun 2004
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD) (Video Game)
The third Harry Potter pc game begins with Harry, Ron, and Hermione searching for the rat, Scabbers, on board the school train. Once at Hogwarts, the trio takes turns learning new spells, completing challenges, and taking final exams. They collect candies as they explore the castle and grounds, and trade the candies at Fred and George's shop for collector's cards and portrait passwords.

On the plus side, even the youngest gamers will find the game easy and there are no scary creatures or situations. There are frequent same-game opportunities, and the game is very short.

On the down side, see the preceding paragraph! Gamers over 12 may find this game is too easy, too short, and too repetitive to hold their interest. There is little to do with the plot of the book here. For example, Hermione's speciality is transforming statues into live cuddly bunnies, Harry slides on frozen water, and all of them are attacked by not-at-all-scary flying books! You won't find much here about Professor Lupin or Sirius Black; Malfoy, Snape, and Crookshanks are completely missing. I was disappointed in this game and hope the next one sticks closer to the book's plot and is more exciting.

I recommend the Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban pc game to younger gamers only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Prisoner ofm Azcaban, 20 Jun 2004
By 
Mary (Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD) (Video Game)
I thoroughly enjoyed Chamber of Secrets and this next game is almost as good. Not so challenging and scary (no giant spiders or snakes) but loads of things to collect and trade. Graphics are top class, soundtrack wonderful, and story line good. On the debit side, you MUST close down all virus protection and firewall applications and any other background "stuff" otherwise you get a complete crash. Tricky for young players!! Annoying that I couldn't use my Gamepad and, Oh dear, those unexpected save points. Loading points take a long time. When moving from the entrance hall to the grounds go and make a cup of tea while you wait. The game ends a bit of a damp squib, sending me home for the hols when I haven't found all the wizard cards, no one will sell them to me and the shop is sold out.And what are Bonus cards? I have contacted EA Games about this and hope to solve the matter.
In spite of the negative points I loved the game amd would recommend it to both adults and children. Stressfree and no people killing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite top of the class ?, 11 Jun 2004
By 
D. Swann "swannie" (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game has a lot of good points but....
First the good. All the familiar locations are here and as usual it has the atmosphere of the book and film. A nice balance of old and new where spells and enemies are concerned makes getting into the game easy. Easy is a good word for this game and perhaps this is the problem. it is much easier than the previous two. An easy start is to be applauded but it never develops. Also the need to cmplete every task perfectly before ending is a little frustrating. I am left at the end knowing I only need to fly three more rounds of the Hippogriff challenge to finish. OK if you are good at this aspect but I am not and anyway as each round is very similar only longer the incentive to keep trying isn't there. Overall an enjoyable game but I hoped for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, 19 Jun 2004
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD) (Video Game)
I was really looking forward to this game, having got the previous 2. But I was pretty disappointed, as you can get through it quite quickly and it's fairly easy. It doesn't really follow the book; lots is missing, eg visits to Hogsmeade and Divination class, and there is not that much of Sirius Black or Professor Lupin. There is no climactic ending like Philosopher's Stone and Chamber of Secrets, you simply have to complete all the challenges and mini-games so it just sort of fizzles out.
On the plus side, you can play as Ron or Hermione as well as Harry, there is more stuff to collect and you can buy things in Fred and George's shop. And like Chamber of Secrets it tells you how many secret areas there are to find, which is useful.
On the whole though, probably fun for younger players but disappointing for adult fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How come other people don't like it?, 12 Nov 2005
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD) (Video Game)
Hi there, I'm 11 years old, and i think that this game is one of the best ever made! I believe this is the best Harry Potter game so far. You get to do loads more than in the 1st and 2nd ones. For example, in this one you can buy scrolls from Fred and George's shop that let you get into secret passages, along with cards you get with Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans, Pumpkin Pasties and Cauldren Cakes. The spells are loads more interesting. You can turn into rabbits and dragons, turn water to ice then use it as a massive slide, and much more! Unlike the other 2 games, you can be Harry and all his friends, and use linked spells for more power. You face more enemys, more challenges, and more fun! Oh, and did I mention riding Buckbeak, fighting pixies or monserous books! And if you get all the cards you get unlimited time in the bonus bean room with extra things in there. Over all, this is an excellent game that i'd recomend to any one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gobsmackingly Amazing!!!, 22 Aug 2007
By 
Jane "Richards" (England, Manchester) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD) (Video Game)
Although this game is rather expensive it is a MUST in your household. Harry Potter and the Prisoner Of Azkaban is both fun and challenging at the same time. It is much more enjoyable than the last two games and it offers more of a variety of challenges.
It is a definite hit in my household and everyone no matter what age is desperate to play on it. Any age will enjoy the game.

Please note: the camera can make you feel a little bit dizzy at first, but it's part of the fun, so don't worry about it.
I DEFINITELY recommend this game if you don't buy it then you're mad!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this. ALWAYS., 22 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD) (Video Game)
I used to play this such a long time ago when I was little, but I'd lost the cd so I decided I would buy it again from amazon. And oh my gosh. I thought, because I was older, I wouldn't enjoy it as much as I used to... but I did. Moreso infact. Because now I'm older I was able to go through the entire castle and find all the secrets instead of just trying to complete the game. Which I loved doing! And just... ahh. I love this game so much! Deffo worth the price. And deffo the best game out of ALL of the games. Awesome. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOOK AT THIS!!!, 18 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD) (Video Game)
The game version of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is a clear step above its (still well regarded) forebears. Based on both the book and film of the same name, the game sticks close to the look and feel of the movie wherever it can, while filling in details from the book to ensure a longer playing time. The main difference between this game and the last, apart from the vastly improved graphics, is that you now get to play as Ron and Hermione as well as Harry. What's more, throughout most of the game you can switch between any of the three whenever you like, as the other two follow you around and help out with magic spells should you get into a fight.
Each character has their own special abilities with Harry being a good all-rounder, Hermione being better at spells and Ron having the ability to detect hidden objects. You must decide which skill is most needed at any one time, adding a cool strategic element to the game.
Together with the new graphics, which are far less cartoony than before and look just like the proper actors from the film, this is definitely the best Harry Potter game yet and is good enough to appeal even to those that don't usually like the little wizard--if such people actually exist. --David Jenkins
In Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry Potter fans can experience the magic and peril of Harry's third year at Hogwarts. For the first time gamers will play as friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger as well as Harry Potter, switching between characters and utilizing their key attributes and skills to resolve challenges and overcome enemies. The three friends will need to combine their strengths and master a variety of new spells as they face Harry's most terrifying opponents yet: the escaped convict Sirius Black and the sinister guards of Azkaban prison, the Dementors.
From the opening scene on the Hogwarts Express to the climactic finale on the shore of the great lake at Hogwarts, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban will immerse players in the magical world of Harry Potter. Players will unravel the mystery surrounding Sirius Black and his escape from the infamous wizard prison Azkaban. Gamers will encounter a host of new characters and creatures, engage in a variety of sub-quests, fly on a Hippogriff, reveal the secrets of the Marauder's Map and take on their friends in multiple two-player challenges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun but rather disappointing in a number of ways, 13 Sep 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD) (Video Game)
Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban is a great game, but I think it falls far short of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets in terms of gameplay, atmosphere, and most certainly duration. I enjoyed the chance to play as Ron and Hermione, but it's not as if you choose one for a certain situation - it's all predetermined by the game itself. I was happiest when the trio stayed together and worked as a team - a number of different actions require the skills of more than one of our young wizard characters. Nice new additions such as this to the HP gaming experience turn out, unfortunately, to be few and far between. Much more is lost than is gained here.
The graphics are quite good, for the most part, but they just don't make Hogwarts come to life. In fact, Harry is pretty much just thrown down in the middle of the place and sent to class without any adequate introduction - there's no animation clip of Harry's departure from the Dursley household, no get-together in the Great Hall, only the briefest of welcomes from Professors Dumbledore and McGonagall, and little chance to really settle in. Hogwarts itself seems to lack character, especially when viewed from outside the grounds - I never felt as if I were really "home." The experience is further diminished by the nonexistence of Quidditch matches, a House Points Championship, or extracurricular activities such as wizard dueling. Then there's the length of the thing. Just as I was settling in and planning to get start exploring the place in earnest, I found myself almost at the end of the game. This feels more like a demo than a complete game. You basically only learn three new spells here, and the spell challenges are much shorter than those of the earlier Harry Potter games. And even though Hogwarts looks bigger in this game, there is much less to do and explore than I was expecting based on my memories of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. The only association you really have with your professors is in the challenges; in fact, there is hardly any interconnection with characters other than Harry, Ron, and Hermione in the entire game (even Draco Malfoy is kept out of the picture almost completely). Things come much too easily, even when Harry has to battle a horde of Dementors. As bad a player as I am, I had little trouble advancing quickly past all of the challenges - that is a clear sign that the game is much too easy.
The game does have its good points. Flying Buckbeak is loads of fun and makes for an almost serene experience. Expecto Patronum makes a fine addition to Harry's repertoire of wizarding skills, the ability to create and temporarily control small dragons makes for a bit of a fun challenge, and Carpe Retractum offers up a different and rather risky way to get around inside a challenge. The ability to create little rabbits and send them out to explore the local area is fun at first but eventually feels a little silly. I also have mixed feelings about the new Glacius spell, largely because sliding down frozen streams of water just doesn't seem to jibe with my concept of Hogwarts and Harry Potter in particular. All of this points to the most problematic issue with the game - it all too often wanders far afield from the events of the novel and movie. This renders the whole Sirius Black storyline as almost incidental and anticlimactic at best. Giving the game designers such a free hand in terms of content seems to have led to a concentration on the gaming aspects rather than the storyline, and that weakens the whole experience.
Harry is basically just going through the motions in this third installment of the HP gaming saga. When I finished the Chamber of Secrets game, I went right back in and played it a second time. Having finished The Prisoner of Azkaban, I feel no such commitment to the experience and may or may not ever return to this adventure. It's still a fun game to play, but give me HP and the Chamber of Secrets any day over this newest addition to the HP gaming series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 15 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game is unbelievable! Its got the classic music from the first game but with new and brilliant graphics (for a retro gamer anyway). If your a fan of the first few games you should definitley get this one! The spells are great, you even get to play as Hermione and Ron too!! And as always it sticks to the detail of the books instead of the films which is a brilliant thing too. Probably my favourite game out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD)
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (PC CD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews