Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars9
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2004
I pre-ordered the new Harry Potter game and so far I am very pleased with the level of difficulty in the game, which makes it quite challenging in parts. For hardened gamers it may seem a bit underacheiving for a Potter title, but for ordinary people who love the series, this is a sure fire hit.
My son and I play the game alternately to see how far we can get against each other , fighting all the different monsters and trying to get each of the three characters, Harry, Hermione and Ron to increase their spell powers so they can beat the ever stronger and more powerful super monsters which are scattered throughout the game.
The graphics are not too bad and the music is far better and much less annoying than some of the other games.
The game has different slots, so should you get stuck in a part that you cannot escape from (after the shreiking shack, trying to get past a mountain troll is my personal hurdle) then you can start a fresh game rectifying all your mistakes and finding another way out of trouble.
So far the game has lived up to my expectations and I recommend it to all for a way to enjoy something that the kids will love as much as the adults.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
This is an awesome little RPG for the GBA. My girlfriend had played the Gameboy Colour equivalents of The Philosopher's Stone and The Chamber of Secrets, so when she learnt that the developers had made a third for the GBA, she got excited and I decided to get it for her. It's actually really enjoyable and I've had a play, myself. It's an underrated gem, in my opinion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2004
I dont often complete games- usualy i get bored and move on to the next one when im half way through. I managed to finish this game in a little over 6 hours- it was that easy. i wont argue that the gameplay itself wasnt fun, it just felt like you were rushed through the game without having much of a chance to just explore. You also level up so quickly that by the time you're half way through the battles are so easy that u never need to use potions to restore health- just wait til you level again.
on the plus side- and this is a big plus, i was addicted for the whole 6 hours i played (spread over 2 days), the plot stays pretty much to the book and the graphics are great.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2004
I was very excited about this new release and so rushed to the shops and purchased a copy as soon as it was released. I returned home and i was engrossed for over an hour.
The begining of the game starts when harry gets to diagon alley and this part of the game is a refreshing new start, away from the all too similiar hogwarts in the other 2 games.
However, after an hour of great fun and satifaction it begins to wear out. There is much repetetiveness in the game play, every 10 minutes you are asked to search an enviroment for 5 missing items and you are always fighting the same monsters.
The game remains faithful to the book however and this pleased me whilst playing, however it is for this reason that you soon begin to realise you are at the end of the game in a matter of 3 hours. After a tough final boss you feel disatisfied, as if EA games spent the first month or so working extremely hard, and then got lazy towards the end.
Overall, if you are looking for a bit of Potter, buy this game from somewhere where you can return it if you are not pleased with the bland mini games that are meant keep you playing longer, wait till it's in the summer sales, when the Harry Potter rush, surrounding the movie has died down, and get a good price.
Graphics: 5/10, worse than the first one by far. There was no difference between this and the gameboy colour versions in the past. If anything, they are worse.
Sound:2/10 Annoying tingles and tinkling jingles, for health and safety reasons regarding the public, buy some headphones.
Gameplay:6.5/10 Monotonous after an outstanding start.
Lifetime: 4/10 Actual game lasts around 3 hours, lame mini games to keep a goldfish occupied. However there is a link with the gamecube, to raise and owl.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2004
this game is by far the best harry potter game. It out reaches our expectations for a GBA game. They have made it more cartoony rather than grapical and out in a battle mode which is well received and prefered by me. i think the fact u can use all players is a plus and i like the exp points and level ups. They each have a part to play not just harry as has been in the other games. the only bad things was that the game is quite short and i flyed through it in a number of days i wish it had been long. hope this helps make your decision. i recommmend you buy it!
love ya becky xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
cant go wrong here i missed this game and i loved to get it back after selling it ages ago silly me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
spot on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2004
As a pretty average game boy player I was amazed at how easy this game was to complete. Also I felt it was very dull as the challenges are all very similar i.e. look for five items, or walk into a monster and take turns to hit each other. I would not recommend this game unless you want the satisfaction of completing it, believe me, it won't take you very long.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2004
I own all the harrry potter games and love them all and im sure that this one will live up to the rest.
All i can say is preorder it know before there all gone!!
If you dont buy it your missing out on an adventure of alife time
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)