Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy Les Fleurs. Buy this one!
The best of Minnie is all here. Perfect Angel was her big breakthrough but Adventures in Paradise is her masterstroke. On the latter she enlists members of The Crusaders and a harpist to create a classy Soul/Jazz classic. We love you Minnie.
Published on 10 Sep 2010 by Stephen Gale

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed
Having only heard Minnie rippertons classic song 'loving you' i purchased this product hoping i would find other songs that were similair and as good, unfortunately to me this was not the case and i am very dissapointed with the other tracks on the first listen, i will probably at some stage listen the cd's again and hopefully find it more enjoyable!
Published on 10 May 2012 by S. Suligowski


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy Les Fleurs. Buy this one!, 10 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Angel/Adventures In Paradise (Audio CD)
The best of Minnie is all here. Perfect Angel was her big breakthrough but Adventures in Paradise is her masterstroke. On the latter she enlists members of The Crusaders and a harpist to create a classy Soul/Jazz classic. We love you Minnie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect angel indeed, 5 Sep 2004
By 
Cudworth Craig Stephen (Rome,Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect Angel/Adventures In Paradise (Audio CD)
Minnie Riperton really had an angelic voice it's not suprising that Stevie Wonder called her an angel.Stevie co-produced her debut solo album along with Minnie and her husband Richard Rudolph.The album opens with the rocky 'Reasons'it's a real belter that grows on you with each listen and could have been a Rotary Connnection song.Other highlights include 'Take a little trip'written by Stevie and his late wife Syreeta Wright,and the title track. 'Every time he comes around'could go on any luv makin' compilation and the closing track is a real piece of sublimity Stevie's harmonica being the icing on the cake.Need i speak about 'Lovin' you'? it's Minnie's anthem and probably one of the most beautiful songs ever crafted.
'Adventures in paradise' could have been a bigger album than it was Minnie and Richard were paired with Stewart Levine this time around and some of LA's most talented musicians contibuted they included Larry Carlton,Joe Sample,and Tom Scott.'Baby this love i have''When it comes down to it''inside my love' and the title track are great timeless songs that shold be heard more on the radio this second lp was a more polished affair and a worthy follow up to 'Perfect Angel' this two on one in conclusion is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful introduction to Minnie, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Angel/Adventures In Paradise (Audio CD)
Minnie Riperton is not well served by compilations - her versatility means that most collections offer snippets from different stages of her career and end up sounding uneven and disjointed. A much better idea is to get this bargain CD, containing her 2 best albums in their full. Perfect Angel is simply brilliant - one of the best soul albums of the 70s. You will be amazed by both the beauty and range of Minnie's vocals, and the diversity of the music. My favourites are the rocky Reasons, Stevie-penned and influenced Take A Little Trip, the jazzy Seeing You This Way, and the almost singer-songwriter It's So Nice (To See Old Friends). Given it also includes the exquisite Loving You, it is a real gem. Follow-up Adventures In Paradise has a much more uniform jazzy feel and sound, but also a great set of songs. Buy it, you will forever be in love with the amazing talent that was Minnie Riperton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Soul Classic, 19 Mar 2009
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Angel/Adventures In Paradise (Audio CD)
Once heard never forgotten, a real Soul Classic, that ticks all the boxes and then some. All the songs are gems, but if I had to pick one it would be
'Inside my Love'. The vocal range achieved in the song is amazing. This album is must have, regardless of how small your musical tastes are.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Minnie Ripperton was taken from us way before her time... and when you listen to her music it pulls at the heart strings for her loss and the talent that we have been deprived of... thankfully she left us with at least some of her wonderful work... Bless you Minnie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Investment, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Angel/Adventures In Paradise (Audio CD)
A fantastic CD from the voice of an angel, who sadly departed this world in the late 1970's well before her time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Minnie Rippeerton, 3 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Angel/Adventures In Paradise (Audio CD)
Such a beautiful singer. I used to listen to her over and over again back in the '70's. Her passing was tragic and a great loss to music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ben kelly, 8 Nov 2007
By 
Bernard Kelly (port glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect Angel/Adventures In Paradise (Audio CD)
classic soul produced by stevie wonder need i say any more
what a voice eat your heart out mariah carey etc x factor
crap ola wannabees once you hear this you will know the score
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: Perfect Angel/Adventures In Paradise (Audio CD)
The quality of both these records is outstanding. To have them both on one CD is a great deal. (I hope it doesn't give the wrong impression to people - these records should be able to sell on their own.)

I've been listening to these albums over and over again, for about 6 years now, and I never tire of them. They're full of soul, and beauty, from start to finish. And the song writing is excellent.

So sad that Minnie died so young, but what brilliant work she left for us to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin' You too!, 30 May 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Perfect Angel/Adventures In Paradise (Audio CD)
PERFECT ANGEL - FIVE STARS:

Minnie Riperton's 'classic' nine-track album from 1974.

Minnie was a one-hit-wonder with the classic love song 'Lovin' You' which almost topped the charts way back in the spring of 1975. Often mistaken to have been the wife of Stevie Wonder; Riperton had a great and vocal talent that could reach all sorts of ranges - several tracks here giving her loads of scope. This is an album of great soulful songs which was very much the sound of the early to-mid seventies.

Her follow-up single (also featured here) 'Seeing You This Way' unfortunately made no impact on the charts at all - but I liked it. It's a catchy little number.

Every track a timeless gem - she passed away all too soon at only aged 32.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Angel/Adventures In Paradise
Perfect Angel/Adventures In Paradise by Minnie Riperton (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews