Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.60+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2005
If you've located this page, you are probably aware of the sorry state of rap music nowadays and perhaps looking for an alternative. Well my friend, you've found Madvillainy, so look no further.
So who are this 'Madvillain'? Well, they're a duo made up of MC MF Doom and producer Madlib. Before collaborating on this album, they had both been involved in many amazing projects, but this one beats them all hands down.
There are 22 tracks on offer here, each one clocking in at an average of around 2 minutes. There are hardly any hooks or choruses on the disc, as most songs are just comprised of one big freestyle from Doom. But somehow, even though most tracks work in the same way, the album never becomes formulaic or repetitive. Whether it's the zany Accordian, the hazey America's Most Blunted or the brilliantly jazzy Great Day Today, every track brings something new to the table.
MF Doom's raps have an amazing flow, as he drops hilarious line one after the other. Doom even breaks new ground on the track Fancy Clown as he takes the role of one his many alter egos and disses himself. If that's been done before, please let me know.
Overall, I would consider Madvillainy in the same league as 3 Feet High and Rising in terms of flow, production and overall hilarity. Doom and Madlib have a special musical chemistiry together and they have made the most of it on Madvillainy.
Key Tracks:Accordian, Raid, Fancy Clown, Great Day Today, Rhinestone Cowboy.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2004
I first heard this album at a barbecue in the baking heat of an August day... What a treat...
Two of the most talented and innovative artists in hip hop team up to deliver, what is in my opinion, an album to push the barriers of hip hop to another level. Crafted from fantastic hooks, loops, and live riffs, this album identifies a musical niche and fills it instantly. Expect nothing more than flawless production and cleverly amusing lyrics. Madlib and Doom are a force to be reckoned with individually, but their teamwork gives them the shine they deserve. Madvillainry is fairly short, but full of impact. This CD is ace!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 April 2004
Don't judge this album on your first few listens. I'm a big fan of bothmadlib and more so MF Doom, and I was actually slightly dissapointed inthis release at first (tho it has a few standout tracks).
A few weeks later, and some of the other tracks have grown on me and i'mreally feeling this album.
There's a few tracks I skip, but at least 5 absolute classic tracks (whichyou can't say about many albums nowadays) and a handful of pretty decenttracks.
Each track is around 2 minutes long, so don't expect a normal album. It'sone to be played from start to finish (plus the odd skip !).
Pick it up. Within a couple of weeks you'll be loving it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
Claasic album - Truly a must have for all Madlib fans - Let this review tell you it straight!

[...]
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2004
this album is dope, mf doom and mablib teamed up, doom with his scrambling flowing lyrics and mad with his sometimes dark bassy, sometimes jazzy and sometimes funky beats fit perfect, if you already of the genius of MF DOOM i would put this closet to his VIKTOR VAUGHN for the dark one long verse style tracks, dooms skill is very evident on ths cd, he has really come out on top for this straight up dope hip hop that would go out to heads who like there hip hop straight and don't want a bling bling car song in sight, my fav tracks are money folder, figaro, strange ways BUT OVERALL DOPE ALBUM.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
New condition. I would rate this as the second best album with DOOM, after Operation Doomsday.

Top tracks:

1. Strange Ways
2. Meat Grinder
3. All Caps
4. Rhinestone Cowboy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2010
No need for a long review, Amazing samples and beats from Madlib (No Shock There!) and immaculate rhyming from Doom (Really No Shock There!!) The PERFECT collabo, like I said....SIMPLY GENIUS!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
A must have. Just a couple of tracks that aren't up to the rest of the albums standard. All in all it's exactly what you'd want from a doom marlin collab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
Took a few listens to get into but it is my favourite Doom album along with Born like this,I also have Mm Food but not really feeling it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
arguably dooms best collaboration. well worth a buy even with a relatively short playing time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)