Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rap album in years
If you've located this page, you are probably aware of the sorry state of rap music nowadays and perhaps looking for an alternative. Well my friend, you've found Madvillainy, so look no further.
So who are this 'Madvillain'? Well, they're a duo made up of MC MF Doom and producer Madlib. Before collaborating on this album, they had both been involved in many amazing...
Published on 21 Jun 2005 by scatterbrain6534

versus
2 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why oh why oh why oh why???
The title of my review is simple: The bootleg of this album (or demo or whatever you wanna call it) has been around for some years, and as a collection of half-tracks, it really got a lot of people excited for the finished product. The finished product arrives years later and nobody that heard the demos expected this - one big mess. The demos were dirty and raw, and once...
Published on 19 Aug 2004 by M. D. Jacobs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rap album in years, 21 Jun 2005
This review is from: Madvillainy (Audio CD)
If you've located this page, you are probably aware of the sorry state of rap music nowadays and perhaps looking for an alternative. Well my friend, you've found Madvillainy, so look no further.
So who are this 'Madvillain'? Well, they're a duo made up of MC MF Doom and producer Madlib. Before collaborating on this album, they had both been involved in many amazing projects, but this one beats them all hands down.
There are 22 tracks on offer here, each one clocking in at an average of around 2 minutes. There are hardly any hooks or choruses on the disc, as most songs are just comprised of one big freestyle from Doom. But somehow, even though most tracks work in the same way, the album never becomes formulaic or repetitive. Whether it's the zany Accordian, the hazey America's Most Blunted or the brilliantly jazzy Great Day Today, every track brings something new to the table.
MF Doom's raps have an amazing flow, as he drops hilarious line one after the other. Doom even breaks new ground on the track Fancy Clown as he takes the role of one his many alter egos and disses himself. If that's been done before, please let me know.
Overall, I would consider Madvillainy in the same league as 3 Feet High and Rising in terms of flow, production and overall hilarity. Doom and Madlib have a special musical chemistiry together and they have made the most of it on Madvillainy.
Key Tracks:Accordian, Raid, Fancy Clown, Great Day Today, Rhinestone Cowboy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic production!, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: Madvillainy [12" VINYL] (Vinyl)
Claasic album - Truly a must have for all Madlib fans - Let this review tell you it straight!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Doomsday, 9 Sep 2004
By 
C. J. Statham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madvillainy (Audio CD)
I first heard this album at a barbecue in the baking heat of an August day... What a treat...
Two of the most talented and innovative artists in hip hop team up to deliver, what is in my opinion, an album to push the barriers of hip hop to another level. Crafted from fantastic hooks, loops, and live riffs, this album identifies a musical niche and fills it instantly. Expect nothing more than flawless production and cleverly amusing lyrics. Madlib and Doom are a force to be reckoned with individually, but their teamwork gives them the shine they deserve. Madvillainry is fairly short, but full of impact. This CD is ace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grower, 29 April 2004
By 
RL81 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Madvillainy (Audio CD)
Don't judge this album on your first few listens. I'm a big fan of bothmadlib and more so MF Doom, and I was actually slightly dissapointed inthis release at first (tho it has a few standout tracks).
A few weeks later, and some of the other tracks have grown on me and i'mreally feeling this album.
There's a few tracks I skip, but at least 5 absolute classic tracks (whichyou can't say about many albums nowadays) and a handful of pretty decenttracks.
Each track is around 2 minutes long, so don't expect a normal album. It'sone to be played from start to finish (plus the odd skip !).
Pick it up. Within a couple of weeks you'll be loving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madvillainy (Audio CD)
New condition. I would rate this as the second best album with DOOM, after Operation Doomsday.

Top tracks:

1. Strange Ways
2. Meat Grinder
3. All Caps
4. Rhinestone Cowboy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 27 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. R. A. Middleton (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took a few listens to get into but it is my favourite Doom album along with Born like this,I also have Mm Food but not really feeling it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Genius., 6 Oct 2010
This review is from: Madvillainy (Audio CD)
No need for a long review, Amazing samples and beats from Madlib (No Shock There!) and immaculate rhyming from Doom (Really No Shock There!!) The PERFECT collabo, like I said....SIMPLY GENIUS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THEY DONE IT AGAIN, 8 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Madvillainy (Audio CD)
this album is dope, mf doom and mablib teamed up, doom with his scrambling flowing lyrics and mad with his sometimes dark bassy, sometimes jazzy and sometimes funky beats fit perfect, if you already of the genius of MF DOOM i would put this closet to his VIKTOR VAUGHN for the dark one long verse style tracks, dooms skill is very evident on ths cd, he has really come out on top for this straight up dope hip hop that would go out to heads who like there hip hop straight and don't want a bling bling car song in sight, my fav tracks are money folder, figaro, strange ways BUT OVERALL DOPE ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beguiling album of hip-hop, 9 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Madvillainy (Audio CD)
This is quite simply an astonishing LP. Madlib's production, where he combines jazzy loops with excerpts from 50s movies and game shows (or a least this is what is sounds like), provide an eery backdrop for Doom's gruff rhymes. I am still not sure what Doom is rapping about overall (!), his rapping style moves randomly from subject to subject. But his writing ability is not in question... there are numerous hilarious and clever lyrics. And with every single listen, you pick up something new.. Production is quite simply awesome, quirky, intelligent and definitely not formulaic!
This album is an absolutely essential purchase but persevere as it is one which requires listening more than once...!
My favourites tunes: Accordion, Raid, Supervillain Theme, All Caps, Fancy Clown, Great Day Today, Rhinestone Cowboy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got more lyrics than the church got "Ooh Lord"'s, 7 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Madvillainy (Audio CD)
Very good hip-hop album by the legendary Metal Face and jazz sampling maestro Madlib, two music makers who in their respective roles as MC and producer fly most in the face of popular gangsta/commercial rap. Some say this is Doom's best album, and while i personally prefer Vaudeville Villain, his bizarre and impossibly complex lyrics are really well complemented by some of the best beats Madlib has done yet. Certainly those who enjoyed Lord Quas's timeless "Unseen" album will feel right at home here with the eerie film dialogue clips (rock on Sun-Ra!), haunting jazz loops and overall nicely blunted atmosphere; whilst Quasimoto's first effort was a very laid back album, Doom's influence seems to have given Madlib's production a bit more of a mischievous energetic feel (whilst still being a killer smoke-up album). One thing tho, this album is a definite grower, and stayed ignored for a good couple of weeks by me after the first listen. But give it time and get a feel for what the duo are trying to do, and you will rarely find another hip hop album as fresh or inventive as Madvillainy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad246360)

This product

Madvillainy
Madvillainy by Madvillain (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews