Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pleasantly surprised
I had read so much about this CD before I bought it but I thought that the proof of the pudding....I was not disappointed-it is the small minded people who focus on the artists weight who will be. This is a wonderfully warm CD. It makes for easy listening and will ensure Michelles passage to better things! Congratulations it has kept me entertained!
Published on 20 Feb. 2004 by rob

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as crap as people think, although overall still crap
i bought this album on the strength of the second single meaning of love, which i think is a beautiful power ballad and no other song on this album even comes close to this one. there are some other track on the album which i found enjoyable to listen to though, these were emotional, which is a bit of an uptempo and quite uplifting and will probably be the third single,...
Published on 7 Mar. 2004

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as crap as people think, although overall still crap, 7 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Meaning Of Love (Audio CD)
i bought this album on the strength of the second single meaning of love, which i think is a beautiful power ballad and no other song on this album even comes close to this one. there are some other track on the album which i found enjoyable to listen to though, these were emotional, which is a bit of an uptempo and quite uplifting and will probably be the third single, too fast too slow is also another good song which sounds similar to a westlife song, cast the first stone is also quite an interesting song, and finally invincible which was writen by diane warren who also wrote songs like unbreak my heart by toni braxton. the rest of the songs are pretty dull and boring and sound pretty much the same. the album also contains a terrible version feelin good which michelle sung on the show on big band week, which was actually a good performance but the album version seems to have lost that ex-factor which it had when she sung it live. which is another thing that i found about this album michelles voice doesn't sound as good on recording as it does when she sings live.

overall this album is a pretty average pop album, although there is something quite plastic sounding about this album, as michelle doesn't sound like a true popstar and the album seems a bit rushed. fans of michelle should buy this while they still can as it will probably be one of michelle's last albums unless she can come back with something good and inspiring by her next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pleasantly surprised, 20 Feb. 2004
By 
rob (Edinburgh UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Meaning Of Love (Audio CD)
I had read so much about this CD before I bought it but I thought that the proof of the pudding....I was not disappointed-it is the small minded people who focus on the artists weight who will be. This is a wonderfully warm CD. It makes for easy listening and will ensure Michelles passage to better things! Congratulations it has kept me entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT DEBUT ALBUM, 10 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Meaning Of Love (Audio CD)
Considering the time given to rehearse and record the tracks of this album, Michelle sounds superb and for a debut album, she has done an incredibly professional job. The girl can most definitely sing. Unfortunately, her amazing vocals do occasionally get drowned out by too loud a backing track, especially on the power ballads (perhaps engineers suffered for the lack of studio time). And yes it is easy listening but I love it. Our tastes in music are subjective so no one should knock the girl for it being an album of ballads. Anyone listened to Nora Jones, Dido, Katie Melua recently? Plenty of ballads going on there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars am i crazy, 3 Mar. 2009
By 
S. W. Baggott "stevie b" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Meaning Of Love (Audio CD)
purchased this cd after listening to the track 20 second bursts on mp3 downloads did not sound to bad then i read some of the reviews and didnt know if i should buy michelles cd but how glad i did its a great cd sure it doesnt break any new ground but this is idol winner what on earth do you expect i think its a cd well worth the money i didnt find it bland great vocals , arrangements , production maybe slanted to a american market but i dont think it deserved some of the harsh reviews here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reading Reviews...., 20 Feb. 2004
This review is from: The Meaning Of Love (Audio CD)
It's quite pathetic when someone rates a CD based on a person's weight(as the previous reviwers a few columns down did). I haven't heard the full album but I have heard some of the performance and its not all THAT bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Meaning Of Love, 19 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Meaning Of Love (Audio CD)
I originally purchased this when it first came out, but due to wear and tear it got damaged. I was not unhappy to purchase it again. Would recommend this album to anybody who likes good music!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music is about the song - not the video., 5 Mar. 2004
By 
Mr. Anthony Dawson "ocadotony" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Meaning Of Love (Audio CD)
I bought this CD yesterday and listened to it on my way home in the car. This is a pretty good album. Good for many reasons. It was created in less than a month of Michelle winning Pop Idol. It is full of the quality ballads that one would expect on a Celine Dion album. And with the exception of 'Cast the First Stone' which to me spoils the album - it flows really well from start to finish. Michelle will go one of two ways now - she will either build up a true fan base on people who love good music - or she will flop because - to the masses - she doesn't have Kylie's derrier or Justin's dance moves. But just remember - music always used to be about the song, the music, what it all sounded like. Although image is everything in this day and age, Michelle should be given as good a chance as any because anyone who can sound as good as Celine Dion at her age and with this little experience deserves more than I think she will ultimately get. Good luck Michelle. Be proud of this Album - it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McManus Mega!, 23 Feb. 2004
This review is from: The Meaning Of Love (Audio CD)
I have always supported Michelle, not because of her size, but simply because of her extraordinary and uniquely impressive voice. Her debut album 'The Meaning of Love' sums up the whole album into one context - they are all ballads.
Performed superbly, Michelle creates each song into her own division. However, some of the songs seem muffled and you are unable to hear her voice fully, over the backing singers. But this does not take the shine off Michelle's excellent performances and I can happily say there is one thing you soon notice when listening to her - she has emotion in her voice, and it shows in this album.
I play this album six or seven times a day (maybe more on weekends) and I do not get bored of her. She has a great career ahead of her, and I think we should judge her by her vocals, rather than her size.
Good luck, girl!
Fab album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars promising debut, 17 Feb. 2004
By 
Mr. A. J. Hawksworth "ahawksworth" (Sheffield,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Meaning Of Love (Audio CD)
I hope the 'peoples choice' (note that Waterman ? THE peoples choice!!) isn't really finding her new fame hell as reported in the press.Likewise people should stop harping on about her size and judge her on her voice.
So here's the album....
Michelles voice sounds excellent!
The gripe is the songs...too many ballads and 'average' material but all performed very well.Michelle can be proud of herself.19 must try harder with the material tho or are they gonna do a Gareth and favour Sam/Mark?
The album is a grower and gets better with each listen.
Hang on in there Michelle and enjoy! Hopefully next time out you'll do it more your way like Will and grow musically but so far a promising debut :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bland, 7 Mar. 2004
This review is from: The Meaning Of Love (Audio CD)
I am sorry but this album should have been better. All this time
was a good track, but i found this album really bland.
I suppose it depends whether your a die-hard Michelle fan.
Michelle really needed to impress with her first album...sorry
but i was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     Michelle McManus opens new browser window
  www.wow.com/Michelle+McManus   -   Search for Michelle McManus Look Up Quick Results Now!

This product

The Meaning Of Love
The Meaning Of Love by Michelle McManus (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Pop Idol: The Idols: The Xmas Factor
The Pop Idol: The Idols: The Xmas Factor by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2003)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27)   

Heart & Soul
Heart & Soul by Steve Brookstein (Audio CD - 2005)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27)   

All This Time
All This Time by Michelle Mcmanus (Audio CD - 2004)
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (29)