Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars65
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2004
i bought this album on the strength of the second single meaning of love, which i think is a beautiful power ballad and no other song on this album even comes close to this one. there are some other track on the album which i found enjoyable to listen to though, these were emotional, which is a bit of an uptempo and quite uplifting and will probably be the third single, too fast too slow is also another good song which sounds similar to a westlife song, cast the first stone is also quite an interesting song, and finally invincible which was writen by diane warren who also wrote songs like unbreak my heart by toni braxton. the rest of the songs are pretty dull and boring and sound pretty much the same. the album also contains a terrible version feelin good which michelle sung on the show on big band week, which was actually a good performance but the album version seems to have lost that ex-factor which it had when she sung it live. which is another thing that i found about this album michelles voice doesn't sound as good on recording as it does when she sings live.

overall this album is a pretty average pop album, although there is something quite plastic sounding about this album, as michelle doesn't sound like a true popstar and the album seems a bit rushed. fans of michelle should buy this while they still can as it will probably be one of michelle's last albums unless she can come back with something good and inspiring by her next album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2004
I had read so much about this CD before I bought it but I thought that the proof of the pudding....I was not disappointed-it is the small minded people who focus on the artists weight who will be. This is a wonderfully warm CD. It makes for easy listening and will ensure Michelles passage to better things! Congratulations it has kept me entertained!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2004
Considering the time given to rehearse and record the tracks of this album, Michelle sounds superb and for a debut album, she has done an incredibly professional job. The girl can most definitely sing. Unfortunately, her amazing vocals do occasionally get drowned out by too loud a backing track, especially on the power ballads (perhaps engineers suffered for the lack of studio time). And yes it is easy listening but I love it. Our tastes in music are subjective so no one should knock the girl for it being an album of ballads. Anyone listened to Nora Jones, Dido, Katie Melua recently? Plenty of ballads going on there!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
purchased this cd after listening to the track 20 second bursts on mp3 downloads did not sound to bad then i read some of the reviews and didnt know if i should buy michelles cd but how glad i did its a great cd sure it doesnt break any new ground but this is idol winner what on earth do you expect i think its a cd well worth the money i didnt find it bland great vocals , arrangements , production maybe slanted to a american market but i dont think it deserved some of the harsh reviews here
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2004
It's quite pathetic when someone rates a CD based on a person's weight(as the previous reviwers a few columns down did). I haven't heard the full album but I have heard some of the performance and its not all THAT bad.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
I originally purchased this when it first came out, but due to wear and tear it got damaged. I was not unhappy to purchase it again. Would recommend this album to anybody who likes good music!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2004
I bought this CD yesterday and listened to it on my way home in the car. This is a pretty good album. Good for many reasons. It was created in less than a month of Michelle winning Pop Idol. It is full of the quality ballads that one would expect on a Celine Dion album. And with the exception of 'Cast the First Stone' which to me spoils the album - it flows really well from start to finish. Michelle will go one of two ways now - she will either build up a true fan base on people who love good music - or she will flop because - to the masses - she doesn't have Kylie's derrier or Justin's dance moves. But just remember - music always used to be about the song, the music, what it all sounded like. Although image is everything in this day and age, Michelle should be given as good a chance as any because anyone who can sound as good as Celine Dion at her age and with this little experience deserves more than I think she will ultimately get. Good luck Michelle. Be proud of this Album - it's great.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2004
I have always supported Michelle, not because of her size, but simply because of her extraordinary and uniquely impressive voice. Her debut album 'The Meaning of Love' sums up the whole album into one context - they are all ballads.
Performed superbly, Michelle creates each song into her own division. However, some of the songs seem muffled and you are unable to hear her voice fully, over the backing singers. But this does not take the shine off Michelle's excellent performances and I can happily say there is one thing you soon notice when listening to her - she has emotion in her voice, and it shows in this album.
I play this album six or seven times a day (maybe more on weekends) and I do not get bored of her. She has a great career ahead of her, and I think we should judge her by her vocals, rather than her size.
Good luck, girl!
Fab album!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Thank you for my item I really liked Michelle and i knew she would win the X Factor from when she started she was amazing and still is this album is such a great Album with great songs and this Album is the one to go for and it is worth buying I have to say she is even better than Sam Bayley i recamade this one more than Sam 's I have to say thank you for my Item i will so enjoy a lot and i got it safely though the post and this serivce is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2004
I hope the 'peoples choice' (note that Waterman ? THE peoples choice!!) isn't really finding her new fame hell as reported in the press.Likewise people should stop harping on about her size and judge her on her voice.
So here's the album....
Michelles voice sounds excellent!
The gripe is the songs...too many ballads and 'average' material but all performed very well.Michelle can be proud of herself.19 must try harder with the material tho or are they gonna do a Gareth and favour Sam/Mark?
The album is a grower and gets better with each listen.
Hang on in there Michelle and enjoy! Hopefully next time out you'll do it more your way like Will and grow musically but so far a promising debut :)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)