Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hazell Plays It Again on DVD
This is a welcome DVD release featuring, for my money, one of the best ever private detective series. This DVD release comprises ten episodes across 3 discs and includes three episodes only ever screened during the original run in the 1970s in the UK. All the episodes have been digitally enhanced and include scenes cut from the limited repeats that were screened in the...
Published on 5 May 2004 by Lyn Rixen

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hazell's blast from the past.
This series was a big favourite of mine when originally screened in the late seventies and I was very pleased when I learnt of the DVD release.
Hazell still cuts a stylish figure driving through 70's London Town in his 'new motor', a resplendent Triumph Stag.
The use of plenty of location shoots gives the series a more authentic feel and certainly makes it a...
Published on 10 Aug 2004 by Tim Buckle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hazell's blast from the past., 10 Aug 2004
By 
Tim Buckle (Old Reynella Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hazell - The Complete First Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
This series was a big favourite of mine when originally screened in the late seventies and I was very pleased when I learnt of the DVD release.
Hazell still cuts a stylish figure driving through 70's London Town in his 'new motor', a resplendent Triumph Stag.
The use of plenty of location shoots gives the series a more authentic feel and certainly makes it a more watchable experience than other programmes of a similiar vintage.
The voice overs are superb and Hazell's dialogue with Cousin Tel is excellent.
Some of the episodes are a little slow paced at times; however overall a highly recommended although expensive buy.
Incidentally the release of series 2 originally planned for 19/7/04 seems to have faded into mist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hazell Plays It Again on DVD, 5 May 2004
By 
Lyn Rixen (Romford, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hazell - The Complete First Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a welcome DVD release featuring, for my money, one of the best ever private detective series. This DVD release comprises ten episodes across 3 discs and includes three episodes only ever screened during the original run in the 1970s in the UK. All the episodes have been digitally enhanced and include scenes cut from the limited repeats that were screened in the 1980s and on UK Gold.
I have one criticism of this package. It is advertised as having new interviews with both Nick Ball (Hazell) and co-writer Terry Venables. These interviews are NOT on the DVD for whatever reason - I have made enquiries (which are on going)as to what happened to them. Maybe they will be included on the DVD of the second series if and when it comes out.
Despite this omission, I do recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT VIEWING, 24 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Hazell - The Complete First Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Hazell was amongst my favourite TV memories of the 70's, and I greatly enjoyed reliving that period of my life.

It's a pity that Hazell only went to two series, and its even more of a pity that series two isn't available on DVD.

Hopefully that will be recified soon.

I would highly recommend Hazell to anyone interested in a well made (and acted) example of the "private investigator" genre, and for a look back at London of the late 1970's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great views of late 70s London town, 31 Oct 2009
By 
Darryl Green (Chester U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hazell - The Complete First Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone who lived in London during the late 70s early 80s, this will bring back many memories. Hazel was the best part that Nick Ball ever had, a pity it only went to two series(Series 2 HAS been realsed i got mine from an australian seller.) Fantastic dialogue between Hazel and 'cousin Tel' is pure "landarn tarn" brilliant. Hazels ex boss nemesis 'Choc minty' is however a bit carboard cutout hardboiled Jock copper, but fun to watch nevertheless. Last but not least the last reacuring character is Hazel's Landlady and ocassional agent, finding him work and taking her %20, is 'Dot Willmington'. An interesting part that i was sad to learn was not in series 2, as her character had tons of dark corners to explore.

Great stuff. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memory Lane, 12 Jan 2007
By 
Molineux Boy (Church Stretton) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hazell - The Complete First Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Hazell is classic 1970s TV. It's a shame that series such as this are no longer produced; its an even bigger shame that series 2 is not on DVD.

I really enjoyed watching the cheeky chappie cockney boy all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh happy memories, 27 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Hazell - The Complete First Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my fondest memories from my childhood!
Been able to stay up late on a Monday night. Just two things; first no series 2, & I can't get the theme on CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Update to previous review, 30 Oct 2004
By 
Lyn Rixen (Romford, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hazell - The Complete First Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
As indicated in my earlier review, this first series release, omits the advertised interviews with Terry Venables and Nicholas Ball. Well, the good news is, both interviews are included on the second series release - information via manufacturers - whenever it is eventually released, that is the bad news, it was pulled from distribution on the very day it should have been issued because, I was informed, that certain 'signing rights' had not been signed off. That aside when it does come out, it should be worth getting as it will include episodes not seen since they were originally transmitted twenty odd years ago. Watch this space. I shall definitly buy this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hazell, 7 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Hazell - The Complete First Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant. What more can you say!!!!
I am too young too know this programme but knew Terry Venables was involved in the writing and making the programme and wanted to see what it is like.
It is very dated but would have been well ahead of its time in 1978 when it was shown on TV.
Nicholas Ball reminds of Paul Nicholas from Just Good Friends.
Choc Minty is an excellent character and Brilliantly played.
Buy this DVD. You will be glued by the end of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant innit !, 17 Jan 2010
By 
Steve Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hazell - The Complete First Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
fond memories of watching this show many years ago.. loved seeing it again !
when can i buy series 2 ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful blast from the past, 10 Feb 2013
This review is from: Hazell - The Complete First Series [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
The likeable Nicholas Ball as a Cockney PI and a great supporting cast. Late 70's fashion and London in nostalgic times; good plots; quite understated, real-life situations. Filmed on location. like his office in Shepherd Market. A shame it only lasted 2 series but it got eclipsed by The Professionals and probably Shoestring also. A must-see. Contains 3 discs -
Disc 1 Episodes:
1. HAZELL PLAYS SOLOMON
2. HAZELL PAYS A DEBT
3. HAZELL AND THE WALKING BLUR
4. HAZELL SETTLES THE ACCOUNTS

Disc2
5. HAZELL MEETS THE FIRST ELEVEN
6. HAZELL AND THE RUBBER HEEL BRIGADE
7. HAZELL GOES TO THE DOGS
8. HAZELL AND THE WEEKEND MAN

Disc3
9. HAZELL WORKS FOR NOTHING
10. HAZELL AND THE MALTESE VULTURE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hazell - The Complete First Series [1978] [DVD]
Used & New from: £5.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews