Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REDWATER DVD
Lou diamond is one of my top actors i first saw him alongside Emilio Estervez in YOUNG GUNS 1+ 2 both of these films are excellent so i was really pleased when i heard about lou starring in this shark film.
We watched it today i and my mother and it was brillaint from start to finish i would recommend this film to anyone who likes shark films it's a rather good bite...
Published on 10 Aug. 2011 by jaide coquelin

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars As If Louisiana Didn't Have Enough Problems.
This film stars Lou Diamond Phillips, Kristy Swanson and Coolio. It is directed by Charles Robert Carner and is associated with fright night films. It is monster movie about a shark with the tagline 'Fear Strikes Where You Least Expect It'.

An oil rig just outside a nature reserve on the Louisiana bayou is drilling looking for oil suddenly the drill breaks...
Published on 3 May 2011 by Miss R. Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REDWATER DVD, 10 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Water [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Lou diamond is one of my top actors i first saw him alongside Emilio Estervez in YOUNG GUNS 1+ 2 both of these films are excellent so i was really pleased when i heard about lou starring in this shark film.
We watched it today i and my mother and it was brillaint from start to finish i would recommend this film to anyone who likes shark films it's a rather good bite :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars As If Louisiana Didn't Have Enough Problems., 3 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Red Water [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This film stars Lou Diamond Phillips, Kristy Swanson and Coolio. It is directed by Charles Robert Carner and is associated with fright night films. It is monster movie about a shark with the tagline 'Fear Strikes Where You Least Expect It'.

An oil rig just outside a nature reserve on the Louisiana bayou is drilling looking for oil suddenly the drill breaks though some rock and become stuck. Unknown to the drillers the drill has unearths a long dormant creature slumbering in black cove, an extremely old bull shark. Makings its way down river it soon feels right at home munching down on the vacationing swimmers. Coincidentally over in the Virgin Islands a drug dealer has lost some of his property right in the middle of the very waters where the shark is now playing. He sends diving expert Brett and his gangster cousin Ice (Coolio), down to Louisiana to retrieve his money. At the same time an ex-driller John (Phillips) now a fisherman is recruited by his ex-wife Kelly (Swanson), to go to Louisiana to fix the broken oil rig. As they travel down they encounter hunters out to kill the shark as there is now a $50,000 bounty on it head. Arriving in the rig John and Kelly find that an unknown boat is moored in the cove. Brett and Ice have located the man responsible for losing the money and he says he dropped it somewhere in the cove. As John prepares to fix the rig, Kelly goes diving for samples neither realising that the shark is on his way home. It isn't long before all hell breaks loose with the bad guys taking everyone hostage. Sure enough trouble immediately follows as the rig explodes. When John tries to fix the rig, the shark shows up making things much worse. As the shark won't leave and Brett and Ice want the money John and Kelly become live bait. As it becomes a fight for survival against nature and man what possible chance do they have of making it out alive?

What we have here is another shark movie only this one doesn't rely on the shark to carry the entire film. There is the added twist of the gangster bad guys out to get rich. As the shark plays a minor role for most of the movie it is left up to the other cast members to carry it off. There is a great performance by Lou Diamond Phillips and Jaimz Woolvtt. Though it is a little far fetched that a gangster would leave it up to two people to retrieve his three million, overall the story holds together quite well. As the shark doesn't really gain centre stage until the end the story plays out more to be about the gangsters search for gold than a bull shark in the bayou. It seems like they used the shark as an added threat not the main focus of the movie no matter what the blurb on the back of the DVD says. Looking at it as a shark/monster movie it falls short, as a regular suspense action it's not so bad. If you're just looking for a good film to fill up a few hours then there are worse films out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse film I have ever seen!!!!, 4 May 2004
By 
Andy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Water [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Watched this film in the hope that it might be an up to date Jaws.
Oh how I was proved wrong. No story line.Acting is terrible.Very very bad casting.
I really do not have anything good to say about this film.
All I can say is dont waste your money!!!
Doesnt deserve 1 star.
I may be a little critical but this takes the P*@1!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 28 Dec. 2004
By 
dawn osborne (swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Water [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Just watched this and it isn`t as bad as everyone says. It`s very cheesy and predictable but some people like that kind of film. I am one of those people. The shark looks fake(jaws anyone) and apparently this UK release is the american tv edited version. This explains why there isn`t as much violence as expected and why there are a lot of noticeable cut aways. If you are looking for a laugh or a good time rent/buy this film I enjoyed it. If you are planning to buy this for your kids, don`t it will scare the pants off them. Although there isn`t as much violence as one would expect, the film certainly is not suitable for the certificate it has been given : 12. On the disc the other two ratings for Ireland and Germany are 15 and 16. This should comfirm that the film isn`t suitable for 12 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Water [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Regardless of what the film is like, it was within the specified time and no issues with quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Water [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
very good movie thumb up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
By 
Mrs. C. P. Napier (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Water [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Love Lou, he's a good actor. Film quite exciting and well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Water [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £0.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews