Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chant and Be Happy and more!
After such a lousy day yeaterday I was so please that this rerelease arrived in the mail today. From 1970 this is the band's second album and like the spiritual flower the lotus, this album is a blossoming out of the themes that were first heard on In Blissful Company.
Along with the devotional songs and chants there is the musical awesome sound of Quintessence. With...
Published on 14 May 2004 by Junglies

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
As decribed=== Happy
Published 6 months ago by R F Purnell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chant and Be Happy and more!, 14 May 2004
By 
Junglies (Morrisville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quintessence (Audio CD)
After such a lousy day yeaterday I was so please that this rerelease arrived in the mail today. From 1970 this is the band's second album and like the spiritual flower the lotus, this album is a blossoming out of the themes that were first heard on In Blissful Company.
Along with the devotional songs and chants there is the musical awesome sound of Quintessence. With this band you never got to feel that any of the solo players were more important than the band themselves. Even though the vocals, flute and lead guitar were highlighted the band played as one. Much is made of the blistering psychedelic guitar and the haunting flute but this often misunderstands the centrality of their devotion and influences from India in the actual music itself. While the listener is often captivated by the wah-wah this can distract from the similarities with the Indian musical organisation. Listen to an early raga of Ravi Shankar and you can appreciate the direction that the group were going in.
Having said that, it is very clear that the music is an aid to transcend the physical and to help take the listener to a higher plane. It is no surprise that the live performances led some of the attendees into near trance like or ecstatic states.
All in all this is a superlative album and a must for any collection. I am happy that their is a live version of Jesus, Buddha etc as the additional track but I fear that it does not do justice to the power of their live performances.
I always loved St. Pancras for all sorts of reasons which I cannot go into hear but it is a poignant point that that station in London has just been closed for refurbishment as it is transformed into a Eurostar terminal. The future travellers will be unaware of the significance to a Jewel in the Crown of the British music scene at the end of the '60s and the start of the 70's.
An afterthought: this music is just as wonderous whether you are a Hindu or not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure nostalgia, 23 April 2004
By 
Paul Wayman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quintessence (Audio CD)
It was wonderful to get the opportunity to hear this album again after somany years without. I had the original vinyl version which was destroyedmany years back and had forgotten quite how good this was. I saw this bandmay times in London, Notting Hill Gate, in the early seventies duting myteenage years and enjoye hearing them again immensely. For anyone who wasthere at the time then put this CD on on a sunny day, have some incenseburning and chill out with the particlarly recreational habit of yourpreference to the Eastern influenced trippy rocks sounds herein. Like atrip in a time machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of eastern promise, 23 Oct. 2008
By 
Mark Kibble "Underground man" (Coalville Leics England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quintessence (Audio CD)
A blend of eastern chants, mantra's and solid western rock, well diversity is a handy weapon to have in your arsenal, which if you'll excuse the rather tenuous link leads us to 'Ladbroke grove' the north London home of Quintessence. To the outside world a six piece band, but in reality a commune exercising their spiritual beliefs.

This way of life is no doubt responsible for the acoustic eastern style tracks 'shiva's chant','....mt kailash' and 'maha mantra' which feature traditional eastern instruments, plus theres plenty of help from the commune with the 'hari krishna' style vocals, while 'infinitum' closes the original album.

'Prisms' showcases Raja Rams skills as a flautist, while the remaining tracks are all western style electric rock ranging from the slow to mid tempo 'only love' to the pair of 'live' instrumentals 'burning bush' and st. pancras' featuring some wonderful wah wah guitarwork by Alan Mostert, which soon gets the feet tapping. In between are some well crafted numbers, mostly mid tempo, but when the lads decide to jam then anything goes, especially on 'sea of immortality'.

The addition of a 'live' version of 'jesus, buddha..........' as a bonus track leads me to hope that a proper 'live' album may be lurking in islands vaults somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the Past, 25 April 2010
By 
Patsy Moon (Fife Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quintessence (Audio CD)
Haven't heard this album for years and just had to buy when I noticed it's now available as digital remastered cd. Isn't it amazing how all these lovely memories of yesteryear come flooding back with the sound of music! Close your eyes and you've gone back in time to hippy carefree days of peace and tranquility...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quintessence (Audio CD)
Takes me right back to my teenage years! The CD is presented in a cover design similar to the original vinyl, its really lovely and there is a little insert with photos of the band and info. The music has been restored and remastered and it sounds great, I'm just going to play it yet again.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quintessence (Audio CD)
As decribed=== Happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad although I prefer their first two albums, 24 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quintessence (Audio CD)
Used to see these in the 7os so probably biased.Not bad although I prefer their first two albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quintessence
Quintessence by Quintessence (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews