Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£4.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 23 February 2004
I wondered what The Stands album would be like since everyone in the music press seems to be content with stating they are just like The Beatles, Dylan, The Byrds et al. That influence is there without a doubt, and some of the songs tip a definate nod to some of the best tunes by those artists, but don't let this put you off. When you hear "always is the same/shine on" you will be convinced: Gentle acoustics, echoes of Lennon at his best, gliding bluesey piano, the bass and drums that could be right off a Plastic Ono band album, and some gorgeous harmonica make for one of the best tracks this year.
The gently psychedelic " The big parade " is a waltz consisting of wobbly double tracked vocals, acoustic guitar, mellotron, and cello and sounds like the best record The La's never made. The sounds on this track work incredibly well together.
All in all, some fantastic harmonies are scattered through this record that unashamedly sound like Lennon and McCartney, the Beach Boys and The Byrds. It's very easy to make these comparisons, and the sound is certainly 40 years old, but it's there to be enjoyed and listened to for what it is..there's something very interesting going to happen when these guys really get going.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 8 March 2004
Once you realise that "I've waited so long" is not a country and western song, this album only gets better, and better, and better, and better. Until "Here she comes again" which should not come after "shine on" because you just started to think it was getting a bit intense but it then went "lalalalalala" to speak metaphorically. It does what would be the equivalent of bringing on the cheeky girls to follow "where did you sleep last night" from the nirvana mtv unplugged album.
I will be honest in saying that i only bought this album because i heard noel gallagher liked it. That being because Oasis are the best band [ever]. I did the same with Proud Mary's "Same old blues" and that wasn't very good (david gray forms a band with five of himself and stops shaking his head while he sings is how i would put it). However, this album IS good.
The best [in my opinion] songs on this album are "i've waited so long" , "outside your door" , "its only everything" , "shine on" and "i need you".
If you like "The Thrills" , "Budapest" , "The Monkees" and stuff like that then my prediction is that you will probably like this. If you want a real review listen to it yourself because even if they work for newspapers, even critics cannot describe sounds with words.
May i also reccommend that you listen to "Too blind to hear" by Budapest because it is really good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 26 February 2004
Your not going far wrong if your songs sounds like casts-off from The Beatles' Revolver album. The Love You Give is a perfect slice of introspection, Here She Comes again is vintage Teenage Fanclub. Their Neil Young meets Dylan style flirts with tradition rather than bristles with life, but it's just jaunty enough to be contemporary. Im looking forward to hearing more from The Stands in the future.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 February 2004
I heard "Here she comes again" on a video channel, and watching it, I thought wow, this is pretty good, my kind of music, its so 60's!! even in the video they have the girls in the mini skirts and funky blouses and doing the dances, its great!
So, I got the album as a gut feeling purchase, and when I do this, I am usually correct in my feeling. On this album, I was correct too.
This album brings across the sheer brilliance of the song writing, but unfortunately the lead singers voice can get a bit grateing after a while, and the songs al ound quite sameish, not that this is a bad thing!
overall, a good album, worth a buy for sure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
This is an excellent album full of really decent songs. Perfect for a lazy Sunday afternoon.

It's jangly / folk orientated reminiscent of Birds/ Dylan's, and could have been shot straight out of a 1966 Revolver

This style seems to be in vogue these days and Howie Payne is one of the very, few who have not forgotten the lost art of song writing. The tunes are simple and the kind that invade you subconscious. But who the hell is Howie Payne I hear you ask - exactly a lost talent just like Michael Head

The melodies are both catchy and radio friendly. The sound is not unlike an acoustic set by The Coral or the Zuttons, but that's hardly surprising since they are all mates..

Although there is a lot of great songwriting talent here it is let down by uninspiring the straight production. Somehow the album fails to fully capture the sparkle that this band transmit when playing live.

This band ultimately are defined by their influences and one could be forgiven for calling them copyists or a poor man's version of Cast or the Beatles again both Liverpool inspirations.

I guess the timing was wrong, like Embrace they fell in to the cavity and great CD graveyard in the sky. It's sad but the wheels of fate move in strange ways. Fast forward six years and we have a scruffy ginger oik (Edd Sheeran)doing much the same but to public accolade and applause.

This a pleasant CD and one not be underestimated, although I have a feeling its one that will collect dust.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 June 2015
Just like The Coral, this less successful Liverpool based indie band gave us all some wonderfully retro music, making their 2004 debut album 'All Years Leaving' sound like a lost 1960s record. With such simple and beautifully crafted pop songs, this is music to listen to on a lazy Sunday afternoon. It might not be anything original, but it's very nice, and it was refreshing to see young men influenced by such quality music from the likes of Bob Dylan, The Byrds, and fellow Liverpool-born lads The Beatles, as apposed to soulless, trashy, manufactured pop nonsense.

My favourite songs are the title track, 'When This River Rolls Over You', ''Outside Your Door' and 'I've Waited So Long'. There's some good song writing of real merit on offer here. Basically, if you 'dig' the sounds of the 1960s, you'll dig 'All Years Leaving'.

For fans of the Stands' aforementioned influences, and also latter bands like as The Coral and The Thrills, this is melancholy and acoustic record is a cool album from a band who were the 'real deal'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
So, I thought I was buying the Strands! However, what a great album - it definately lives up to all the great reviews. I am a big Shack fan (hence the Strands) and this definately fits into that genre. Here she comes again could be the Beatles - amazing. I am therefore very chuffed to have discovered this masterpiece and sad to discover they are no more :-(
Very pleased that I made a mistake!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 11 March 2004
It may not be the most original of concepts, and maybye they're not pioneers, but The Stands are really, really good! This album is well worth buying if only for Here She Comes Again, and I've waited so long, which stand out! A very classy album from a band who could be very big in the future!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 18 May 2005
Having bought this album by mistake (Bands shouldn't be allowed similar names!!) I could hardly have been more pleased on first playback. The mellow tones swiftly got inside my head combining relaxing tunes, such as the harmonican driven "All years leaving" with upbeat jolly numbers, such as "Here she comes again". From start to finish, there is no mistaking their many retro influences, any band which has a love for a harmonica must list Dylan as a favourite, and whilst listening to "When this river rolls over you" I thought for a moment that I was listening to The Beatles' "Rain", which, let's be honest, is not a bad thing! Their willingness to experiment with the use of different instruments on tracks such as the haunting "Always is the same - Shine on" adds to the enjoyment without detracting from the overall ethos of the album. This variety also helps to ensure you will not get bored of this record even after many a playback. This is a must for anyone who has become disillusioned with today's manufactured junk - this is a homage to the good old days.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2011
Bought this mainly for tracks 7 and 10. Sound very much like the Byrds and also The Fray. This album is from 2004 - also bought their other album 'Horse Fabulous'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Horse Fabulous
Horse Fabulous by The Stands (Audio CD - 2005)

The Magical World of the Strands
The Magical World of the Strands by Michael Head (Audio CD - 2015)

Bright Light Ballads
Bright Light Ballads by Howard Eliott Payne (Audio CD - 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.