Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars28
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.28+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2003
From 20,000 people to the final 2, Michelle McManus battled her way to become the UK’s Pop Idol 2003. Surviving prejudice and negativity about her size the Scottish diva became the only female ever to make the UK Pop Idol final. With a voice that has hit record written all over it Michelle releases her debut single, All This Time, on January 5th 2004. The title track is a powerful anthem of determination and strength, which showcases Michelle’s voice and reconfirms once again why she was the publics choice to win. The additional track, The Meaning Of Love, is a beautiful ballad, which is reminiscent of Michelle’s own pop idol, Celine Dion. With all the press attention focusing on her appearance it is easy to forget about the outstanding voice that Michelle possesses. Hopefully the release of her debut single will silence her critics once and for all and will show the music industry that the public are tired of the same old image over talent acts that have engulfed the charts for too long now. The time for change has arrived…Michelle McManus will lead the way.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2004
Wow! This is an excellent track. This really blew me away, hearing Michelle McManus sing this in the final. She deserved to win. I'm going to the Pop Idol Tour in March 2004. I can't wait to see Michelle as I'm her number one fan and will surport Michelle all the way. I would advise anyone who like Pop Idol to buy this. This really shows everyone how well Michelle can sing.
Not a disapointment to Pop Idol Fans.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2004
Michelle is without doubt a very talented singer. She has personality and presence on stage and can do a fantastic job live.
Sadly, this doesn't shine through on the CD as much as it did on the live Pop Idol shows. The whole production of the disc seems rushed, and it just lacks that special something that her winning final performance had.
Also - where's that lovely song "The Meaning Of Love" which she also sang in the final? I thought this was supposed to be on the first release along with "All This Time".
On a positive note, the B side "On The Radio" is well worth buying the CD for, and in fact could have been a stronger A side release than the title track. She makes the song her own and it's a real disco thumper!
Hoping to see more time and care taken over her next release.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2004
I really do love Michelle's voice. Apart form hailing from my neck of the woods and winning Pop Idol 2003, what does Michelle have going for her? Every Pop Idol winner must be contracted to release a "Westlife-cast-off" as their first single. Hopefully the next single will be new and nothing like Westlife. Unlike them, Michelle can sing live and isn't too big for her boots....PS the 3 stars are only because it's Ms McManus....The single 1/5, Michelle 5/5.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2004
Michelle is the second winner of the infamous world-wide, pop idol. Although she's not a touch on will, all this time delivers well-and vocally hits all the right buttons. The song was first dispensed to us on the last programme of pop idol where michelle and mark rhodes battled it out to win the ultimate title, 'Pop Idol'. Michelle's version pipped mark's by far who was the favourite to leave the show letalone reach the final.
All this time is adequately writtern although i find some of the lyrics quite tedious and repetitive, the song could be based around a relationship, but you can automatically identify that it is centred around pop idol. Lyrics like 'When evryone said that i was wrong, youve given me the strength to carry on' really is directed at the judges comments and press reports.
In despite of the criticism i still find the song tremendous the backing is excellent and the vocals are outstanding. It is bound to get number one, as do all debuts from reality tv shows.
The opening beats are outstanding. I just wish i could say that about the other song on the B-side, on the radio. I find that dull, unimpressive and flat-to be frank i found martine mccutcheon's more pleasing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2004
Pop Idol 2 is the first time i've got into a music reality tv show and I became totally obsessed with it. Michelle was never my favourite, infact she was one of my least favourites and we all know that her weight has actually helped and not hindered her, look at Kirsty voted off in the first week of the final 12! Anyway nevermind all that she won and so here is our new Pop Idol. Although on the initial hearing on the final I wasn't impressed with the song, I really love it now. I can't get it out of my head and I was even singing along to it in my local HMV as I walked around not even caring how sad I was. Her voice, although not the greatest ever, is powerful and emotional on the song if a little whiny at times but the song definately sounds better sung by a woman than a man. She's not even touching the sales that Will wracked up with Evergreen which is worrying for all the Idols future what with the xmas single peaking at no.5 too but Michelle deserves the chance and I hope she does well. With Mark and Sam becoming a duo now (WHY the Beatles cover?!) I just hope Susanne Andy and Chris get signed up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2004
This is a great CD, with 2 catchy and very different recordings.
Michelle's vocals really suit this song, which you cant help but play again and again - The lyrics are brilliant!
The second song - On the Radio - is worthy of being a single in it's own right, and is great to liven up the atmosphere at a party! Buy this CD and get two for the price of one, two great recordings to enjoy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2005
It is one CD that will make you sing a long and think this is a good song, but it hasn't got that Factor that makes you say it is the best song ever with the best ever singer. But if you're a big fan of Pop Idol of the X Factor this is for you
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2003
This song was performed on the final episode of Pop Idol by the two finalists, Michelle put on an excellent performance and i was blown away. This song is well suited to Michelle's vocals and the lyrics are perfect for her and relate to her time on pop idol "when everyone else said i was wrong, you gave me the will to carry on"
The B-Side, On The Radio, which Michelle chose as her favourite song of the show, was performed extremely well. This is another song which is well suited to her voice.
Any Pop Idol fan would enjoy this song, and with a voice like hers Michelle is set to draw in new fans who don't/didn't watch Pop Idol.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2004
Watching "Pop Idol 2" and then "World Idol" showed that (as Pete W on the show said), this show is no longer about the music. Michelle won as she was the underdog. Mark got to the final as the judges kept telling him he was a loser. The talented ones with the style and voices left as shocks early on. The story was repeated in almost everyone of the local "Pop Idols" in "World Idol" - all were the underdogs. This song is okay. Michelle is okay, but her voice is not amazing (if she was thin she would not have got this far). The song will not make her a star outside the UK as it needs the Idol publicity. (Remeber the Idol Christams song scraped into 5 and was outsold by even "A Proper Bo Christmas".....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)