Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars veronica x
Picking up a few months after the events of resi 2 Claire Redfield investigating a umbrella facility in Europe is captured & imprisoned on Rockfort island the prison is attacked & the virus is once against set loose Claire attempts to escape the island while her brother Chris sets out to find her & settle a score with former S.T.A.R.S traitor Albert Wesker...
Published on 7 May 2007 by R. Fisher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better
Visually this game is brilliant when you first load it up on to your PS2, the computer graphics are excellent, along with the sounds of the moaning and the groaning of the zombies, and the screeches of other mutated delights.
One of the problems I found was that, after having a ball and feeling that rush of "Yeh! I beat that *^#~#*#!", you finally get halfway or near...
Published on 11 Jan. 2004 by Sarah


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars veronica x, 7 May 2007
By 
R. Fisher "entertainment lover" (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (Gamecube) (Video Game)
Picking up a few months after the events of resi 2 Claire Redfield investigating a umbrella facility in Europe is captured & imprisoned on Rockfort island the prison is attacked & the virus is once against set loose Claire attempts to escape the island while her brother Chris sets out to find her & settle a score with former S.T.A.R.S traitor Albert Wesker.

Code veronica x is a classic resi in every sense of the word complete with puzzles, herbs, typewriters & huge mutated freaks though its much longer than the others with a massive prison & an antarctic base to explore.

This is a port of the ps2 version & if you have a ps2 there is no point at all in buying this on GC but if you don't there's every reason to buy it a great game not quiet as good as the originals add in a extra battle game mode for more bang for your buck you get a dam good resident evil game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Everything You Feared...And More!", 3 April 2012
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Item arrived very quickly and was in excellent condition. The disc had no scratches and the manual looked untouched. Very pleased with the seller.

...?!...

Gotcha! You thought I was one of those idiots who mistook the "Reviews" page for the "Leave Seller Feedback" page, didn't you?! Hey relax. I know the difference between the two, and I do have an entertaining review for this game, Resident Evil: Code Veronica X for the PlayStation 2.

After being released first on the SEGA Dreamcast in 2000, Resident Evil: Code Veronica got an X tattooed on its flesh-rotting backside before being released on the PS2 in 2001. Taking place around 3 months after the zombie chaos led to the destruction of Raccoon City, Claire Redfield travels to Europe to search for her missing brother, Chris. During her search however, she is captured by Umbrella's finest and taken to some sort of prison on a remote and rather foggy island. It sucks, but that's the way the cookie crumbles.

But being captured isn't Claire's only problem. Soon afterwards the island is attacked and infected with the T-virus. Claire now finds herself looking for a way to get off the island whilst having to fight more zombies. On top of that she's also trying to keep up with Steve Burnside, a young man who looks and acts more immature than my younger brother when he's a little short on smokes. In case you're wondering, no. We don't get along well.

The first thing I should talk about is the graphics. This was the first RE game on the PS2, and compared to the PSone instalments they were obviously more detailed and generally more impressive. By today's standards? Well in that department Resident Evil's 4 and 5 took the baton and ran off into the distance like a blue hedgehog late for work. That said there is some decent detail to note here: the water rippling, fire effects, crumbling stone work, dust. The characters' movements were more realistic than in the PSone games, and the skanky flesh of the zombies and other monsters were horrible enough to make some players throw up in their mouths a little bit. The cutscenes and FMVs were vastly improved as well. Not only did they run smoother but they also showed noticeable detail in the emotions on the character's faces. The fear especially. To sum it up in short: It's all good.

But it wasn't just the graphics that had moved on. So did the camera angles. Before Code Veronica and CVX, RE used 3D characters in front of pre-rendered backgrounds. It was good for creating the scary atmosphere that the Capcom series is known for. However it did have its faults such as making important items look out of place. Capcom decided to address this and other issues by taking a page out of the book of Dino Crisis. They used 3D backgrounds and moving camera angles in a bid to make the action more realistic. It seemed to work. When I first played through this game I felt somewhat uncomfortable as Claire was running down a hallway with the camera only partially following her. I couldn't help but feel that something was behind her, ready to sink their teeth into her pretty little neck...and I'm not talking about Dracula, people!

No, I'm talking about the zombies who looked more terrifying than before, especially when you meet the first batch in the mini cemetery. Also making a return were the annoyingly nimble zombie dogs; the katana-like-clawed hunters; and spiders so large they could even scare elephants. But the monster that got on everybody's nerves was the bandersnatch, which made its first and only appearance in the RE series in CVX. These creeps had long elastic like arms which can not only do damage, but also help them get from one side of a room to the other in a heartbeat. The best option (most times) was to simply run from them.

In its early years the RE series could never completely be taken seriously in terms of acting, but it did improve as the years went on. CVX was the best game in terms of acting up to that point (2000/2001) in the series' history. Claire and Chris (yes, he's in this game too!) were convincingly heroic; Wesker was convincingly evil; and Alfred was convincingly a-camp-version-of-Hugh-Laurie-with-too-much-sugar-in-his-diet. The acting made the story interesting to follow from start to finish.

One other thing I'll mention about the game before I get to the conclusion is the challenge. The PSone games were not too difficult. They tried to encourage you to save ammo for later fights, but I was never in any danger of getting dry clicks from my guns. I always had plenty of shotgun shells and magnum bullets going into boss fights, and defeating them was merely a case of not being sloppy.

But in CVX ammo really was tight, and the bosses showed you less mercy than Vlad the Impaler. For instance, whenever I fought against the Tyrant monster I was constantly checking my inventory to see how many grenade rounds I had left. I was nervous. I wasn't sure if I was gonna make it. I feared I might have to even restart the game because I didn't have enough ammo (fortunately I did). The tough monsters, tight ammo supplies, and the game overall being about twice as long as RE3 made CVX one of the more tougher challenges on the PS2. Ideal for the experienced, but less so for the newcomers.

Despite the numerous improvements over the PSone games, Resident Evil: Code Veronica X was still pretty much more of the same: find keys to unlock doors, solve puzzles, pick up hints from documents, and the controls hadn't changed much either. As enjoyable as REs 1, 2 and 3 were the series clearly needed a makeover, and Capcom eventually provided it for RE4. But if you're a hardcore RE fan, and the old-skool gameplay is your thing, then CVX is certainly worth getting your hands on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest yet, 6 Feb. 2003
By 
Mark (St Helens, Merseyside) - See all my reviews
Considering that this game is simply a conversion of the old Dreamcast title (sans 'X') it gave the PS2 something of a renaissance in Japan. Why? Because it's brilliant!
The problem that many gamers had with the PS1 sequels to the PS1 original was that they were using essentially the same game engine, with tweaked scenery and new characters/weapons/puzzles being the only departures. REVX, however, is something like a total overhaul...
Centred around Claire Redfield (brother of RE1 stalwart Chris, and star of Resi 2), this game is gigantic and extremely involving, including the use of 3 different characters and real time 3D. RE virgins and RE maniacs alike are immediately at home with the game's (by now mantric) control system. The new puzzles are in the classic vein of the original, and yet somehow slightly different. That's this game all over: the same but different.
I wont give too much away about the plot but it does incorporate elements from previous games (including characters), and it will be a while before a player will complete it.
This game is easily worth 4.5 stars, but gets the full contingent now it's gone platinum. It is definitely worth full price so it's a downright bargain at platinum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
Nothing can beat the original Resident Evil but this is close! Resident Evil Code Veronica is one of the best games on the Playstation. The game stars Chris from Resident Evil 1 and Claire from Resident Evil 2.
The game has even more monsters and (especially the start) has to be hardest game yet. Some of the bosses include fighting Tyrant hanging off the edge of a plane and a giant spider.
The plot has to be the best yet too. You follow the very strange twins Alfred and Alexia. Claire meets a man in the prison and seventeen year old Steve who prove to be other main characters in the game. The story itself could be a film with all of the twists and action. This has to be the longest game I have ever played, you think the game is finished but then you carry on the game with Chris!
I would strongly recommend this game, it is great fun and full of action. It is scarier compared to the other games and is a bit different to the other games. However, it still keeps to the main Resident Evil series storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Zombie Filled Fun Fest, 28 May 2004
By 
Michael Cawdrey "Codger" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (Gamecube) (Video Game)
The resident evil series is a games series I have always held to my heart when it comes to games. Resident evil: Code Veronica was the first Resident Evil Game to be released on the playstation 2. Now it has been released on the Nintendo Gamecube. There are several advantages to this, with imporved graphics and extra small things added into it to make the game better than it already is. The plot revolves around Claire Redfield, any Resident Evil veteren like myself will be familer with this character already. Also ncluded is her brother Chris, a character from the first ever Resident Evil game.
The game takes place on a small island. The opening scences are breathtaking, with the superb graphics and the realism of the characters. Well as you would expect from any good Resident evil game, the zombies make a appearence almost strait away, so get your knife ready for the hordes of fleash chomping zombies that await Claire and Chris.
You meet several other characters along the way, including Steve Burnside and Alfred Ashford. I strongly recomend this game to people who enhoy survival horror games, and people who are not squimish. With the bleand of new monsters and some new characters make this game great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 7 July 2004
By 
GamerChick (Gamer From England!) - See all my reviews
My favourite RE game.
You play as Claire Redfield who is searching for her brother Chris after the lucky escape in Raccon City Claire know finds herself trapped on an Island but it wasn't too long before she was out of that Prison Cell and the Nightmare has know struck the Island will Claire be able to survive the Nightmare again and find her Brother? That's upto you.
Awesome game it's still scary and is packed with tons of gore new monsters and new weapons make this game a definate buy
Graphics: 7/10
Music: 7/10
Gameplay: 7/10
A BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 11 Jan. 2004
By 
Sarah (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Visually this game is brilliant when you first load it up on to your PS2, the computer graphics are excellent, along with the sounds of the moaning and the groaning of the zombies, and the screeches of other mutated delights.
One of the problems I found was that, after having a ball and feeling that rush of "Yeh! I beat that *^#~#*#!", you finally get halfway or near to the end and you realise that you have forgotten vital items, which are important in order to get through the course of the game. It's really frustrating and your shouting and cursing at the TV screen!
I don't know how many times I had to load up from the beginning purely because I missed something!
It did keep me engrossed for a long time, but after loading up from practically the first level, (and on numerous occassions) it does get tedious!
And how could I forget to mention the high-pitched squealing voices of the twin villains, whose voices sound like strangled cats and screaming banshees, (or whatever you may prefer). It really grates on your nerves.
If you plan on playing this game make sure that you put all of your items in an item box for safe keeping, and make sure you save as much health and ammo as possible, cos when the really evil guys come out to play, and you have nothing to help you, it's hell! (Especially for anyone who happens to be in the same room as you!) Oh yeah and remember to bring ear plugs cos those twins could burst your ear drums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run, run. run for your LIVES!, 27 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
Everyone loves a scare now and again, and Resident Evil Code Veronica X delivers scares every few seconds. The game takes place three months after the events of Resident Evil 2.... and despite poor voice acting, its a pretty good storyline.
Still, that should be the last thing you're worrying about. Despite Resi's trademark poor controls, everything else is perfect. The cinematic camera angles provide fantastic set pieces - there is one scene where your character is in the background and part of the scenery (a black plastic bag) is in the foreground...as soon as you walk around the corner the plastic bag wriggles......
The game isnt really worth buying if you played the Dreamcast version though, as it is virtually the same despite tweaked graphics and longer cut scenes. Being the PLATINUM edition, it does not feature the demo of Devil May Cry... but hey! you'd have that already right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very worthy of platinum status., 17 Dec. 2002
By 
Mr. N. W. Blackford (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
"Resident Evil: Code Veronica" was originally released on the Sega Dreamcast in the UK back in 2000. It remains the most extravagant addition to the Resident Evil saga to date and is in my opinion the true sequel to "Resident Evil 2", following the game's heroin Claire Redfield as she comes up against Umbrella once more. I have broken down a review below:
PLOT:
(+) This game directly continues the journey that "Resident Evil 2" lead Claire Redfield experiences post the game's nightmarish events. The plot is strong, with three main characters fighting to save the world against three very well delivered villains, in particular, the character of Alfred Ashford.
(-) The plot takes an unexpected twist and reintroduces another character from the series to the game (I won't spoil it for those who haven't played it yet) which in my opinion was a big mistake. It shouldn't have been done.
GRAPHICS:
(+) Still very impressive. The camera performs very well considering this is the first "Resident Evil" title in which the camera is able to roam freely (previous titles are pre-rendered). The textures are dealt with well. I'm sure that this game looked better on the Dreamcast, suprisingly enough it seems to have suffered very slightly from being moved to a better system.
(-) With the Gamecube editions looking so much better, this title has aged very, very quickly. It could be forgiven as the remake and "Resident Evil 0" are also pre-rendered but "Resident Evil 4" is on the way, which is the second game to employ a fully 3D engine AND it's on the Gamecube - so this game will age even more by then. Also keep in mind that "Resident Evil: Code Veronica" is getting a re-release on the Gamecube in 2003, despite it not having ANY cosmetic improvements, it may be better to get that edition anyway. Claire's shadow is horrible and turning around on the spot is laughable - there are a few faults and movement is mechanical, not fluid enough.
SOUND:
(+) The sound in the series is just as impressive as other games in the series. The rain, fire and zombie sounds that occur in the first ten minutes of gameplay really add impact to the game's opening, which is very good.
(-) There's little to criticise, perhaps alternating sounds for repeating footsteps or zombie-groans but who's really bothered? A few more zombie-groans would have been quite nice though...
MUSIC:
(+) In my opinion, this game has the best soundtrack to any of the "Resident Evil" titles. The theme used when Alfred wakes Alexia is very, very scary. It employs a choir-like harmony which manages to haunt the player. Along with the standard action-music (which the series is very good at) the soundtrack adds a lot to the experience of playing through the game.
(-) Some of the tracks can be a bit dry. When you're stuck in the game, a track that sounds less like the humming of a fridge at night could help, but it doesn't matter, it's all part of that dark, eerie atmosphere.
PLAYABILITY:
(+) Good, the game isn't too hard, and there's a lot to do. The game is also suprisingly long, but it doesn't make the mistake of dragging on, it's just right. You'll be so eager to see if Claire finally finds her brother Chris that you will play to the end, there's no reason why you shouldn't. There are difficult moments (I have to say, that like most of the games in the series, the final battle is very difficult if you're not loaded with health and ammo) but it helps promote that awarding feeling of relief when you finish the game.
(-) The controls, as always, are the same. Once you are used to them, they're great. But if you've never played a "Resident Evil" game before, you will think they are rubbish - just be patient, you'll see why they're so strange once you are good with them.
REPLAY VALUE:
(+) Lots of additional games and special features. This game itself is an extension of the Dreamcast original, featuring many extra scenes.
(-) You might not care much for the extras, and a game like this has little replay value unless you love it. A "Making Of" DVD would have been very nice with this package considering it's a re-release with a lot of history.
CONCLUSIONS:
It might be getting on three years old, but don't let that put you off. For £15 you get a lot for your money. The game still looks very nice, with a few problems here and there. It's a new direction for the series and in my opinion doesn't quite reach the levels that both "Resident Evil 2" and "Resident Evil 3: Nemesis" managed to reach prior to it's release in 1998 and 1999. If you want to take my advice, follow the Gamecube's re-releasing of all the titles and experience the remake, "Resident Evil 0", "Resident Evil 2" and "Resident Evil 3" first, as I don't think this title represents the series fairly. However, if you own the Playstation 2 and are looking for a cheap but amazing thrill, buy this version now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of its genre, 29 July 2002
It is true that Resident Evil: Code - Veronica doesn't differ wildly from the first games, but that can also be said of the Gamecube version of Resi 1, currently scoring rave reviews.
Anyway. In this version, everything has been tweaked to near perfection - the graphics are great, the puzzles are a little less frustarting than earlier efforts, and there are more scares in here than the rest of the Resident Evil series put together. RE:CV is also the longest of the series, taking about 18 hours to complete on average.
The main negative issue with this game is the ancient control system. Capcom still insist on the digital rotate and run system for Code - Veronica, and its still a pain in the a$$!
If you're a survival horror fan, and get past this problem, this game will probably be as close to perfection seen so far in the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (Gamecube)
Used & New from: £13.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews