Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A journey to dreamland, 1 Mar 2004
This review is from: They Died for Beauty [Ltd Edition Digi Pak] (Audio CD)
This is one of the best chilled-out and laid back albums I've ever had the pleasure of listening to.
The vocals are reminiscent of Alison Goldfrapp, Shirley Bassey, and Beth Gibbons. This, mixed with delicate but huge sounding orchestral, cinematic symphonies almost makes it sound more like a film score than an 'typical' album.
For fans of early Goldfrapp, Zero 7, even Portishead and any chilled out trip hop acts I would definitely recommend this album to you. Its slightly more orchestral and jazz orientated than those acts, but non the less still excellent music to have on in the background when working, at dinner parties, or just before going to bed - it really helps you to relax and drift off.
Overall 'They died for beauty' is a beautiful, orchestral, continental-sounding gem of an album and well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beauty endures, 24 Jan 2004
This review is from: They Died for Beauty [Ltd Edition Digi Pak] (Audio CD)
There must be something in the local produce of Bristol for once again it has delivered unto us an inspiring and dreamy group with all the little flourishes, which touch the heart and warm the soul. The debut album from vocalist Joanna Swan, writer Nick Pullen and Producer Dan Brown, gently kneads dramatic John Barry strings with sun kissed acoustics, crisp flattened beats and smoky aromatic vocals. Swan indulges in each individual tale and cinematic overture, feeling not only the pleasure but the pain, ‘Happy and Weak’. Opener ‘Belissimo’ swirls with ambient panache, crying out to be adopted by a car advert. The Mediterranean come Bristol vibe continues on the jazztastic ‘Quattra Neon’ complete with another spellbinding chorus. At times the radiance of Air’s sweet electronic melody and gentle bossa of Gilberto creep up. Certain tracks like ‘Heavenly’ adopt the characteristic big band aplomb of the Portishead canon before Swan swells into a rasping vocal. One listen to ‘Soleil Soleil’ could convince even the weatherman that all is sunny and well. ‘They Died For Beauty’ r Beauty’ closes with some beautiful key changes of the Zero 7 variety. Comparisons aside this is a sonic landscape in which to roam; dynamic sound, lush instrumentation, tender melody and emotive vocals. An enchanting debut beyond downbeat anonymity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly Beautiful, 26 Feb 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Died for Beauty [Ltd Edition Digi Pak] (Audio CD)
How to classify this so that others have a reference point to decide whether buy this is a difficult proposition. Is it cinematic trip-hop? Well sort of... Most reminicent of Goldfrapp's "Felt Mountain" and the oft forgotten and overlooked but seminal "Formica Blues" by Mono, this album combines cinematic strings with modern beautiful vocals, up to date treatments, current beats and often a cool jazzy style. Fans of John Barry, David Arnold, Burt Bacharach, Zero 7, Blue States, Air, Telepopmusik, Snooze, Les Jumeaux, Hooverphonic, Bebel Gilberto, more orchestral Drum 'n'Bass (Goldie/LTJ Bukem) and even Portishead may find something to listen to here.
Perfect arrangements, nostalgic samples, quality production and being almost completely different from anything you will hear in the mainstream, makes this a five star purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bellissimo!, 29 Jan 2007
This review is from: They Died For Beauty (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the best chill-out albums ever. Easily as good as Zero 7's beautiful debut, "Simple Things" (2001), Kate Bush's inspirational and delightful double-disk masterpiece "Aerial" (2005) or any release from Goldfrapp. Somewhat unfairly, Ilya remain in relative obscurity beside those big names, and if it wasn't for hearing "Bellissimo" as featured on a Revlon commercial in 2004 (just the ten second clip of it had me hooked!), I may never have discovered them at all. How much poorer my life would be! This is the perfect album to unwind to. It's distinctive jazzy, Mediterranean feel is a sonic ray of warm, summer afternoon sun, available any time and place.

Highlights of the album include;
Track 1, the lush, dreamy, jazz-tinged ballad, "Bellissimo," with its beautiful sweeping string harmonies and delicate clarinet and harp embellishings.

Track 3, "Bliss." Never has a song been more aptly named! Gentle piano melodies introduce this warm, summery love ballad, while vocalist Joanna Swan's rich, airy voice gently wails "Blissssss, when we're eight miles high. And blisssssss when we reach the sky.

Track 4, "Heavenly" is less chilled, more dramatic, but still fairly downbeat. There's a hind of Broadway-style musical to it, with its grand, cinematic brass-band chorus and sharp, crackling vocal performance.

The rest of the album continues in the more chilled, mellow tones of "Belissimo" and "Bliss," though becoming more melancholy, especially on the dark, mournful "Pretty Baby" and the cool, ghostly sparseness of, "Happy And Weak" which actually gets quite brooding and dramatic toward the end, the traditional Mediterranean style influences very obvious in the instrumentation.
"All for melody" with it's upper-mid tempo, swirling harps, guitars, and meandering melody, is also beautiful, as is "They Died for Beauty" with distinct verses and choruses, the piercing brassy note of the trumpet giving it a certain Spanish feel. In fact all the tracks are great, and there isn't a dull moment on the album. What more can I say except BUY IT! If you like your chilled stuff, this is an absolute must-have. Sonically beautiful, deeply relaxing, chic and classy. Belissimo!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new beginning.., 27 May 2004
This review is from: They Died For Beauty (Audio CD)
Well what can i say? This is simply THE best CD i've bought this year, and will remain in my heart and soul for years to come. An album that flows seamlessly, and conjures up images of lazy afternoons and evenings where your troubles have taken a restbite. Go on, indulge yourselves. It's well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I've been expecting, was make true!, 15 Jan 2004
By 
patxi eguiluz (San Sebastian, Guipuzcoa Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: They Died for Beauty [Ltd Edition Digi Pak] (Audio CD)
I've heard their 2 ep's, which were so magic so beatiful that I couldn't hardly wait till the complete album to be released.
But there it is.
Much more beauty for all of us! you could think, "oh my god, another trip-hop album". But it is not another one. It's like dummy in 1994 or felt mountain in 2001. A record to be listened for all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, 6 July 2005
By 
Duncan Rhodes (Beckenham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: They Died For Beauty (Audio CD)
I can't really recommend this album enough. I won't add much to what the other reviewers said, except to say that this is probably my favourite album of all time (and i don't say this lightly!) and that it really grows on you - i have listened to it every single week since i bought it over a year ago. Give it your attention and I'm sure you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible - I can't stop playing it!, 27 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: They Died for Beauty [Ltd Edition Digi Pak] (Audio CD)
I buy alot of music but until this CD I've never, ever, been moved enough to write a review. It's hard to describe what genre it falls into and I feel that it does it an injustice to try and do so. I can understand some of the comparisions, to other groups that have been made - but this album and Ilya have gone somewhere completely different and somewhere very beautiful. I must be smitten because I'm lost for words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars future classic, 4 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: They Died for Beauty [Ltd Edition Digi Pak] (Audio CD)
resolutely un-fashionable and all the better for it.
beautiful, intellingent and very musical - the uk press probably won't admit to liking this until it's sold a million copies and then will try and re-claim it.
don't wait to hear it around someone else's house and then be embarrassed when you say you didn't already own it.
a future classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a worthy cause, 23 Mar 2004
This review is from: They Died for Beauty [Ltd Edition Digi Pak] (Audio CD)
There must be something in the local produce of Bristol for once again it has delivered unto us an inspiring and dreamy group with all the little flourishes, which touch the heart and warm the soul. The debut album from vocalist Joanna Swan, writer Nick Pullen and Producer Dan Brown, gently kneads dramatic John Barry strings with sun kissed acoustics, crisp flattened beats and smoky aromatic vocals. Swan indulges in each individual tale and cinematic overture, feeling not only the pleasure but the pain, ‘Happy and Weak’. Opener ‘Belissimo’ swirls with ambient panache, crying out to be adopted by a car advert. The Mediterranean come Bristol vibe continues on the jazztastic ‘Quattra Neon’ complete with another spellbinding chorus. At times the radiance of Air’s sweet electronic melody and gentle bossa of Gilberto creep up. Certain tracks like ‘Heavenly’ adopt the characteristic big band aplomb of the Portishead canon before Swan swells into a rasping vocal. One listen to ‘Soleil Soleil’ could convince even the weatherman that all is sunny and well. ‘They Died For Beauty’ r Beauty’ closes with some beautiful key changes of the Zero 7 variety. Comparisons aside this is a sonic landscape in which to roam; dynamic sound, lush instrumentation, tender melody and emotive vocals. An enchanting debut beyond downbeat anonymity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4d95648)

This product

Only search this product's reviews