Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It shouldn't work... but it does
I suppose, as someone who likes Pink Floyd to the point of having a lot of their stuff on CD *and* vinyl, who has seen them play live a few times, etc. etc. and who does not really like the Bee Gees, I should find this single an act of sacriledge, but somehow it all works together.
Classic prog rock anthem, done in a disco style with falsetto vocals? It doesn't...
Published on 29 Jan 2004 by A. Skudder

versus
7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish !
How you can decide to cover pink floyds absolutely superb tune "comfortably numb" and turn it into what they have done , is beyond me. Its nothing but terrible! . Dont buy it
Published on 18 Mar 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It shouldn't work... but it does, 29 Jan 2004
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comfortably Numb (Audio CD)
I suppose, as someone who likes Pink Floyd to the point of having a lot of their stuff on CD *and* vinyl, who has seen them play live a few times, etc. etc. and who does not really like the Bee Gees, I should find this single an act of sacriledge, but somehow it all works together.
Classic prog rock anthem, done in a disco style with falsetto vocals? It doesn't sound like a winning formula, but its fun and it cheers me up every time I hear it. What more can you want from a single?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far from being numb!!, 11 April 2004
This review is from: Comfortably Numb (Audio CD)
After a few listens I’ve really taken to this track! I’d never heard of the band before so this was an awesome track to be introduced to them by.
The dance/disco track has a real seventies sound to it, with Bee Gee like vocals (think Stayin’ Alive!). The music is infectious with its electric beats and ongoing introduction of new sounds really drawing you into the track. You are so taken in by the music that you hardly even take notice of the lyrics; simply the song as a whole!
The remix of the track isn’t too far from the original and is only thirty seconds longer but is still worth a play, especially if you’re feeling like a boogie!
Track three, “Rock my spot” sounds at first like a live tracks but I realised it is just the effective use of sound effects being used to create a live sound. “Rock my spot” is lyrically fun and does have a catchy beat to it but “Comfortably Numb” is too memorable. I just want to skip back to track one and experience it all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enough trainspotting - here's the music..., 28 Jan 2004
By 
Northern Sky (Farnborough, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Comfortably Numb (Audio CD)
As a long-standing Pink Floyd, fan, I was amazed to find myself actually having to work out what I was listening to in the car...
This single mixes, as mentioned earlier, a U2 guitar sample intro, Bee Gees-style vocals, some extremely polished production, and one or two other distinct ingredients, to devastating effect. All this, and yet it could still have been done in a bedroom!
The critical thing is that, as so seldom in life, the whole is so much greater than the sum of the parts. The treatment of this classic is inspired, and whilst doubtless some ardent rockers may be horrified at the very idea of it, this is a devastating piece of dance. (If we now live in a world where Johnny Rotten does 'I'm a celebrity', we should be prepared for anything!).
The secret is in the interplay between the key/chord progressions in the PF original (which have been retained), the
'difficult' lyrics, and the production, which uses some modern techniques (the babbling synth reinforcing the uplifting lyrical phrases being the most obvious) to bring out the best that this track has to offer.
Much PF is structured in a very classical manner, and in this instance, the same structure, respectfully dealt with by the producer, shines. Where additions have been made ('ah ha', or the 'Staying Alive' tribute vocal into the final phrase), they add to the track, where so easily they could have been detrimental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore everyone, this is brilliant, 25 Feb 2004
By 
Shane Loake (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Comfortably Numb (Audio CD)
I agree the original of this is an all tme classic, but nothing should be untouchable.
This is a remake and definetly not a cover. And the Scissor Sisters bring something new and interesting to this song.
Dont just buy the single, go out and purchase the CD as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's see now..., 3 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Comfortably Numb (Audio CD)
The criticism of this record amounts to: 'Cor blimey, wot 'ave these pooftahs done to ver Floyd, man?'. The praise for this record amounts to: 'Gosh, look at me, I'm SOOO subversive!'. When I was 16, I thought the original was a great song. But guess what? I grew out of my acne, got a girlfriend and left Pink Floyd to my teenage years where they belong. What we're left with is a pretty good cover of a rather dull composition - there are new chord changes here far more complex than those Roger Waters used - but you'll find much better songs on the Scissor Sisters' mostly ace debut album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Paul James reviews of this single are accurate/correct, 21 Jan 2004
This review is from: Comfortably Numb (Audio CD)
Just wanted to say the Paul James reviews of the the Scissor Sisters single "Comfortably Numb" are factually accurate and correct.
The main single version is A TOUCH OF CLASS production and if you look on the back of the UK cd single and 12", you will see that it quite clearly says "Licensed from a Touch Of Class Recordings".
Order a copy now and see for yourselves.
I'm a DJ in London and I've been playing this track since last spring at The Ghetto, it really is Disco Dancefloor Dynamite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Disco Tune, 26 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Comfortably Numb (Audio CD)
The Scissor sisters have turned the dull, samey, weak pink floyd songinto a classic catchy brilliant disco tune, ignore all other reviews, buy the album, which is highly rated by ALL critics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow up to CshelCshore's review, 17 Jan 2004
This review is from: Comfortably Numb (Audio CD)
Reference the production duties on this single, the boys at TOUCH OF CLASS Italy tell me different.
I wasn't refering to the demo of Comfortably Numb which was originally on the flip of the Touch Of Class Records release "Electrobix", I am refering to the Touch Of Class Produced version which was released last year B/W The Touch Of Class Dub mix and then a 2nd 12" version containing new Tiga remixes which was available in November in the States.
I ordered it direct from them.
A TOUCH OF CLASS assure me they produced the main single version.
If I am wrong I stand corrected.
Whoever twiddled those knobs in the studio should be praised, it's a brillant track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING 2004 DISCO SINGLE!, 10 Jan 2004
This review is from: Comfortably Numb (Audio CD)
This track has been around for about a year, produced by the brillant A TOUCH OF CLASS production team, it is a massive floor filler.
The UK label Polydor released the quirky LAURA as the first Scissor Sister's single last autumn, saving this gem for the really big launch of New York's finest this year.
The group actually had reservations about releasing this track as a single as it's really the work of the producers A TOUCH OF CLASS.
They also composed and produced the group's other club biggie ELECTROBIX.
This single is not representative of the group's album, it consists of mainly rocky type numbers and brilliant 80s style ballads.
Comfortably Numb is absolutely stunning and will totally enhance your life. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comfortably Superb, 22 April 2004
By 
Ruari Cathmoir "stormhawk" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comfortably Numb (Audio CD)
The Scissor Sisters have pulled something of an rabbit from the hat with their debut single, a cover of the Pink Floyd track 'Comfortably Numb.' It seems somehow appropriate that a band renowned for being a little on the trippy side of sane should have their song given an electro makeover, and the Sister's effort is without a doubt the best they could have hoped for. Purists are certain to bemoan the massacre of the track, however, if you can put aside your expectations of a perfect rendition, it's a sliver of genius on your HiFi.
Jake's falsetto vocals suit the lyrics particularly well, and lends a certain ethereal quality which is more than complimented by the electro chords behind them. Though not on the CD, fans should take the time to hunt down the Tiga remixes, which unsurprisingly from the Prince of Electro are fantastic.
Comfortably Numb is a flawless twist on a classic track, perfect for spacing out with a smile to on any of those moments when your CD player seems a little tired... or crank it up - the bass is there and it's more than suited for a dance. Covers are often judged on their unwavering accuracy and faithfulness to the original, and the Scissor Sisters here demonstrate why this is a sad fact in the music industry, by taking a classic and performing it truly in their own style, making it their own. We should thank them for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comfortably Numb
Comfortably Numb by Scissor Sisters (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews