Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the one
Comparisions are always going to be made with the Strokes, as is the same for any new garage rock band. But really it's just like saying "That garage rock band sounds like that garage rock band"...why?? because they are both garage rock bands. There's some fantastic songs on this album, the opener 'Watch Trick' is a bit of a teaser, but is not typical of the rest of the...
Published on 4 Jun. 2004 by lukem887

versus
4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
I purchased this album on the back of hearing "What about me". I still like this song but it stands out much less when you listen to the whole CD. There are 1 or 2 interesting and original moments and a couple of decent songs but it might as well be The Strokes- the tempo of the songs are very similar and the vocals and guitars sound identical. They even use the same font...
Published on 28 May 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the one, 4 Jun. 2004
This review is from: The Cribs (Audio CD)
Comparisions are always going to be made with the Strokes, as is the same for any new garage rock band. But really it's just like saying "That garage rock band sounds like that garage rock band"...why?? because they are both garage rock bands. There's some fantastic songs on this album, the opener 'Watch Trick' is a bit of a teaser, but is not typical of the rest of the album. 'You Were Always The One' however, is. Playing in at just under two minutes thirty seconds it's a pure blast of immensely catchy summery pop with a garage edge. This theme does continue and work for the rest of the album. It's hard to single out my other favourite songs as they same to change at every listen, but that's just a testament to the consistency of the record. It's not going to revolutionise music and it's hard to get away from the fact that it's a 'teenage' album, but if you're looking for a fresh pop record to soundtrack your summer, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good band Great live!!!!, 24 Aug. 2004
This review is from: The Cribs (Audio CD)
I purchased this album after hearing good things about them in NME and thought I would "risk" it like we all have in the past and I'm so glad I took that gamble. I saw these guys live at T in the park also and what a band live, fair enough they didn't have much of a crowd early on the sunday morning at the NME stage but they rocked the show actually being one of my bands of the whole weekend!!
As for the album the opener "The witch trick" sets the tone for the rest of the tunes. There seems to be a lot of comparison with the strokes and the libertines but personally I think they sound fresh and new. My favourite melody has to be "You were always the one" due to the fact that this seems to make me feel warm and rocks at the same time brilliant!!
"you and I" is a track that all can relate with which I think shows a great band with a great future. This band needs support and is extremely underated if this ever comes I think they could be massive and shock quite a few of their critics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprise gem!, 27 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cribs (Audio CD)
After seeing the Cribs on the NME Britpack tour, I just had to buy their album and I have not been disapointed! Sounding like a cross between the Libertines and The Strokes can never be a bad thing, and the Cribs manage to pull it off without sounding like a tribute act. Sure to be a great record for the summer, it contains some excellent tunes. My only complaint is that, although the band hail from Wakefield, the singer seems to have develloped a bit of an American accent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scruffy pop joy, 5 July 2007
This review is from: The Cribs (Audio CD)
3 brothers from Wakefield set out from a background of avant-rock and alternative awkwardness and create... a brilliant pop record. This debut album is full of amazing songs like 'The Lights Went Out' and 'You Were Always The One' with great melodies and sharp lyrics. 'Another Number' is a simple, infectious indie classic that will melt your heart. 'Direction' and 'Third Outing' close the record with a nod to the band's angrier, more confrontational future, and to their discordant roots. In fact, 'Direction' is the track that showcases the juxtaposition of sweet pop songwriting with a ragged sonic aesthetic that recalls Sonic Youth. It's a great shame that the band has largely dropped these songs from its live setlist but this remains a great album and essential for fans of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the thing, 26 Oct. 2004
This review is from: The Cribs (Audio CD)
totally under rated, the Cribs are the best live band i've ever seen and this album is a teenage classic. it sounds like the kind of thing your mate would tape you and send you and you wouldn't want anyone else to hear it because then they are 'your' band. i listen to it every day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it! buy it! buy it! buy it! BUY IT NOW!, 14 Nov. 2005
By 
alex (ANDOVER, HANTS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cribs (Audio CD)
i bought this album having never heard of the band after reading a brilliant review.....it was a risk that i have never regreted. i have now seen them live 7 times and have bought everything by them i can find. totally refreshing and captivating. they blow bands like the libertines, kaiser chiefs, maximo park, killers, franz etc totally out of the water. a new, improved and english 'the strokes'? the embodiment of everything you loved about seeing the best college bands with melodies to die for. raw, gritty and amazing live. they have been aclaimed by nme and i truely do not undestand how lesser bands have 'overtaken' them. so buy this now. if there is a god then they will be bigger than jesus!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indie brilliance!, 19 Aug. 2005
This review is from: The Cribs (Audio CD)
Magnificent debut, proving the best new indie is coming from Yorkshire. Brilliant, cannot stop listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars !!, 12 Feb. 2006
This review is from: The Cribs (Audio CD)
this review is abit late..seeing it was released 2 years ago!! they've always been one of those bands who i have heard of and liked a couple of their songs...it only occured to me that i should maybe buy one of their albums, so why not this one?
this IS agood album..not the best but i would definately recommend it to other Cribs fan..i'm sure you won't regret it :)...all the tracks are good, some stand out more than others like "you&I" and "the lights went out". My personal favourite is "learning how to fight", bless the guy blatantly cannot pull a low note...yet he still manages to not ruin the record!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wowowowowowowowowowowowowowowowowowowowowowowowowowow, 4 May 2005
By 
Jennifer Mellor (North Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cribs (Audio CD)
they are fantastic... saw them live in feb supporting tob n was totally blown away! one of the best bands around now, but totally underated as noone has ever heard of them (unfortunately!!!) all tracks are great...my favourite would be you were always the one- the first track i heard but another number is also amazing :) :) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cribs (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cribs
The Cribs by The Cribs (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews