Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars social climbers of the world unite, hyacinth is back !!!
this must be one of the funniest, most hilarious tv shows ever made.
I've been waiting for series 3 and 4 since I finished watching the previous dvd with the first 2 series. the dvd was great (picture and sound), the packaging was really nice and all episodes had subtitles so I hope it'll be the same for this one.
join the bucket (pronounced bouquet) family and...
Published on 14 Jan 2004

versus
36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, but episodes missing from UK DVDs
There can be little doubt that Keeping Up Appearances is a comedy series for the ages, fully deserving of a DVD release. However, the BBC releases pale in comparison to the superior Region 1 American releases, which contain unreleased episodes from Series 3 and 4, as well as outtakes.
Series 5 of this classic comedy has also been released in its entirity on DVD in...
Published on 13 July 2004 by Prof. Sir David Stretch Oxon. PhD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars social climbers of the world unite, hyacinth is back !!!, 14 Jan 2004
By A Customer
this must be one of the funniest, most hilarious tv shows ever made.
I've been waiting for series 3 and 4 since I finished watching the previous dvd with the first 2 series. the dvd was great (picture and sound), the packaging was really nice and all episodes had subtitles so I hope it'll be the same for this one.
join the bucket (pronounced bouquet) family and laugh!
these are the episode of series 3 and 4:
Season 3
E1: Early Retirement
E2: Iron Age Remains
E3: Violet's Country Cottage
E4: How To Go On Holiday Without Really Trying
E5: Richard's New Hobby
E6: The Art Exhibition
E7: What To Wear When Yachting
Season 4:
E1: A Job For Richard
E2: Country Retreat
E3: A Celebrity For The Barbecue
E4: The Commodore
E5: Looking At Properties
E6: Please Mind Your Head
E7: Let There Be Light
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A candlelight dinner with the Lady of the House, 22 Jan 2004
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
- well we all know what to expect: hilarious scenes and a great laugh. "Keeping Up Appearances" always was and will remain one of my favourite comedies. Hyacinth, Onslow, Daisy, Rose and all the other characters in that comedy are household names wtach these DVDs sitting on a settee which is not the exact replica of one standing in Sandringham House, with a proper shirt on (no Onslow' s way of dressing) and no cans of beer.... you know what I mean!!
Great that the DVD is out. Lots of laugh is guaranteed!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I cannot wait..., 16 Feb 2004
I have never seen the third and forth series, but I cannot wait. In Poland we had some parts of the serial broadcast on TV under the title "What people will say". I dare to say that Patricia is the best comedian I ever saw. She is a cure for bad mood after stressful day. My 8-year old daughter does not understand English (she is learning) but she bursts with laughter whenever she watches the film. Patricia embodies all things understood as funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Richard!, 21 Nov 2010
British Comedy with style, panache, and a bit of saucy thrown in - but nothing vulgar and not a swear word to offend. Unlike what passes for comedy now.
PR and all actors are superbly cast - cannot imagine anyone else taking these parts, and the scriptwriters, crew and locations are well researched and filmed. A joy to own and watch regularly. I laugh EVERY time. Perhaps that's Alzheimer's creeping in?????? Dont delay. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, but episodes missing from UK DVDs, 13 July 2004
There can be little doubt that Keeping Up Appearances is a comedy series for the ages, fully deserving of a DVD release. However, the BBC releases pale in comparison to the superior Region 1 American releases, which contain unreleased episodes from Series 3 and 4, as well as outtakes.
Series 5 of this classic comedy has also been released in its entirity on DVD in the States, along with the Christmas specials that have never seen the light of day here.
The BBC releases of this series are certainly adequate for the casual fan, but true admirers will want to go the extra mile and purchase the Region 1 releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good gift for the olf folkes if they still have a VCR, 22 Feb 2009
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances: Series 3 And 4 [VHS] [1990] (VHS Tape)
This was an ideal present for my grandparents. Especially since its on VHS, as they seem to think DVD's are some form of disease.

Hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping up appearances, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When is a bucket not a bucket, when it follows the name Hyacinth!! Another batch of Hyacinths and Richards Adventures! Everyone knows someone like Hyacinth and it is a joy to watch on screen. Patricia Routledge certainly brings her character to life, you believe in her and all her baggage. A good ensemble cast brings it all to life. Good laughs guarenteed! Will brighten any dull day!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT, 13 July 2009
By 
Jjcroad - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Simple BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT. lol

Great watch over and over again you wont get bored good clean comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun in the Suburbs, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is outstanding. If you ever watch it you are sure to recognize someone in your neighborhood and laugh. Patricia as Hyacinth - even the name says it all - is every families nightmare. Always trying to impress. I love her. I chuckle even when I am not watching her at her ridiculous antics to appear "upper class". For me on blue days this is the series to watch. Suddenly the fun side of life takes on a whole new meaning. A must for light hearted viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD LAUGH, 6 Aug 2010
The only problem I have with this set, as I had with the first one, is that there's nothing in the box to tell you what the episodes are. You have to play them to find out then make your own list.
The quality of vision and sound on the DVDs is excellent. A delightful series which I've always loved - and will for years to come. And, no, I'm not a snob - I'm more of your Onslow !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keeping Up Appearances: Series 3 And 4 [VHS] [1990]
Keeping Up Appearances: Series 3 And 4 [VHS] [1990] by Patricia Routledge (VHS Tape - 2004)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews