Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timon and Pumbaa Rock!
If you loved THE LION KING then you will love THE LION KING 3.This exiciting and hilarious adventure tells the story of how Timon and Pumbaa met and their point of view of the main movie.You no longer follow Simba in the story,but you follow T&P instead.You can now understand how some events and disasters happened such as the animals bowing to baby Simba at Pride...
Published on 17 Feb 2004 by Nichola

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 1 and 2
I bought this for my 3 year old daughter because she loves 1 and 2 but we were disappointed with it. It seems to me that Disney wanted an easy way to cash in on the success of the previous two films and have cobbled together a bit of a lame story which they have padded out with clips from the first two films. Ok - we love Timon and Pumba, but surely they could have come...
Published on 12 May 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timon and Pumbaa Rock!, 17 Feb 2004
By 
Nichola (Staines, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata (Special 2-Disc Set) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
If you loved THE LION KING then you will love THE LION KING 3.This exiciting and hilarious adventure tells the story of how Timon and Pumbaa met and their point of view of the main movie.You no longer follow Simba in the story,but you follow T&P instead.You can now understand how some events and disasters happened such as the animals bowing to baby Simba at Pride Rock(Which will surprise and amuse you).There are 2 great new songs and 2 brand new characters,Timon's mum and his Uncle Max.Watch and see how Simba grew from cub to lion and how Timon and Pumbaa tried to stop Simba from falling in love with Nala.So join Timon and Pumbaa on their journey to find a new home and discover another story which is hidden within the first movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 6 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata (Special 2-Disc Set) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Normally Disney sequels are awful, and I mean really awful. They aren't worth the paper the cinema ticket/case cover was printed on.
But this, surprisingly, is brilliant. The whole thing is brilliant. Of course it's not quite as good as the first film but The Lion King is after all one of the best. Still, this is a great film and should have gone on cinema release. So let's break it down. The animation is delightful, much better than in other Disney sequels with beautiful backgrounds, a wonderful colour palette and all the characters perfectly drawn. It's hilariously funny - a proper comedy. The story or central concept - that we get to see things from Timon and Pumbaa's point of view works and the mix of sections from the original film and the new animation is both technically slick and well thought out and funny. The music is great, the original songs are as good as always, Digga Tunnah is amusing, fun and memorable and the rest of it is good stuff and well chosen - Jungle Boogie, The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, The Lion Sleeps Tonight and Timon and Pumbaa's inspired performance of Sunrise, Sunset are hugely enjoyable. Timon's mother and Uncle Max are good additions to the cast and the interruptions of Timon and Pumbaa from their seats in the movie theatre are just one more thing that makes this such a quality entertainment experience. The special features on the DVD are quite good - a jokey virtual safari, some interesting deleted scenes and some entertaining - if not exceptionally enlightening interviews with the cast and animators are enjoyably non-corporate - for Disney anyway, adding to the lighthearted parody feel of the film. In addition to all this, it should be noted that this is a film that never mocks the original or it's emotional resonance - this is a celebration of the first film and of course the lovable and sidesplitting Timon and Pumbaa. Buy it, it's worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lion King 3 is off the chart...!, 23 Feb 2004
By 
M. Fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata (Special 2-Disc Set) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
'The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata' is a magnificent follow up from the original 'Lion King' movie and is certainly an improvement over 'The Lion King II: Simba's Pride.'
To cut to the chase, 'The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata' is a long story told to you through the eyes of Timon the meerkat & Pumbaa the warthog. They tell you all about their version of 'The Lion King,' explaining to you how they were in the movie from the very beginning before we met them for the first time in the desert. They share with you their stories of how they found and raised Simba from a mischievous cub to a full-grown lion King. As you watch the movie, you see so much more of the story that you never even knew existed during the first one but at the same time, was still actually happening. Best of all, you finally get to hear the story of Timon's past when he used to live in a Meerkat Colony and how he left & met Pumbaa the warthog.
What really impresses me about 'The Lion King 3' is that unlike 'Simba's Pride,' they have used the very same soundtrack from the original 'Lion King' movie and have therefore succeeded in maintaining that good old 'Lion King' spirit feeling. However, they have also made some additional new songs and back-ground themes, creating one extra long, beautiful soundtrack.
The story is great, the humour makes you laugh every single time and the paint and animation is a smash hit. Why on earth couldn't they have done as good a job on 'Simba's Pride' as well?
All of the original voice actors from the original 'Lion King' movie (as well as some additional voices to new characters) have returned especially to do 'The Lion King 3' and they've done a fantastic job once again.
The special features are interesting. I wouldn't say majorly exciting but still quite entertaining. I like the new virtual safari by Timon & Pumbaa, however, I think you'd all agree with me when I say that the virtual safari on the original 'Lion King' movie DVD is much better.
Buy this movie NOW!!! It's excellent...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, but something's missing, 7 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata (Special 2-Disc Set) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Before I say anything else, I'll say that I enjoyed this 'midquel.' In fact, I think that The Lion King 1 and 1/2 (or 3) should have gone theatrical. It's sweet, funny and the animation is downright gorgeous. Timon and Pumbaa are two of my favourite characters and I can never get enough of them.

But something's missing. It's that nostalgic feel I get when I watch the first two, especially Simba's Pride. It's simply not there. And it's because this was not part of my childhood like the first films were. I have no fond memories of it, since when it came out, I thought I was too old for 'a baby movie like The Lion King,' and so I didn't care for it. It's only when I realised that The Lion King was more than just a mere 'kids movie' was when I decided to rewatch 1 and 2 and try out this new film. As I said, it's good, but it just doesn't have that impact that the first two do.

But that doesn't mean that it's not enjoyable. TLK3 is a satire of the first Lion King, but it's tasteful enough. Just remember not to take it too seriously. The songs are really fun to listen to - especially 'Diggah Tunnah' - it'll make you hum and tap your feet for ages afterwards. We have two new characters - meerkats Ma and Uncle Max. Ma is played by Julie Kavner who also does the voice for Marge Simpson, although she's not as raspy. If you enjoyed Simba's Pride, you really should throw an eye to this. There is just so much to like about it, and any fun-loving Lion King fan will enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can you feel the love tonight?, 16 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata (Special 2-Disc Set) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
How amusing is this film?!? The idea of having a little fun with and around the original film is genius and Timon & Pumbaa are just the characters to do it.
The general idea is that you follow what was happening to Timon & Pumbaa at the time of the original film. As such you occasionally get them crashing through some geniune sections of the first film which suddenly puts a whole new slant on things.
Unlike most disney sequels, this one seems to have been well thought out and prepared rather than an attempt to further cash in on a previous success. This means the animation, music and story telling are all quite slick.
But you're most likely looking at this either to buy for your children or because you're a big kid/disney fan yourself. So you'll be glad to know that this film has humour that will appeal to both children & adults, is suitable for anyone to watch and will not get boring after a few repeat performances. (especially as I know people who have been forced to sit through Disney films a few hundred times by their children and are slowly losing the will to live)
This is a truly fantastic romp through the pridelands that leaves the original films dignity intact. Definitely a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 1 and 2, 12 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata (Special 2-Disc Set) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I bought this for my 3 year old daughter because she loves 1 and 2 but we were disappointed with it. It seems to me that Disney wanted an easy way to cash in on the success of the previous two films and have cobbled together a bit of a lame story which they have padded out with clips from the first two films. Ok - we love Timon and Pumba, but surely they could have come up with something better and funnier? This film really lacks the charm of the other two films, and the songs are no way near as good either. You can tell its not up to much because she hardly ever watches it, yet she can sit through 1 and 2 over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, I love it!, 22 Feb 2004
By 
Sophie C. Gonzales (Oxfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata (Special 2-Disc Set) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is most likely the best sequel that Disney has ever made! While The Lion King 2 was luke-warm, The Lion King 3 is even better! The first movie focused more on a story based on drama, but this one focuses on the comedy. I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone that enjoyed Lion King 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unplayable disc, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata (Special 2-Disc Set) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This product arrived promptly, in immaculate condition, but unfortunately one of the discs is incompatible with our perfectly normal DVD player, and simply comes up as "windows" when loaded. Disc no. 2 in the same box is fine. A shame, as I am sure this is an entirely unintentional error. We have never had this before with any of our large collection of dvds, so the fault is not with our machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lion King 3 dvd, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata (Special 2-Disc Set) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Not as good as Lion King 1 and 2. Reasonably priced. My 9 year old daughter has only watched it once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars its good, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata (Special 2-Disc Set) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
different but good we all happy good music and funny keeps us all entertained enough extras are great to get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0de384)

This product

The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata (Special 2-Disc Set) [DVD] [2004]
9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews