Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest conspiracy film...
For years I thought that All The President's Men was the best 70s conspiracy thriller. However, since I bought this film on DVD I have changed my mind.

I first saw this film on TV years ago and I was quite impressed. The film was listed as film of the week in the weekend papers, so I taped it. Since then I had been wanting to give it a second viewing, but it...
Published on 26 July 2006 by A. Eccles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like the genre of political/conspiracy thrillers then you'll like The ...
If you like the genre of political/conspiracy thrillers then you'll like The Parallax View. Yes it looks a bit dated but keeps you engaged right through to the unexpected ending.
Published 4 months ago by BikerJ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars If you like the genre of political/conspiracy thrillers then you'll like The ..., 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
If you like the genre of political/conspiracy thrillers then you'll like The Parallax View. Yes it looks a bit dated but keeps you engaged right through to the unexpected ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
This film kept me entertained, a good performance from Warren Beatty and an interesting story although it felt a little dated and old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Edward Snowden and Bradley Manning story., 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Edward Snowden story said 40 years before time of Fakedbooks agents. World run by Abu Graib debrief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, but ultimately unsatisfying, 27 Dec. 2010
By 
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
The technical quality of the DVD is fairly good. Although there would appear to have been no special remastering as there is a little dust and deterioration on the print, and nor are there any special features worthy of note, the print is sharp and the sound quality is good. The film is also presented in its original Panavision format.

As a film, I found it gripping, but ultimately found the ending unsatisfying. A little more in the way of plot explanation wouldn't have gone amiss, as I found myself completely confused as to what had happened. This isn't a film that you can watch casually, and it feels as though it has been edited rather too tightly, perhaps losing some of the plot that might have been present in the original script. Nonetheless, the performances are excellent - as several reviewers have noted, it's a shame that films of this quality are not made today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
one of the best films of this espionage genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One Of Many Conspiracies., 31 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Warren Beatty is very much the lone-star in this sly little thriller. Although often overlooked, possibly because of its low-key & languid development, there are enough shocks and surprises to keep the viewers' attention. There's lots of nice camera long-shot and dark encounters that are very much of its time and - in black & white - might hint at film-noir. But they're never developed to any great style. It's strictly a 70's movie. That said, there's non of the in-yer-face frenetic action that would typify its genre today. I'm thinking here of "Enemy Of The State".

Well made conspiracy-theory movies have always been good for their money. And this one certainly has the elements. Yet I'm bound to say that ultimately I was left disappointed. There is no kind of denouement. We never really know who is masterminding the plots. It begins as a mystery and ends as a mystery. And that has the appearance as much of a cop-out as an attempt at originality. It certainly doesn't stack-up against the much more recent and very similar "Pelican Brief".

My DVD package has an identical cover to the item advertised by Amazon, but was sourced elsewhere. It is listed as 98min run-time, 2.35:1 aspect ratio and `15' rating. Sound & vision are satisfactory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars for fans of 70s american cinema, 4 Oct. 2005
By 
Mr. R. Kelly "rkelly" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for two reasons: one as i'm a fan of cinematographer gordon willis (klute,annie hall,godfather,ets) and two I love american 70s movies. Theres no real point going over the story,all i'd say is if you like conspircy theory films or enjoy the following movies:all the presidents men,prime cut or the gambler then buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far ahead of it's time, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
R. Walker "rw266" (Sussex, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Still a great movie, yes the plot is a bit dated but the premise was far ahead of it's time, like 3 Days of the Condor & Winter Kill, it challenges the fact that our Government and it various pork-laden agencies no longer represent the real interests of the US Public, just the special interests !!, in fact our Government & Corporations have only their profits in mind, Democrat or Republicans, no difference !! our current Military have become just "gangsters for corporate capitalism".

Wave the flag and keep watching DWTS, Honey Boo-Boo, The Kardishians you idiots !!, they are counting on your apathy, ignorance, gullibility and lack of access to our once vibrant and skeptical print media. Think it's coincidence that all our print and TV news outlets are now owned by the very same Corporate Hegemony ?? Remember when CBS, ABC, & NBC actually had a REAL news shows instead of a Britney Spears Beaver shot, Jesus Wept.

We no longer have any safeguards against contrived spin,wedge-issues and moronic propaganda in fact Joe Goebbels would be proud of our "News" thanks to likes of Carl Rove and the looney right. Like Rove said , "reality is what we make it".

WE have surrendered our democracy and common sense to a bunch of Bi-Partisan, Feckless Parliamentary Whores, 55 yrs old and no job ?? you deserve it sucker, you should have known better or paid attention during History Class, or even better watch the movie "Network" to see when it all started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
5* What else to say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD]
Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] by Alan J. Pakula (DVD - 2004)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews