Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest conspiracy film...
For years I thought that All The President's Men was the best 70s conspiracy thriller. However, since I bought this film on DVD I have changed my mind.

I first saw this film on TV years ago and I was quite impressed. The film was listed as film of the week in the weekend papers, so I taped it. Since then I had been wanting to give it a second viewing, but it...
Published on 26 July 2006 by A. Eccles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like the genre of political/conspiracy thrillers then you'll like The ...
If you like the genre of political/conspiracy thrillers then you'll like The Parallax View. Yes it looks a bit dated but keeps you engaged right through to the unexpected ending.
Published 4 months ago by BikerJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest conspiracy film..., 26 July 2006
By 
A. Eccles (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
For years I thought that All The President's Men was the best 70s conspiracy thriller. However, since I bought this film on DVD I have changed my mind.

I first saw this film on TV years ago and I was quite impressed. The film was listed as film of the week in the weekend papers, so I taped it. Since then I had been wanting to give it a second viewing, but it wasn't available anywhere.

The film itself draws parallels with the various political assassinations of the 1960s, particularly the death of Robert Kennedy. From here you'll have to watch it yourself, but Pakula builds a thriller based around secretive organisations and paranoia.

Well worth viewing, and it gets better everytime. You might need to watch the ending again to understand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A poem of paranoia, 10 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Against tremendous odds, it works superbly; and, after forty years, Alan Pakula's paranoid thriller still seems highly relevant and utterly, horribly disturbing. This is a film that takes huge risks with audience tolerance, and it's not at all surprising that some people, perfectly intelligent and sensitive people, hate it, or are baffled by it. It makes nothing easy for the spectator, and quite how it is that it works so well remains something of a mystery. It posits a familiar premise - lone crusading reporter begins to sniff out an enormous story, but must go it alone against mighty and mysterious evil forces - and then turns it inside-out. We are startled when the journo-hero (Warren Beatty) quickly proves himself to be a shabby loser, manifestly incapable of landing a big story, let alone "the scoop of the century", but that's not all - by the time he pretends to be a borderline psychopath so as to be recruited by a mysterious Murder Inc.-style organization which specialises in political killings, we wonder if he doesn't genuinely have a screw loose somewhere. Pakula never makes anything clear, and Beatty never once allows charm or charisma to inform his performance. He finds out only enough to tantalise us - by the film's shocking end, we still don't know who the killers are, or what their agenda is. Their victims include a flagrant redneck as well as as a Kennedy liberal type, and they seem to have tentacles in every corner of American life. They are unstoppable. Never explaining is an immensely dangerous strategy, and Pakula takes this to extremes, not even offering us the superficial explanations you'd get in a TV episode to justify the forward momentum of his plotline. He hires famous actors (Paula Prentiss, Kenneth Mars, William Daniels, Anthony Zerbe) to appear in what promise to be crucial roles (respectively, hero's girlfriend, best buddy, the Man Who Knows What's Really Going On and a wise, knowing professor) and cuts them off after just a few minutes of screentime; crucial dialogue tends to be muttered rather than emphasised; and suspense sequences don't follow the anticipated format - when a man falls off the top of Seattle's Space Needle, we don't get the expected cutaway shot of a body falling, falling, falling (or any screams on the soundtrack) and during a bomb-on-a-plane sequence, we get no histrionics, just an agonising use of real time. This could be very irritating in the hands of a less skilled director - indeed, the film actually is very irritating, deliberately so, at several points, and only by the end of the film do its various directorial ploys all come together. Then, it's just terrifying. A few subsequent movies ("Arlington Road" is an obvious example) have tried to imitate it, and have failed miserably. You have to be Alan Pakula to make an Alan Pakula movie; like Peckinpah or Antonioni, he really can't be copied. This just might be his best film, although it makes huge demands and intentionally gives us no final emotional pay-off. Pakula's next film was "All The President's Men"; he said that, if "Parallax" expressed all his fears about America, "President's Men" expressed his hopes. It's a relief that he still had some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thriller that scares, unsettles and fascinates, 23 May 2010
By 
A C SHIELDS (melbourne , australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
What was it about the 70's when actors with interesting faces could make you believe what was on the screen and help you lose yourself in the world of a film? I miss that time and that quality, but happily I can revisit it through films like THE PARALLAX VIEW. I had heard about the film and it sounded intriguing. I was certainly not disappointed - not in the least.
I find discovering these forgotten gems to be one of the reasons why I am a film buff. I watched this with my wife (who knows I like some weird stuff) and we couldn't stop talking about it afterward, trying to figure out what happened (or seemed to) and talking about what certain characters were really doing.
I am a fan of this director's other films , such as KLUTE and ALL THE PRESIDENT'S MEN. The films exert a pull on the viewer and can be hypnotic. Highly recommended - don't read about the film's plot beforehand, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest conspiracy thriller of the 1970's.., 17 Jan. 2008
By 
martin_peg (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
..I'm amazed nobody has praised this film here yet, but then it has been unavailable until now, which is equally amazing. A neglected masterpiece whatever you may think of Warren Beatty. See it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, 6 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
A near-perfect paranoia movie that would be very difficult to get made these days! It looks good—as you'd expect, and the use of sound (or lack thereof) is chilling. You get the feeling that this is really happening, and you just happen to be observing it, but you're unable to intervene. Chilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Political Conspiracy Thriller, 25 Nov. 2014
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Director Alan J Pakula’s 1974 political conspiracy thriller was made during one of Hollywood’s golden periods (labelled ‘New Hollywood’) – roughing covering the 1970s – when film-makers assumed greater artistic (and political) control of their output, leading to films such as Network, The Conversation, Chinatown, Serpico, Blue Collar and Pakula’s own Klute and All The President’s Men. Sandwiched between these latter Pakula films was The Parallax View, based on Loren Singer’s novel, in which Warren Beatty’s maverick reporter, Joe Frady, becomes ensnared in more shenanigans of paranoia and political conspiracy and, whilst (for me) The Parallax View is not quite in the same league as the aforementioned films, it still provides an impressively understated, and increasingly disturbing, take on what is a relatively well-worn cinematic genre.

Beatty is impressive (if, perhaps, a little too hunky) as the laid-back and initially disbelieving Frady, who rejects the theories of ex-girlfriend Paula Prentiss’ Lee Carter that the motives behind the assassination of a Senator (in a impressive sequence on the top of the Seattle Space Needle – recalling Hitchcock’s Statue Of Liberty denouement in Saboteur) are being obscured by ‘knocking off’ witnesses one by one. Pakula sets up the 'faceless men in suits’ (up to no good) ambience brilliantly – including the superb scene of the official enquiry announcing its judgement/'whitewash’ ('there will be no questions’) – which keeps us guessing as to who or what is behind the mysterious events, as Frady goes off in pursuit of other witnesses. There follow a series of perhaps rather fanciful, but undoubtedly, spectacular plot developments – including dam bursts, car chases, exploding boats and airplane bomb-scares – with Joe returning to report 'progress’ to his editor, the excellent Hume Cronyn as the world-weary, elder statesman, Bill Rintels.

As Frady discovers that it is the shady Parallax Corporation (Division of Human Engineering!) – brainwashing photo montages and all – behind an ‘assassin recruitment’ drive, Pakula ups the ante, with Joe allowing himself to be recruited by Walter McGinn’s impressive, softly-spoken coercer, Jack Younger, with a view to sabotaging another political assassination. This gives rise to what is perhaps the film’s highlight sequence – a brilliantly (and ironically) designed political convention and leading to a powerful 'full circle’ denouement. For me, not a flawless film, but nevertheless one with much to commend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling Thriller, 8 Dec. 2009
By 
A Noyes "Alison" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Perfectly made and cast by the director of Klute, this excellent film both foreshadows and after-shadows the Bourne Trilogy. Less pacy but more chilling than Bourne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping political conspiracy thriller, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
A dark, gripping and complex political conspiracy thriller from the 1970s with the underrated Warren Beatty in the starring role. It reflects the prevailing paranoia of an American political landscape, post Kennedy assassination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seventies Thriller, 19 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
If you think that things are not always as they seem and that there are dark forces at work, then this might be a film you would enjoy.

A politician is killed and the commission that investigates concludes that it was the work of a lone assassin. However, people who were witnesses to the deed begin to die in mysterious circumstances. The death of one of them persuades a third-rate journalist to investigate further. He manages to get himself recruited to a company which provides "security" services. Among their number he finds one of those who was present years before at the political killing. So far, so good. The ending is tense - without going into too much detail, it does nothing to allay any concerns you might have that we are puppets controlled by a malign hand who digest whatever news we are given without thinking about it.

Certainly worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I had seen the film only once before, and ..., 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen the film only once before, and it is as I remembered it: taut, cleverly written and thoroughly entertaining. Given what is known of plots hatched by governments and global corporations, either separately or together, the basis for this film is entirely believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD]
Parallax View, The [1974] [DVD] by Alan J. Pakula (DVD - 2004)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews