Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars15
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2011
Ichi the Killer: Episode 0 is an animated adaptation of the manga and was produced because of the popularity of the live-action film, it is a combonation of extreme violence and unemotional content, Kakihara still proves to be one of my all time favourite manga characters and I like all of Hideo Yamamoto's work so it's hard to pick a fav, but what makes it better is him being voiced my directing genius 'Takashi Miike'. More towards the plot of the film, it's centered in Ichi's past which was never shown in the manga, only snipets were shown in the manga, so it's more of a filler than anything else, but it'll be the best filler you'll ever see, I promise you that. But I wouldn't recommend this OVA unless you are a hardcore Ichi the Killer fan...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
I bought this not remembering I had seen it already years ago, and my feelings on it are the same as then. that is to say it leaves you wanting alot more. it kind of ends abruptly. but on the whole it was a good filler for some of the backstory regarding Ichi, but that's all it is. filler. i guess you can't complain do 21p though right?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2009
When i saw this i thought well the film was good so lets buy the manga!The anime is very good and the violence is very extreme so good in my book.Then why a bad rating well it is to short and i was really into it and then thats it which disappointed me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2007
I loved `Audition' by Miike and so I had to see `Ichi.'. While the style is definitely Miike's, I found that I didn't like it quite as much as `Audition.' It is hard to care much about many of the people being tortured because there is no character development in most of them with the exception of Ichi and Kakihara. Kakihara likes to be tortured, but only by those who are the best at inflicting pain. Therefore he is very studied in the art of giving pain and practices this with relish. There is a poor slob in the movie who is tied to a chair and has grossly enlarged needles thrown at his exposed face and who knows what else is done to him before they get the idea to cut his unmentionables into several ribbons with a pair of scissors. While there was little to no character development with this man it is hard not to be sympathetic to his plight. I felt a large rush of horror even though I am a female.

Ichi is interesting and has a strangely boyish face for one who is so unbalanced and capable of massive human destruction. It is hard not to feel sympathy for him as well because he is manipulated and used by someone who engages in mentally torturing him to achieve his ends.

This film is not just a straight forward slasher as many critics have said - it grabs you from many different angles and keeps the brain ticking away throughout. One minute you're laughing your head off, and the next you're trying your hardest not to look away. Then two minutes later you're deep in thought giving both the main leads a good psychological going over. At the end of the film we get some mixed up mental messages and have to decide what to do with this information-Miike's trademark as far as I can tell.

Whilst there are people out there who will absolutely hate this film and find themselves trying not to vomit, those of you who can take some comic book ultra violence and have a slightly darker sense of humour and are as curious as I am can defiantly check this title out.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2009
I'm sorry...i pretty much hate this movie. bought it about a year ago cos looked brutal and extreme. well...it tries to be but to me it falls flat. the storyline is stupid and the violence is really not as bad as people say. cos its animated it doesnt seem real anyway therefor doesnt warrant emotions for the victims, nor cause repulsion as its so over the top.
i watched this once and its been at the bottom of my dvd pile ever since. im sorry but i guess i just dont get it. i wouldnt even think of recommending it to anyone
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Absolutely superb ultra-violence done in takashi's unique style!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2004
Because of the excellent live action film of the same name I bought this DVD with high expectations, particularly as it featured the voice of Takashi Miike as Kakahari. But it was awful.
While it does add back story to Ichi, it lacks the verve and energy of Miike's film. For what it adds to the original it is hardly worth watching, and certainly not buying.
Premier Asia have been showing us trailers for the excellent Bang-Rajan with their other films. For more than a year it has been "coming soon". And then they rush this rubbish into the shops.
Better that they had waited and put out Bang-Rajan, and better that you wait for it too bfore stumping up any money.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
if you have seen the movie you should se this anime also. it tells the backstory of Ichi so its well worth a couple of pounds.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2004
i purchased this particular DVD only 40 hours ago expecting another sliceof miike greatness, i was gravely dissapinted. ive only seen a few of hisfilms, audition, happiness of the katakuris and obviously ichi the killerand was amazed by the originality and style this films posess, which iswhy i found this to be so god damn awful.
if u like anime steer clear of this, the quality is terrible. the storydrags its self along like a wounded deer, stumbling through the dark intothe headlights of an oncoming truck. 10 minutes in and you'll wish it had.the english dubbing makes monkey look good, but when you watch it insubtitles the story grates even more and you begin to realise its not thetranslation but the actual writing that stinks.
there are many flaws in this film, though it does fulfill its boast ofbeing the most extreme anime on offer. if you want blood and guts go for aclassic like ninja scroll and pretent miike never got involved with this.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2004
Ichi the killer is a short but good slice of japanese manga. I bought it because of curiousity, and because i like this sort of thing. The cover of the DVD boasts 'Anime at it's most extreme' it certainly is. About half way through i was shocked at the level of violence in this film, not to mention the nudity and abuse of women. But even after that i still think it's a brilliant portrial of one teenagers struggle of becoming a psycopathic killer. The animation is very good, and the film is very watchable in english dubbing or in japanese with english subtitles. The only flaw which prevented me from giving this DVD 5 stars was how short it was. Most Manga features are about 1 hour and a half, yet this was only 45 minutes. But, it's worth it. The special features are good, with interviews and backstage footage of the live action Ichi the killer.
So if your planning to buy a copy of this then don't hesitate, it's well worth it! However if you hate violence and graphic scenes of nudity then i wouldn't recomend this to you.
Overall, a brilliant piece of Manga which has everything you'd expect, and more!
Please just buy it! You won't regret it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.