Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Found Power
Being a huge Pantera fan it was a foregone conclusion that I would buy Damageplan's album at some point. But it's unfair to compare this to Dimebag's and Vinnie's previous band as this is a different beast.

You still get the raw drumming beloved of Pantera fans and Dimebag pulls out his trademark guitar squeals and divebombs here, but the vocals are different...
Published on 26 Dec. 2010 by Spider Monkey

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad but not pantera
for pantera fans looking for more awesome riffs, guitar solos and raw vocals, this is not what you would expect. New found power is a decent album, but it lacks the cutting edge that pantera had. Dimebag is nowhere near his best with only a few notable moments, the song writing sounds rather new metal and lacks originality. The singer on this album does display immense...
Published on 10 Oct. 2009 by Matthew J. Rhind


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Found Power, 26 Dec. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Being a huge Pantera fan it was a foregone conclusion that I would buy Damageplan's album at some point. But it's unfair to compare this to Dimebag's and Vinnie's previous band as this is a different beast.

You still get the raw drumming beloved of Pantera fans and Dimebag pulls out his trademark guitar squeals and divebombs here, but the vocals are different enough to keep things interesting and the music is of a different nature.

I love `F**k You' with that awesome riff at the start before it kicks into a fast drum/bass/guitar combo, with the angry lyrics spewing over the top. Great stuff. I also enjoy `Pride' which is one of the softer tracks on offer, but still heavy enough for most metal fans. It's no softer than some tracks by Pantera (I'm thinking `This Love') and for those detractors to discount the band based on this and similar tracks is unfair.

I am a huge Pantera fan and feel their loss as keenly as other fans, but taken on it's own merits this is a solid metal album, that offers up some fast, heavy tracks to keep most people happy. It is unfair to mark this down in comparison to the previous bands heritage and I happily listen to this as some storming metal in it's own right. With the death of Dimebag we'll never know where this band may have gone, but based on this album it can only be a good place. Give it a try with open ears and make up your own mind.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad but not pantera, 10 Oct. 2009
By 
Matthew J. Rhind (Nairn, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
for pantera fans looking for more awesome riffs, guitar solos and raw vocals, this is not what you would expect. New found power is a decent album, but it lacks the cutting edge that pantera had. Dimebag is nowhere near his best with only a few notable moments, the song writing sounds rather new metal and lacks originality. The singer on this album does display immense talent on a few stand out tracks such as pride, but he lacks a consistent character. Im not sayin its a bad album, but i think it would be better to download the stand out song "pride" than to spend money on an album which probably wont live up to your expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dimebag & Vinnie's New Found sense of mediocrity..., 16 Feb. 2004
This review is from: New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
A warning to those Pantera fans hoping the rumours that Dimebag Darrell and Vinnie Paul's new band were basically just more of the same: it is true, but only in the way that they have taken all the power, vitriol and spit from their old band and discarded it somewhere safe (or perhaps Phil took it with him for SJ?), just leaving them with the sense of a half-decent riff and kick-ass solos. Really there is nothing more to Damageplan than that, and I have to say that I for one am quite disappointed. There is nothing wrong with the album per se - as a debut CD for a new band it still impresses - but somehow even supposedly 'aggressive' songs like 'F**k You' manage to sound fairly tame, even with help from Zakk Wylde and Corey Taylor. The super-slick production job does not help, sometimes even evoking the sound from Corey's 'side project' band Stone Sour. In fact I would attribute this as 'New Found Power''s biggest weakness, the fact that it sounds like every other metal album you've ever heard before, there is simply nothing to make it stand out from the ever-increasing crowd of Pantera wannabies. What made the Texans so special was their 'don't give a f**k' attitude which is so dearly missed on this CD, in fact I would go as far to say some songs, like 'Save Me', smack of blatant commercialism. Oh, and Pat Lachmann? Again, nothing wrong with his voice, save that it's nothing I haven't heard on a Soil or Spineshank CD. Overall, let's just say good, but could have done WAY better, boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good,, 6 July 2013
This review is from: New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I'm a huge fan of all of Dimebag's work. Damageplan is nothing like Pantera,since Dime and Vinnie aimed for a new style, but I really like how diverse the band is. From light, and mellow songs, to slow and heavy. I think that Damageplan could have done very well if Dime was still alive to this day. The best song of the album I'd say is Pride. Patrick's vocals are brilliant, and Dime's solo is magnificent. Same for 'Save Me' The vocals, and rhythm of the song. I've learned almost every song from the album, and Dime's techniques are very unique, and different from the techniques he used in Pantera. Overall, I'd give the album a four star rating. It's a very enjoyable album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I just wish................., 16 Feb. 2004
This review is from: New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Youll notice straight away that ive given em 3 stars. Ill tell you why no beating around the bush. These guys can do better so much better. My Fave pantera album is Great Southern Trendkill. It is absolutely amazing its heavy and beautiful at the same time. Theres so many different sounds and floods is by far there best song. Back to damageplan its similar to Reinventing the steel. It just seems rushed and absent of soul. The hardcore pantera fan will be disappointed. The new singer just has not got the power, dave williams RIP springs to mind. Who are they trying to appeal to, damageplan is no pantera, yeah theres solos and all that but there not amazing and the riffs. Im sure they can play them asleep. Its very nu metal in its approach. Slipknot fans will love it Coreys presence is very evident. Theres nothing really wrong with this album, people who are new to the scene will love it. But if your like me, youll be bored after a couple of listens. Its NOT going to have the life span pantera albums have the exception being Reinventing the steel. Christ theres also a single in the waiting with Save Me which was just horrible.
Hopefully i will love this one day. But that day wont be anytime soon. Buy it but dont expect it to change your life. Try Down or even Super Joint Ritual instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dimebag, 9 Dec. 2004
By 
Michael P. Davidson (Köln) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
On December 8th 2004 we lost one of the true metal legends. This is left as Dimebags last album before his tragic death. This is all I can really say on the matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Average, 16 Feb. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I am a huge Pantera and Dimebag fan but I just cannot get into New Found Power. It just doesn't have the raw energy and the power and Dynamic of Pantera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I wondered where they'd got to!, 6 Feb. 2004
By 
Mr. S. T. Mangan "samboway" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Here we are then. The new album from the Paul Bros is here and from what I've heard of it, it's safe to say that Dimbeag (or Dimond, or Darrel Paul?!?) is still one of the most interesting guitarists out there, and that Vinnie's still one powerful drummer. I've always admired Dimebag's playing style since I was young (I remember the smirk on my face that said "so that's how you do it you cheeky b*****d" when I found out how to do that slide in the 'walk' solo) and whilst this isn't the 'solo like it's the nineties' kind of album some people would have maybe liked, it's still bloody heavy.
For anyone who knows Pantera, expect more of the same (in a more 'vulgar' style), and for those who haven't prepare to hear two guys who inspired most of your nu-metal bands (and before you say anything derogatory, go to their website and you'll see that these people like 'slipknot' agree).
In a year or two that has brought 'The Darkness' (Liked them to begin with in a fun kinda' way but now sick to death through overplaying), and 'The White Stripes' big success (still can't get into it, no matter how hard I try) we have our old heroes forming new bands (Audioslave being another fine example).
They say never try to improve upon perfection, this is an example of perfecting the task of 'improving yourself' and the Bros Paul have done a grand job.
Now some gigs in the UK would be a major improvement on Pantera, as their track history was awful for playing the UK! (since 1994 I only saw them twice!!)
New Found Power? Yes. Most definietly yes!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, But Still Rollicking New Start, 22 Feb. 2004
By 
S. Wright (Sheffield, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
To quote the sticker on the front cover of Damageplan's debut album, 'New Found Power', it claims that this is 'Pantera's Dimebag Darrell and Vinnie Paul have a new plan...Damageplan', and as far as that statement goes it is indeed a new plan, it's just not a better one. Writing the riffs and desperate drumming in Pantera was always a simple but important task, since they had to impose a simple aggression. Damageplan does follow up this, but Damageplan does lack one important element that Pantera had: Phil Anselmo.
While the writer of those oh so angry, oh so powerful and oh so aggressive lyrics, is writing even heavier things and even more angrier things in his own hardcore plan, Superjoint Ritual, Vinnie Paul and Dimebag Darrell are writing songs of similar vein to their previous breakthrough, but actually become lighter in places and even more melodic. And while new vocalist Pat Lachman, previously only a guitarist in Rob Halford's band Halford, does put on a pretty good performance as the aggressed frontman, he's no Phil Anselmo both vocally and lyrically. And while it's not necessarily a bad thing that the two Pantera brothers are now free from what has to be said, the dominating force in Pantera, they do lack a lot of the ideas and the power that Anselmo had in that shiny, brutal head of his, that made Pantera, not the greatest thrash metal band, but the best thing to ever happen to it.
There are aspects of pure, classy thrash on 'New Found Power' though, including the rollicking, 'Breathing New Life', adding electronics that reoccur throughout the album to the mix making Damageplan a less simplistic band, going for atmosphere more than pure balls-out aggression and perhaps a more hardcore styling. That's not to say there isn't balls-out aggression, but it's also not to say that the atmosphere is always at its most effecting. While 'Breathing New Life' has a superb build up to the main chorus section, which relives many Pantera moments, only with less power and less simplicity, it can also be said that it's a fairly bog standard piece of power-thrash. It's also followed by the title-track which is something of a let down as a musical triumph, but is fine as a piece of aggressive sound.
And that's as far as the album goes: It's fine as an aggressive piece of metal work, but not so much as an effecting album that makes your fist pump and your heart-beat, like Pantera's own, 'Vulgar Display of Power' and 'The Great Southern Trendkill' did. It's also painfully ironic that Vinnie Paul and Dimebag Darrell's Damageplan, have become one of the pretty much bog-standard and even at times generic heavy metal bands that Pantera have spawned. And that probably is because they don't have Phil Anselmo. While a Pantera, or indeed, Damageplan riff isn't really all that complicated, it was Anselmo's vocal that made it what it was. But despite all this, Damageplan aren't without their charm. 'Pride' has a great atmospheric building and a fine chunk of hard rock, as does 'Crawl' and 'Blink Of An Eye' is a similar thing, only a little subtler. And speaking of subtlety, what might surprise you after so long of sheer ear bludgeoning as only Vinne Paul and Dimebag Darrell, can, they go and shock everyone with a ballad right at the end: 'Soul Bleed' is indeed what Pantera fans buying this album might come to expect if they were looking at it from a 'This Love' and 'Cemetery Gates' point of view. At over 5 minutes long, surprisingly it doesn't become tedious, but actually gains momentum, and has a surprisingly intelligent SOFT solo from Dimebag right in the middle of it all. The inclusion of what appears to be strings, may also surprise, as much as the guitars almost try to hide them, but it does say one thing about Damageplan: They aren't Pantera and, despite the fact that they won't escape the comparisons, they don't want to be.
And while there are pointless pieces of power such as the Corey Taylor guested, 'F*ck You', and a questionable piece of post-grunge in 'Save Me', 'New Found Power' is not a bad thrash-along if that's what you're after. As with Machine Head's latest, and Metallica's questionable 'St. Anger', Damageplan have created something for medicinal treatment for the ever increasing angry world, and is fine as a complete work rather than have very good individual moments, and is a storming presence but is not for people who are searching for something intelligent, that matches current trends and that has much substance to it. To be honest, if you were buying this as a Pantera fan, you wouldn't be looking for that anyway, but if you're looking as a Pantera fan, looking for a Pantera album, you'll be somewhat disappointed as only a few of the tracks will match your expectations. If you're just entering the world of thrash, this isn't a bad place to start, since you'll find when you research further that there's far superior thrash metal out there.
3 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version)
New Found Power (U.S. Explicit Version) by Damageplan (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews