Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Excuse me?'
I haven't read the book and rented this movie based on the excellent reviews in the national papers when the film was on cinema release. I was a bit wary that it might be a cheesy, Disney kids film but I was very pleasantly surprised.
'Holes' starts off as the story of a boy called Stanley Yelnats (Shia LaBeouf) who, in the tradition of his family's run of bad luck,...
Published on 18 July 2005

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor in Comparison to the Book
After reading the book, I was very excited to see this movie adaption of it. Unfortunately, it wasn't any where near as good. The small things count, like, in the book he is fat and the reader feels for him. Here, he is athletic and can dig the holes easier. I would recogmend you buy the book first, as it is much better.
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One film you would love to dig up, 11 Jun. 2008
By 
michelle (Leek England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Holes [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a brilliant film suitable for kids familys and adults.
I read the book first then saw the film. I am currently reading the book 'small steps' which is a brilliant conclusion.
Louis Sachar is one of America's best writers I hope to read all of her novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We dig, dig, dig, dig, dig, dig…, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Holes [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Disney produce and Andrew Davis directs this wonderful adaptation of Louis Sachar’s Holes. Miscreant youths are sent to Camp Green Lake for character building, the bulk of which involves them constantly digging holes in the parched desert. New inmate Stanley Yelnats IV (Shia LeBeouf) is about to set the wheels in motion that will unearth the secret of the digs.

It’s a blender is Holes, part drama (there’s plenty of edginess here), part coming of age tale, part action adventure – cum – detective mystery – cum - Western and part comedy, in short it’s a bona fide piece for all the family. The narrative, awash with whimsy and enchantment, is triple pronged, and it’s with great credit that the three story arcs are seamlessly put together to create one delightful whole. The child actors, led by LeBeouf, are excellent, really bringing life to the various characterisations, while Sigourney Weaver, John Voight and Tim Blake Nelson have a great time of things as the camp enforcers, and Patricia Arquette in a two-fold characterisation, scores very favourably with charm, grace and menace in equal measurements.

Mature and intelligent kids films are a rarity, Holes is like a little gem dug up in the desert. 8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A buried treasure of a film ..., 5 Mar. 2006
By 
M. G. Talks "mike_talks" (Farnborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holes [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I watched this film after seeing it had made the shortlist of 100 greatest family films.
Its quite a good movie, part teen buddy movie (set in a delinquent camp which reads like something out of Greek mythology), part superstition, part western. The young leads are earnest in their role, and there is lots of quirky support from the adult supporting characters.
Definitely worth digging up ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - every child/adult should own this, 23 Dec. 2010
By 
John H. Everington (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having read the book and having given it a good review I was a bit apprehensive when I saw that this was a Disney production. However the reviews of the DVD were all good (and the DVD was very cheap).
It follows the book almost exactly. I don't want to say too much here but the story relies on flashbacks and is brilliantly crafted. You soon realise that every little incident is there for a purpose.
Disney have made an excellent job of what is quite a dark story. The casting is superb. The adults: Jon Voight as Mr Sir, Sigourney Weaver as the Warden and Patricia Arquette as the kissing outlaw are all perfect fits. The young actors all are wonderful with Shia LaBeouf as the backward Stanley outstanding. (Backward Stanley is an in joke - read the book or watch the film.)
This is a book/film for 'younger readers' but being somewhat older (I've just had my Winter Fuel Allowance) I can recommend them both to anyone.
The book will be re-read and re-read. This DVD will be re-watched and re-watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars holes review, 8 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Holes [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
HOLES

Holes is a book and a film of:
.Action
.Happiness
.Adventure and much more.
When I first watched holes I was amazed how well it was put together,I only got to watch the first half of the film and then I forgot what the name of the film is, and for years I have been trying to track down the name for it. Just lately I watch part of the film and read the whole book without noing that it was the film i wanted to watch.

The best parts of the book is how Louis Sacher wrote it. He wouldn't explain all of the details at the begining of the book, he would make you have to read on to (as my teacher would call it) "fill in the holes".

There isn't really any bad parts in the book or film, the only thing I would say is that the film and the book both tell a different story, the film shows the emotion of the people and the scenery makes a difference, and in the book you don't get see any of that, the only bit of emotion you get to see if how you read it. but apart from that it was very well structured

If you haven't watched the film then it is a MUST SEE !!!

........ The book is really good to!!!

THANKS FOR READING PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT :):)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not your average kids film, 4 July 2010
This review is from: Holes [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The story of 'Holes' revolves around 'Stanley Yelnats' who, after being falsely found guilty of stealing a pair of trainers, is sent to a character building camp called 'Camp Green Lake'. The philosophy of the camp is 'If you take a bad boy, make him dig a hole every day in the hot sun, it will turn him into a good boy', and under this philosophy the young inmates are forced to dig meaningless holes as a form of rehabilitation. But as the story progresses, Stanley soon believes the camp warden may have an ulterior motive for making the boys dig holes.
Overall, 'Holes' isn't your average Disney fodder, even adults who usually cringe at the thought of sitting through a kids film will find this hard to dislike. The story is highly involving and the acting from an all star cast is universally great. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars holes, 4 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
my daughter loves this film. she has seen it lots of times, but this is the first time I have watched it with her. I was surprised at how good it is. lots of right from wrong learning with a bunch of friendship and some humour thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great family film, 30 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Holes is a fabulous family film, suitable for ages 6+ with a great story. Anyone expecting the usual Disney offerings will be surprised and pleasantly so. The story is gritty, moving and an accurate adaptaion of the book. It follows the story of a boy convicted of stealing a pair of trainers and sentenced to dig holes with other delinquents in the desert. This seemingly pointless punishment is revealed as a ruse for the greedy perpetrators looking for some lost treasure.

The story is enhanced by the developing relationsips between the characters and provides an exciting insight into how emotional bonds and behaviour influence lives.

A truly gripping tale, well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great family film., 5 Nov. 2009
By 
Lily (Wales, U.k) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is absolutely fantastic. I purchased it after my daughter covered it in a school project. She really loves it and we all sat down and watched it together (myself and three kids under 12)as soon as we received it. Even my son enjoyed it. We love the part when Shia.... no cant say, you have to watch it for yourself. It is a PG rating so not recommended for the very young as there are a couple of parts I dont think the little one's would appreciate. Overall, this film is fantastic, has a few morals in it too. Bit of sadness, romance, a great laugh and plenty of action to keep you entertained all the way through. Great cast too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Loved it! It follows the book which is unusual and my class of year 8 students were transfixed by it. We had already finished the book and watched this as an end of term treat. Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holes [DVD] [2003]
Holes [DVD] [2003] by Andrew Davis (DVD - 2004)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews