Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars29
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2004
Michael Moore again pulls another great film out of his hat. A slapstick satire on American politics, Canadian Bacon follows the president (Alan Alda) trying to win back approval ratings with the public by launching a new Cold War on Canada. Unfortunately for him, Niagara Falls Sheriff Budd Boomer, played by the always hilarious John Candy, takes matters into his own hands and leads an assault against the enemy to the north along with his deputy Honey (Rhea Perlman) and his two friends.
With a top notch cast, great direction and brilliant writing, Canadian Bacon is a must see, whether you're a Michael Moore fan or not.
A fitting tribute to John Candy, as this was the last film he completed.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2004
Many jokes which you will only understand if you are from Niagara Falls / Fort Erie / Buffalo area. Still funny if you are not. But there are various subtle joke which play on that region itself. Such as the 1000 Canadian dollar fine or 10 US dollar fine for not having french written on the truck. Not funny to anyone who does not live there, to many local jokes in this scene itself. Also, John Candy is Canadian! So is Dan Ackroyd. Countless more plays on Canada/US relations in the movie which are perfectly true, and accurately represent both sides. A perfect movie.
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2008
I think the comments by people that viewers will only find this film funny if they're from certain areas is silly, I'm English but I got all the jokes I thought the film was ace. You just could do to have a general idea of the Canadian/American quips that there are. But definitely worth a chill out and a watch if you have some sort of idea about the fun jokes the countries throw at each other.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2003
I absolutely loved this film, especially the performance by the late John Candy. If you are Canadian, you can't fail to enjoy this movie. There is a good cast, and the story line is very enjoyable. The jokes were pretty on the mark, and I enjoyed the laughable stereotypes of Canucks and Yanks. Very entertaining.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Michael Moore does what he does best, gets under the skins, exposes some home truths and takes the biscuit with Americans. But it's all done with a smiley face and wink, and not too be taken too seriously.

John Candy in sadly his last role plays an American sheriff who believes the propoganda that his country want to invade Canada. He spends the entire movie speaking down on Canadians and of course is one in real life, and that is the film in a nutshell, just 90 minutes of being ironic.

Alan Alda is great as the President and Rhea Perlman for Cheers fame plays Candy's sidekick- and there are cameos from Jim Belushi and Dan Ackyrod. There are plenty of scenes that are extremely funny. So, whilst not being the perfect comedy, it comes very close, gets a little disjointed in places, but Canadian Bacon is probably the best movie Michael Moore ever did.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
From my British perspective, the humour was pretty new to me, and all the more enjoyable for that. The success of Michael Moore's script is that he lets everyone in on the joke, or certainly most of it. Although a relatively low budget movie, Canadian Bacon proves you don't need tens of millions to make a successful film. It almost goes without saying, John Candy fans won't be disappointed: what a wonderfully funny guy, and a very sad loss.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
great movie,only if you know anything about usa and Canadian relationships very funny., belly laughs all through.Well worth buying as it can be watched more than once.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Bought this for my son after seeing it on TV. Never heard of it before that, but it is very satirical and funny.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 October 2002
The basic story is that we need to heat up the cold war. This will take the focus off of the president for the slouching economy. The Russians are unwilling to play the game, so we must find a new adversary. Canada wins the choice.
Comedy is like smiling. You take a situation that you cannot do anything about, or an attitude that you cannot do anything about, and just laugh at it. This movie is the essence of what many people think they know about Canada. It also contains what many people snicker about politics. So let's take it to the extreme add John Candy, Rhea Perlman a few eh's, a too clean to be true environment; you have "Canadian bacon".
What makes this comedy is not the story but the one-liners and the parody on Canadian life. One of everybody's favorite, is when a truck is stopped because it has obscenities written on the side of it. The authority points out that the obscenity is written only in English and must also be written in French.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
This is one of my favourite movies. It is VERY funny. In addition to the great, late John Candy, we have Alan Alda in the only thing he has ever done outside of Mash that I enjoyed. "Release her pronto, or we'll level Toronto!" - Indeed!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)