Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable
I have to admit that I bought the DVD purely because James Franco was in the film, I am at present trying to collect all of his movies.

I wasn't sure what to expect although I liked the summary of the story. What an excellent film - I often dislike American films because there is so much shouting and noise and you can't understand what is going on half the...
Published on 23 Mar 2011 by Julie Hambleton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it, do not click purchase
I fancy the hell out of James Franco and even thought that I could watch him read the yellow pages and find it entertaining. I was wrong. This film is terrible, bland and miserable story and Brenda Blethyn who I normally love in movies is so terrible in this, over acting in every scene and seemingly forgetting what accent she is supposed to be doing. Only gave it the one...
Published on 19 Feb 2009 by Mr. Michael Kay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Julie Hambleton "Caspian's Queen" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonny [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit that I bought the DVD purely because James Franco was in the film, I am at present trying to collect all of his movies.

I wasn't sure what to expect although I liked the summary of the story. What an excellent film - I often dislike American films because there is so much shouting and noise and you can't understand what is going on half the time, but this was a real treat. It was the kind of film that the Americans make superbly. No background music, simple storyline but a very good one.

James Franco's performance is soooo good and he looks and sounds gorgeous as always. Brenda Blethyn maybe a little over the top with her accent but on the whole all of the cast are great.

Very enjoyable, adult viewing. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it, do not click purchase, 19 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Michael Kay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sonny [DVD] (DVD)
I fancy the hell out of James Franco and even thought that I could watch him read the yellow pages and find it entertaining. I was wrong. This film is terrible, bland and miserable story and Brenda Blethyn who I normally love in movies is so terrible in this, over acting in every scene and seemingly forgetting what accent she is supposed to be doing. Only gave it the one star cos the DVD didnt flicker or jump, was feeling generous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Saved by Franco, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonny [DVD] (DVD)
Poor storyline but always a treat to watch James Franco at work. His performance is the only reason I went for 3 stars..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars NO English Subtitles, 14 Feb 2013
By 
C. Waddams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sonny [DVD] (DVD)
Although not stated above, the box states that it has English Subtitles which is incorrect as there are no subtitles option on the DVD itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Erotic, 8 Feb 2010
By 
Ric 1912 (Aberdeen Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sonny [DVD] (DVD)
James Franco plays an ex soldier returning home after a life in the Army. In the past his life revolved around the porn industry, where his mother was a whore house mistress, who groomed her son to be the best male escort possible. On his return he is adamant he will not return to that way of life, despite his mothers wishes, and has a promise to go into business with an ex-army mate, his opportunity to start a new life. Interesting plot and storyline, with many twists and erotic scenes of a sexual nature, very tastefully portrayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 19 Jan 2010
By 
Ric 1912 (Aberdeen Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
Ex-male hussler returns from the Army in the hope of rebuilding a different life. Unfortunately life is never like we dream, this film follows his life, with glimpses of his past, his dreams and is cleverly interwoven around the escort lifestyle. James Franco portrays this part amazingly, totally buff and not afraid to show it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars whaaaaaaaaat, 8 Mar 2013
By 
J. Andrews "johnny zombie" (portsmouth, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sonny [DVD] (DVD)
Ok I haven't seen this film, but one thing you got to take into account if you are a fan is Nicolas Cage is behind the camera directing this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

Sonny [DVD]
Sonny [DVD] by Nicolas Cage (DVD - 2004)
4.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews