Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Series 4 In Review
Any Auf Wiedersehen Pet fan will tell you that this series was actually pencilled in long ago to be series three but never came to be after the death of Gary Holton (Wayne). Anyway, enough of the history lesson. The latest series throw's all six remaining cast members and Wyman back together for a job in Cuba where they have undertaken the task of rebuilding the British...
Published on 12 Feb. 2004

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Series - Scratched Disc So I Can't Watch It All
Item arrived promptly but one disc was scratched and I cannot play over 30 minutes of one episode - it just skips.
Published 26 days ago by Dwight Schrute


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Series 4 In Review, 12 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Any Auf Wiedersehen Pet fan will tell you that this series was actually pencilled in long ago to be series three but never came to be after the death of Gary Holton (Wayne). Anyway, enough of the history lesson. The latest series throw's all six remaining cast members and Wyman back together for a job in Cuba where they have undertaken the task of rebuilding the British Embassy.
Everything again is here, the humour and the on going story of men trying to earn an honest living but this series has a great deal of character development. Wyman begin's to follow in his fathers footsteps of being a player, Oz discovers love in the most unlikely of places and Neville jumps into the shoes of Pierce Brosnan by becoming a spy. In fairness there is a few hilarious moments and Moxey's one liners are a giggle but the show is let down by the number of episodes.
Don't get me wrong this series was great and in my opinion outshone the last but with the gang not getting any younger and the more recent series' being scaled down to just six episodes things feel a little cramped. If you're a fan of British comedy then this is ideal, more so if you already own the previous three installments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The lads are living all right in Cuba, 6 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The second revival series doesn't work as well as the previous one did, but there's still plenty of fun to be had. Unlike the previous outing, they don't have a major project to accomplish; they have to refurbish a house and that plays almost no part in the stories. This means the series is more like the very first in that without a major project, the series centres on the lives of the main characters.

Some of those strands work better than others do. Oz in love isn't convincing as Jimmy Nail can't sell that one. Dennis getting his life in order is fine and Neville in the secret service becoming double nought geordie is a hoot. Moxie and Bomber have little to do, the latter clearly through ill-health. And the story has to keep on providing reasons for Barry to not be there, also I think through ill-health at the time.

Even with some strands working and some not, the series still has plenty of moments to enjoy, largely through the great attention to detail. The setting and sets are all brilliantly done and even if it wasn't filmed in Cuba, it still feels like they're there.

Even the camera work is quite artful. At one stage we do a pan of the street that's very Touch of Evil. This is followed by a shot of a multi-storey building in which the couple in the window of the bottom storey are arguing and the couple on the top storey are kissing. Ten minutes later the camera pans back down the building and now the top couple are arguing and the bottom are kissing. It's that sort of attention to detail that shows the makers cared and wanted to make a quality product, and it makes you care about the series too.

Sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cuba love it, 11 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
the lads are back together and doing what they do best.
Den is the gaffer barking out orders but demanding respect from the lads and getting it because he is always fair,
Neville is still complaining but missing Brenda (who seems to have her own career) much less than he used to and acting as a poor mans James Bond,
Oz has actually become someone a girl would like to go out with having got rid of those grey pants and bags the lovely ballerina,
Moxey has a better part then usual and gives us some great one liners, Waynes son is a chip of the old block with regard to ladies and his mum is just a great character,
Bomber is looking a bit tired but still love his unique way of talking in the 3rd person,
But the best performance comes from Barry who just doesn't have much luck in this series.

If you are a fan of AufPet then this is a must and I just loved the filming of the beautiful Cuba - in fact it has made me want to visit the place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boys in cuba!, 13 July 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This new series set in cuba is a fantastic piece of writing showing the well known lads in a new light.Jimmy Nails' character falls for a beautiful ballerina and Tim Healys' Dennis falls for Wymans mum!! It has all the humour and tragedy that you'd expect when you put these guys together.And as for Nevilles 'spy' persona well its hilarious.Any fans of this on going series will love. it And we all look forward to many more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classical quality., 3 July 2009
By 
David W. Ewing "sam varden" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
In the history of television the term'classic' is used on a regular basis for all types of programmes but in reality there are a very limited selection of programmes that come into this reference. From the moment it came onto the screens in the early eighties this series has been outstanding and the quality of the writing, acting and storylines have been of the highest calibre. The only blot was the last one which was poor in all aspects but this does not retract from the previous series.
I would highly reccomend that people who had not seen the programme from the beginning should get hold of them and treat themselves to many hours of quality entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relive the 80's, 9 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. L. Allen "Movie fan" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Ah the boys are back again, this dvd was just to get me into set of the lads , the cowboy builders that tickled us all in the 1980's with their humour and antics while trying to earn a crust and be good britts abroad, of cause it all goes tits up evey episode still makes me smile when i sit and watch it, this has got to be one of all time tv greats that will live on in our live forever, as no matter who what or how old we are and get we all would have at some point wanted to be there working away from home away from good old blighty, knowing we would return home with that pot of gold hahahaha obviously the boys here never got the gold much but the laughter and the one liners make this a good old classic any day,
I am a fan of Jimmy nailes songs too, i love to see tim spahl in other sittuations as here he is bumbling barry but he can also be very serious as he was in the Last Samuri alonf side Tom Cruise, Denis Healy he has had a decent career pitty that young holt died of the drug od back then, and look how far bomber went having made some all time greats in his time playing villians and heros (may he rest in piece) now sadly gone, the lads all bar a couple have followed onto greater things like Kevin Whately famous for lewis the spin of from inspector morse, well don elasd keeping us entertained in all aspects of your careers....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all fans, 25 Mar. 2009
By 
Michael Coughlan (Waterford Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
At first I feared the plot was a little far fetched, but when I started
watching I soon realised the script was as good as ever, as of course were the characters and the storylines.
I would strongly recommend the special episode that follows this also, to anyone who has watched it all this far. That is the one in Laos, a brilliant finish to the whole Auf Wiedersehen series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 July 2009
By 
J. Jones (Dudley, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I've just finished watching, I've laughed, cried and cringed. What a fabulous series, a refreshing change from boring TV. I know the cast are all getting on a bit now but I wish they'd make another series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sentimental Journey, 14 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
There's not much more to add to the majority of the excellent reviews on here.
For my part, the Auf Wiedersehen Pet family have created such wonderful identifiable 'human' characters, that are interminably taking one step forward and two steps back.
We can identify with them, we root for them, we laugh out loud at their many fraught situations and sarcastic verbal exchanges, and our hearts feel sadness as adversity bites hard into their hopes and dreams.
We mourned the loss of Wayne and Bomber and yet, despite what Jimmy Nail saying it was the end after Pat Roache's deeply sad death, their is still more life in a possible future series. The quality of writing and of the remaining acting Auf Wiedersehen family is such that it's legacy would be enhanced rather than harmed.
Yes, we are all getting older but so what? Come on BBC and the Auf Wiedersehen team. Get together and bring back one of our most iconic,world-class dramas back to our screens. If not the BBC then someone.....anyone in TV land get your finger out and give what millions want. Auf Wiedersehen Pet !!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy Drama, 31 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The first series of Auf Wiedersehen Pet, set in Dusseldorf, is the absolute classic. But any serious fan of this series has to purchase the whole lot. Series four is set in Cuba (actually filmed in the Dominican Republic) and the lads are up to their old tricks of drinking and womanising. A little silly by casting Neville (Kevin Whately) as an unlikely Spy, but good none the less. Sadly it was to be Pat Roach's last, as he died soon after. The spirit of the 'Magnificent seven' is still here. Although the presence of Gary Holton could never be replaced, Wyeman (Noele Clarke) as Waynes (Gary Holton) Son is a good second best. Well worth purchasing. The magic is still there to some degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Auf Wiedersehen Pet - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2004]
£5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews