Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great return
The first studioalbum with the third Stranglers line up is indeed a real treat. In the last five years only a live album (5 Live 01) and a great semi-acoustic album with highlights of their career (Laid Black)were released, not to mention a load of compilations but now it's time for the real thing.
I must say it's the best album they did for many many years. Baz...
Published on 26 Jan. 2004

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a start!
So here we have Norfolk Coast. Five years after Coup De Grace and fourteen years after the Hughsters infamous departure.
In the night was dismal, About Time sounded dated, Written In Red was so unbelieveably flawed and Coup De Grace was as close as the stranglers with John Ellis ever came as to writing good songs, In The End and The Light confirmed this.
So...
Published on 19 Feb. 2004 by Adam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great return, 26 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Norfolk Coast (Audio CD)
The first studioalbum with the third Stranglers line up is indeed a real treat. In the last five years only a live album (5 Live 01) and a great semi-acoustic album with highlights of their career (Laid Black)were released, not to mention a load of compilations but now it's time for the real thing.
I must say it's the best album they did for many many years. Baz Warne's guitar riffs are powerful, Dave Graanfield's keys are back going all over the place and JJ's bass hasn't been recorded this good since god knows how long.
The songs are a very good mix of hardhitting rock with pop-sensibility (Big Thing Coming, Norfolk Coast), jazzy romantic (Sanfte Kuss, Dutch Moon) and haunting atomospheric (Tuckers Grave). I must say there are one or two songs that i'm not too fond of (I don't agree, Lost Control) since they are ok rocky songs but lack the special feel the other songs give me but overall: great album that shows the Stranglers are still one of the greatest bands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best band on Earth return to form, 18 Feb. 2004
By 
Tim (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norfolk Coast (Audio CD)
Its been a while since I've played a Stranglers album over and over again. Since this CD landed on my doorstep, 8am Tues 17th Feb, I've been playing it repeatedly.
It kicks off with a stomping bass, (c) JJ Burnel 2004, kicking title track, Norfolk Coast that is intertwined with the ace guitar licks of Baz Warne, the mighty organ of Dave Greenfield and the artisan rock solid drums of Jet Black.
This is the first album with Paul Roberts that I've enjoyed listening to his singing. The "new" boy done good. Take Big Thing Coming for example, not only is this an excellent track but Mr Roberts gives us a good aural message.
Ok, it was heartbreaking following the departure of Huge Cornball, but now its the 14th year since and I'm beginning not to miss him in the Stranglers and instead quite enjoy his solo albums Guilty and Hi-Fi.
Anyone who moans about the Stranglers sounding like the Stranglers really needs to ask themselves, "why?"
Long live the Stranglers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return Of The Meninblack, 12 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Norfolk Coast (Audio CD)
Previous years studio releases from ageing new wave rockers, The Stranglers, have failed to live up to expectations. The group had struggled to capture the tunesmithery and punky sneer of years gone by but at last have produced an album which bucks that trend.
'Norfolk Coast' is a return to the party for an oddball group, shunned by the music establishment for being "too different" and ignored by the punks for being too old. The usual philosophy being that if it can't be pigeon-holed then it ain't worth talking about, but hopefully justice will prevail following this exceptional release from the group.
From the supercharged atmospheric title track to the last, 'Norfolk Coast' is a mazy trip through suicide, alienation in the city, the occult and second comings, all set to that classic Stranglers sound of rasping bass, barmy telecaster twangs and bubbling, hypnotic keyboards. The haunting album cover conjures up images of forbidden medieval rituals along the Norfolk Coast at dawn resplendant with the Stranglers in traditional black garb, staring sinisterly into camera. All in all, a pretty complimentary cover shot, indicative of the music contained within.

Within this album, all those great Stranglers hallmarks are indulged once again, shifted along by their tongue-in-cheek sardonic lead singer of 14 years, Paul Roberts. This album is the one which should see many detractors of the band eat their scornful words following Hugh Cornwell's abrupt departure way back in the summer of 1990 after 16 years service.
'Norfolk Coast' deserves more recognition that it's likely to get from the Stalinist music media but being perhaps the only real mavericks remaining in an industry spoiled by hype and gimmickery, The Stranglers can take comfort in knowing they finally scored the last minute clincher before the full time whistle was blown. Dig out your Doc Martens and pogo to the rejuvenated sound of The Stranglers as it's been long overdue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vive la Stranglers, 1 Mar. 2004
By 
Craig R. Hodge "horrible_hodge" (Penicuik Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Norfolk Coast (Audio CD)
After Mr Cornwell left the Stranglers I vowed never to buy another Stranglers Album. Oh I’ve listened to the others, never bought though. The Norfolk Coast has broken that vow & how! Okay there are stolen keyboard riffs from Heroes. Rattus & Raven. But I have to say this is possibly the best album they have released since The Raven. Dave Greenfield is back on top form on his magnificent swirling organ. Mr Burnell’s bass curls your toes & makes you want to mimic his famous dance style. Which can be a bit disturbing to my work colleagues. To anyone who like me had the view that when Hugh left they were no longer worth listening to. Go on get your card out & buy it, you’ll not be disappointed. Personally I thought their Golden hour was from Heroes to the Raven. But this album truly shows that the lads are back. All be it in the third reincarnation. Yes the Stranglers were dead, but now we can surely say Long Live The Stranglers! Vive la Stranglers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Coming?, 18 Feb. 2004
By 
Mike (Market Harborough, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Norfolk Coast (Audio CD)
I have listened, as you always do, to Norfolk Coast constantly since it's release in the car at home at work.
The song writing as you would expect is as varied as ever with JJ providing some of his best lyrics and bass playing for a long time. Baz has provided what Baz will always provide solid song writing and guitar playing made to sound easy. Dave and Jet have returned, and returning isn't a naughty word, to what all Stranglers enthusiasts - we can't really be fans we are all too old - have wanted a Stranglers feel. Paul continues to impress with vocals that have an increased depth and range to what we have previously been accustomed.
The songs themselves have a definite Stranglers MK1 feel about them but why shouldn't they - REM, Travis, Stereophonics all write songs that have a distinctive sound that instantly identifies the band and they receive critical acclaim - yet they do encapture all the great things about the existing line up a feel of 21st century . What would have, in the days of vinyl, been the first side Norfolk Coast through to Dutch Moon are as good a collection of songs as you would find on any album, if the aforementioned Travis had written Big Thing it would have made top 10 as it would have received air play. The second side isn't as good as the first, but it would have had to be something very special to do so,it does contain musical turns that show the band being confident to play what they want. To put it into perspective the second side contains contains Tuckers Grave and Mine all Mine which have both been aired live and received rave reviews from those who have heard them and along with title track they are the reason why we all got excited in the first place!
The Stranglers have never released an album full of perfect tracks that we all want to hear over and over again there has always been experimentation, deviation and contention over the best tracks - Norfolk Coast is in that category.
With fourteen studio albums before this one you could cherry pick tracks off all of them that in isolation are equal/better than those on offer on Norfolk Coast, it would prove more difficult however to pick a better collection of songs.
The only problem with Norfolk Coast is that it leaves you wanting more.
We are such a demanding bunch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Return To Form, 17 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Norfolk Coast (Audio CD)
If you've never heard them, or heard of them, then this would be an excellent starting point to catch up on over 2 decades of excellent music! From the thumping opener & title track, Norfolk Coast, to the final swirl of Mine All Mine, this album is packed full of class. It isn't just for Stranglers fans, who would listen to Jet Black flushing a toilet in key, but it is so musically diverse & yet complete that it will appeal to anyone, aged 14 to 40. Lyrically superior to many recent efforts (check out Long Black Veil, for example) & driven by music that is as crisp & clear in its production as in its conception; this is not an album simply produced by battle-hardened, consummate & seasoned professionals out to sell some records to try & top up their retirement fund, this is an album filled with passion & fire, warmth & humour. Norfolk Coast is as big an opening number as any gone before, with the very welcome return of JJ's Bass up in the mix along with Dave's manic yet melodic keyboards & the mood continues in the same vain with Big Thing Coming - a song as bombastic in its delivery as its title suggests. Long Black Veil follows, a sombre tale of love lost, delivering a fine musically ensemble, but it's the lyrics that get you - they're both poignant and clever, praise not often heard with regards to The Stranglers! On to I've Been Wild...look, I could go through every track & praise it with the passion that being a Stranglers fan of many years can only bring, but don't take my word for it - go get it & be VERY surprised. This is not, believe me, what you were expecting. This not old, it's not stale; it's quite simply a superb album that should rank alongside any of today's 'cream of the crop' efforts. Give it credit, the critics have - Jet, Dave, JJ, Paul & Baz, all credit to you. This is the album we've been waiting for - you should all be proud of this effort, as I'm sure you are, but we're proud too. We’ve always had faith in you, & you've repaid us in spades! Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Time Coming..., 21 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Norfolk Coast (Audio CD)
Well, this has got to be the greatest album from The Stranglers since "The Raven". We're back to the early days of Dave Greenfield's swirling keyboards, J.J. Burnel's throbbing bass, Jet Black's fantastic drumming and on top of it all, Paul Roberts' vocals are the greatest they've ever been! The newest addition of Baz Warne on guitar is VERY welcome - it's makes a full house. "Norfolk Coast", the opening track makes a brilliant intro; tracks like "Big Thing Coming", "Lost Control" and "Into the Fire" bring back the early days of the band. Boys, you still got it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fingers out at last !!, 19 Feb. 2004
By 
This review is from: Norfolk Coast (Audio CD)
Much criticised for lack of creativity, or quality since Hugh did a runner, (how easily people forget that the last Hugh influenced album '10' fell way short of their usual standards !) Norfolk Coast is a much needed return to form for the meninblack !
Not perfect by any means .. and at times Paul Roberts vocals can be irritating, I wish he would just sing with out the affected voice... but minor gripe, there are glimpses of him sounding even Hughlike on a couple of tracks. I'd still prefer JJ to share some of the lead vocal duties, especially on tracks he's written from the heart.
The title Norfolk Coast along with Into The Fire, Long Black Veil, I Don't Agree, Dutch Moon & Tuckers Grave are the stand out tracks and should prove intriguing additions to the live set.
Over the years the Stranglers have tried many styles but the grumbling lead bass sound with keyboards floating in and out is their trademark and why shouldn't they return to what they do best.
Overrall a 4 rating and if EMI do their job there's no reason why they can't break new ground & audience with this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!, 13 Feb. 2004
By 
Lowie's Girl (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Norfolk Coast (Audio CD)
This is what real music is all about!! Melodic yet Beat Quenching. Good to see sounds produced in "Big Thing Coming" are not a thing of the past. Can't wait to hear the rest of the album (16th Feb) and see the renewed "Men In Black" in action again on their tour, promoting probably the best music I've heard for a while? Fingers Crossed it'll wake up the nowadays "pop purchasers" and scale the top of the charts where the Stranglers so obviously deserve to be. See you in the Acadamy Party!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the bass is back, 22 Jan. 2005
By 
JOHN (GLASGOW,SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Norfolk Coast (Audio CD)
After 14 years of ok albums the ultimate mark 2 album has arrived.Pop this shiny little beauty in yer CD player and check out the bass in the opening track,welcome back JJ.
Forget the ghost of Hugh,remember him him fondly but this is Pauls signature album and let us not forget Baz listen to his jaunty Cornwell like guitar work throughout.But word of mention has to go to Jet and Dave,Jets certainly puts in a shift on this album-for a man of his advancing years it is nothing short of remarkable,and perhaps a buspass.
To pick a standout song is indeed hard Big Thing Coming? who knows just buy it,and exorcise the ghost of Hugh once and for all. You can do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Norfolk Coast
Norfolk Coast by Stranglers (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews