Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mass-audience-appeal animation of utmost skill & quality!
I first viewed Allegro non Troppo in film school...it was introduced as an "Italian Fantasia". After viewing it I realized such a comparison didn't give it due credit for its originality: that such sophisticated animation is accompanied by classical music is the beginning and end of the comparison -- and it was unique for its time, intercutting live action with animated...
Published on 31 Oct 2002 by clsd

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dated?
Ok, so it's been around 30 years since I last watched this film and apart from the infamous Bolero sequence is quite forgettable. For a film that relies on sound as much as the visuals, I was not impressed by the tinny soundtrack included here (is it just me or can an echo be heard on the soundtrack, maybe due to the 5.1 remix not being implemented as well as it could...
Published 16 months ago by Mr Honest UK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mass-audience-appeal animation of utmost skill & quality!, 31 Oct 2002
I first viewed Allegro non Troppo in film school...it was introduced as an "Italian Fantasia". After viewing it I realized such a comparison didn't give it due credit for its originality: that such sophisticated animation is accompanied by classical music is the beginning and end of the comparison -- and it was unique for its time, intercutting live action with animated sequences.
The subject matter is not the lollipops and roses of Fantasia: some of the animation shorts effectively focus on somber and dreary post-WWII Europe, while some lighter sections of both the animation and live-action are hilariously comic. Therefore I would suggest parental viewing prior to permitting very young children viewing the film in its entirety. Some of the most entertaining live-action features the director dealing with the film's musicians, an orchestra of "vintage" ladies...if you appreciated the cinematography of Roberto Benigni's "Life is Beautiful", you should enjoy Allegro again and again...I have purchased several copies for friends' birthdays, etc. It has been off the market for several years, and this is the first time I have been able to purchase it outside the USA. Happy viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Allegro - Yes!, 1 Aug 2005
By 
P. J. Nery (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must have watched this film at least 10 times when I was in university. Fortunately it played often at the local Rep theather. It really does propel you with its magical animations set to some of the greatest classical tracks of all time. And the sheer irreverance and playfulness of the live action 'plot' that ties them together is excellent fun. This film is much more grown up than the (also excellent) Fantasia to which it is so often compared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Allegro Not Fantasia!, 27 Jan 2007
By 
J. E. Roberts "beetroot2000" (England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allegro Non Troppo [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film on Channel Four many years ago in 1992 and was won over instantly by the brilliant choice of music and style of animation. I can't believe it has never been repeated to my knowledge and along with Rene Laloux's "Time Masters" is one of my favourite feature length animated films. The Ravel's Bolero sequence is breathtaking and still sticks in my mind as one of the best I've ever seen. I have sadly only ever seen the film once and am very keen to get it on DVD so let's hope they reel off on new batch soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sotto-valutato, 20 Oct 2010
By 
DB "davidbirkett" (Co. Kildare, Ireland (but born & raised Liverpool, UK)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why is this delightful little film so difficult to get hold of? For a long time the VHS could only be obtained second hand (which is still the case of course) and there was no DVD. It has now been released on DVD, but the Region 2 version is unobtainable. Scandalous!

If you do finally manage to lay your hands on a copy then look out for the Bolero/dinosaurs parody of the "Rite of Spring" bit in "Fantasia", the "L'Apres-Midi d'un Faune" opening and the anti-fascist piece. When I first saw the film on telly I didn't make a note of what the music was to this bit. It was one of those whistle-along tunes that almost everybody recognises, but nobody knows what it is. On a second viewing I spotted that it was one of the "Slavonic Dances" by Dvorak, so I ran off to buy a CD - and it wasn't on it! He actually wrote two sets of Slavonic Dances. Finally, after some serious searching on i-Tunes, I found it. To save others the trouble it's Opus 46, No. 7, in C-minor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 15 April 2014
By 
C. L. Hatfield (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegro Non Troppo (DVD)
A parody of Fantasia whose quality stands on its own merit. I have purchased this film for several other people of all ages along the years. Seller packaged it weel for posting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cinema animation classic, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegro Non Troppo (DVD)
I first saw Allegro Non Troppo at a foreign film festival in Adelaide Australia, (where we live), in 1979. It continued to run for months. It is easy to understand why. It is quite simply a beautifully made movie. It may have intended to be a parody of Disney's Fantasia, but that is where it stops. The live action segments are very comical, but may be a bit dated now. The animation segments set against the beautiful classical music are as wonder and relevant today as when first made over 40 years ago. The hand painted cells are wonderful and beautiful, making some of todays CGI animation looking sad and crude. From the witty caveman sequence to the tearful cat remembering the ghosts of the abandon house it once lived in. You will shed a tear.
Even if you are not that keen on animation or classical music, or are new to these, this film is the perfect choice, you won't be disappointed. You don't need to speak english or italian to understand it, it crosses all languages.
I have had this on video for 20 years and just got the restored version, (red cover with coke bottle), on DVD. I understand this is the best version, and I believe it is. I love this film.
So, do yourself a favour and add this to your film library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great classic movie, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegro Non Troppo (DVD)
This is a great movie, somewhat a parody of Disney's Fantasia. It is a bit more sophisticated and a bit cheeky - it still is full of cartoons on the background of classical music, but there are no brutal mice chasing cats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars remember this from years ago, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegro Non Troppo (DVD)
never thought i would see it again, jumped at the chance to have a copy on dvd, a joy to watch and listen to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an irriverent and humorous play on Fantasia, 8 Dec 2010
This review is from: Allegro Non Troppo [DVD] (DVD)
A direct allusion to Walt Disney's Fantasia is at the heart of this very humorous and enjoyable film, which plays on the idea of an animation film with classical music with very interesting results. A feast for eyes and ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre and beautiful, 30 Mar 2014
By 
John Stevens "fenderman" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegro Non Troppo (DVD)
I have waited twenty years to see this film again having seen it on the BBC. The cartoon parts are both visually brilliant and thought provoking. The 'Bolero' march is as much a comment on man's inhumanity to man through evolution as any politcal rhetoric. Think invasion, dispossesion, religious conflict and you get near the message or perhaps there is none. Your call!. The real life interludes involving a geriatric women's orchestra kept locked up and relased only to play for a sadistic conductor is truly bizarre. Surely Italian humour surpasses understanding and thus raises it to an art form in the same way that Monty Python transformed radical humourous thought. Or didn't your call!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Allegro Non Troppo [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 39.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews