Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tenon with Golden Voice
Calleja has a beautiful voice and his singing is full of energy and passion. His notes are unified throughout the register though it can be said that his lower-middle register is already at its best (in spite of the tenor's young age) and can reach a gritty finish when on the top notes (but anyway high C's and D's are always welcome in whatever shade they come in). The...
Published on 14 July 2004

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Tenor Arias, Joseph Calleja
I watched the Last Night of the Proms and thought he had a good voice but he's a 'lightweight' when compared to Pavarotti or
Jonas Kaufman.
Published 13 months ago by Mr Maurice Southwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tenon with Golden Voice, 14 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Tenor Arias (Audio CD)
Calleja has a beautiful voice and his singing is full of energy and passion. His notes are unified throughout the register though it can be said that his lower-middle register is already at its best (in spite of the tenor's young age) and can reach a gritty finish when on the top notes (but anyway high C's and D's are always welcome in whatever shade they come in). The warmth of Calleja's tone is admirable and unique when compared to the number of contemporary tenors, though musically correct, lack any feeling and just sing the notes. Having said that Joseph Calleja may have a surplus of feeling at times reminding the keen listener of the 'old age tenor' style (with all the long notes, higher interpoltions and exagerated histrionics). I'm excited to hear more of Joseph Calleja but would also like him to continue in his italinated verve but showing more fidelity to the composers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine performance, a brilliant future., 17 Oct 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tenor Arias (Audio CD)
This CD, which I have played repeatedly, more than confirms that here we have a voice that echoes from an age that one thought had passed for ever. Although one is reminded of the younger Pavarotti here and there, the sheer elegance of his voice is more reminiscent of Gigli and Ferruccio Tagliavini, whom I am sure he has also studied, although one senses a strong individuality throughout.
His fast vibrato may sound a little old fashioned on first hearing but he uses it to perfection in the Macbeth and Lucia arias, where it serves to communicate a profound sense of loss and inner grief, nor does it disturb the legato line, for instance in the superb "Quanto e Bella". He can also be extremely nimble, carelessly throwing off his phrases in "Questa o quella" as if to the manner born. Elsewhere one notices a rock steady middle register coupled with a seemingly effortless control of dynamics and skill in phrasing, with a baritonal quality which should develop as he progresses. And all this from a man of only 26, who actually sang Macduff at the tender age of 19!
One can only hope that he will provide us with more recordings over the coming months, perhaps drawing on the operas of Bellini, Donizetti and Massanet, where his voice truly belongs. Dare one hope also for the songs of Tosti, Bellini and Donizetti?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising Performance, 12 April 2004
This review is from: Tenor Arias (Audio CD)
The sheer power and beauty of Calleja's voice is astonishing. In each number,the young tenor demonstrates his versatility as a lyric tenor - a virile Italiante tone. My favourite track is 'Quanto e` bella' from L'Elisir d'amore , where Nemorino declares his love for Adina. Riccardo Chailly conducts the Orchestra Sinfonica with great sensitivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A developing talent with huge potential, 17 Dec 2006
This review is from: Tenor Arias (Audio CD)
I brought this CD following a Rosenblatt recital that I attended in Feruary 2005. Joseph was very ably accompanied by Vincenzo Scalera on the night.

The voice is great, it's not bel canto nor is it heroic in the Alagna sense but has a unique quality that given time to develop will ensure that Mr Calleja becomes, and more importantly remains, instantly recognisable.

Buy this one with confidence - it's a great listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real star of opera, 11 Sep 2012
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tenor Arias (Audio CD)
I came to Joseph Calleja through his Maltese Tenor album which I enjoyed very much. It was not until his newest album in tribute to Mario Lanza, that I came back to listen to him again. At the time of this recording his voice was already of such a high standard and an indication of the great things to come (provided he looks after his voice)

Perhaps you recently saw him on the last night of the Proms and are looking for a good album of Calleja's to listen to. You will not be disappointed with this one although I would recommend buying all of his current albums as they all offer an insight into a Tenor who not only compares with the best of today's offerings but also reminds me of the greats of the past, Del Monaco in particular.

A great singer with a tremendous talent and a personality to match. I believe he has the potential to be the greatest singer of his generation. Kaufmann is my current favourite but Calleja is so very close and of course Calleja is about 9 or 10 years younger than Kaufmann.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World's Greatest Tenor Bar None., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tenor Arias (Audio CD)
This man has, quite simply, the most beautiful lyric/dramatic tenor of this or any other generation. The only comparable tenor is the great Jussi Bjorling. A brilliant choice of arias that display his voice wonderfully as an untouchable instrument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice, 1 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tenor Arias (Audio CD)
Joseph Calleja is one of the most beautiful tenor voices of today. We had the chance to listen to him live in Covent Garden's Traviata with Fleming and Hampson. Nevertheless, we believe Mr. Calleja should look for coaching with an excellent teacher in order to perfect some minor technical issues and especially interpretation (style). Some interpretative liberties can spoil what otherwise would be truly marvellous moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Jun 2014
This review is from: Tenor Arias (Audio CD)
.We purchased Joseph Calleja's "Teno Arias" after seeing him recently in concert at the South Bank Centre and were delighted with his performance. His range and depth of voice is incredible, which I'm sure will only get richer with age, as he is still a young man. A wonderful experience that reminded me of seeing a young Pavarotti many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful velvet voice, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tenor Arias (Audio CD)
I love this CD which is full of great tenor arias, sung with real feeling and by a tenor with a truly beautiful voice. I could start writing in more detail, but for me the most important question I always ask myself is "does it move me and will I want to listen to it again?" It does both for me, as I believe it will if you enjoy this kind of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Vioce, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tenor Arias (Audio CD)
Not the standard arias most expected. But excellent choice of material. Looking forward to seeing him in concert in April.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tenor Arias
Tenor Arias by Joseph Calleja (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews