Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars20
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 February 2004
After a long time waiting(12 years!!)and much anticipation, I was afraid I could be disappointed by this brand new release from the old boys of thrash. I'm glad to say any thoughts of an anti-climax were immediately consigned to the bin.
From the off, this cd sweeps over you in a tidal wave of intensity that can only be created by a band that is angry, p***ed-off and with a big point to prove.
The point being, is that thrash is back on the menu and Exodus are providing the main course, while bands such as Metallica are unable to provide elevenses.
The guitar work is of the most clinical and high calibur you could ever wish to hear in the world of metal today, whether it is the machine gun pace of the opener 'scar spangled banner' or the mid-tempo riffing of 'throwing down'.
The rhythm guitars are constantly a full-on thrash assault, certainly not for the weak hearted. The lead solos are weaved cunningly with precision at break neck pace by messrs holt/hunolt, backed up by ultra accurate bass pedal juggling of tom hunting and the sweeping undertow of the pulsating bass guitar threads provided by Jack Gibson (yes, bass lines are very audible on this disc).
Steve Souza sounds like a man possessed and provides his best vocals to date. His usual thrash growls remain, but he seems more angry, more eager to squeeze every ounce of meaning from the sometimes very strong and contentious subject matter. These subjects range from anti-war, anti-christianity, wife battery and the culling of 'the scum of the human race'.
I'm sure that Exodus will gain many new friends and also many new enemies with this latest release. But it must be said that they they have integrity and do what they believe in, which is more than can be said for many bands who are all to eager to join the latest band-wagons and trends.
Conlusion: This cd is a must have for all thrash metal fans. There is no selling out here, just good friendly violent fun.
Welcome home Exodus!!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2004
If you are already an Exodus fan then this album may soon rate as a classic. With excellent production from Andy Sneap everything about this CD sounds right. All the classic Exodus trademarks are there. Souza's snarling vocals, monster riffs and dualling solos from the H-Team. Tom Hunting's drums seem to be the best surprise as he sounds better than on any previous recording.
The songs all hit with a punch. This really is the tempo for the damned. Lyrics seem to reflect all the bad things happening in the world right now. The rhythms and melodies are catchy and memorable so that you never get bored with any of the songs. For me the highlight of any Exodus song are the solos. On this album both guitarists do not disapoint. Each solo is well structured and sound awesome!!!
Adding a reworked old song 'Impaler' is a nice touch- it brought back memories of thrash in the 80's. The AC/DC cover appears to be an add on but shows Exodus still have a sense of humour.
As for the new stuff imagine all the good things about any Exodus album combined with a crunch and the production values you would expect from a 2004 release. Excellent.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After a huge absence from the music business, a failed reunion and the death of original singer Paul Baloff, Exodus returned with all guns blazing and ready to recapture lost ground. When I heard about this album, I never believed that it would or indeed could be a pure and true classic thrash album but, as weird as it sounded at the time before the current Thrash revival truly gained a grip, it actually was. Tempo Of The Damned was bay area thrash through and through.
This album is utterly fantastic, and sounds almost as if it was written and recorded right after 'Fabulous Disaster,' but with all the benefits of modern recording technology. Ignoring the trends, Exodus soldier on like its 1989 and unleash some of the best riffs and catchy thrash tunes ever, something of an anomaly (if not miracle) at the time of its release. Songs like the incredible 'Shroud of Urine,'the semi-epic 'Culling the Herd,' and the now classic 'Blacklist,' are 100% Exodus, with riffs and grooves as great as anything from their 80's albums.
There is one modern sounding song on the album, the very catchy 'War is My Shepard,' but it is such a fantastic song it is bound to convert even the most nitpicking Thrash purist. The song, along with 'Impaler,' serves almost as a warm up to the style the band would develop on their incredible Dukes/Atlus albums.
Yes, the cover artwork is stupid but so was Exodus cover. Some people criticize the production but again, all their 80's albums had production flaws and this just helps to justify my claims that Tempo Of The Damned is utter classic Exodus.
To an Exodus fan, Tempo' is a perfect way to bridge the new era with the old, the farewell performace of Zetro is a career highlight and this is also the final album which can use the term 'the H-team,' for the guitarists who similarly down awesome performances.
The album is a worthy addition to your collection for curiosity and historical significance alone, but it really gets by on its own merits too, this is just a great album and I can't recommend it enough.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2004
You know when you buy a new album, you get home and play it, and you know straight away that it will get a regular airing in your cd player, for years to come? This is one of those. It's raw. It's Crunchy. Thrash at it's best!
Highlight tracks would be 'Shroud Of Urine', I just love how the drums and bass intro into this track, then the guitars build up the atmosphere with a steady, headbanging rythem. The vocals come in, low and menacing, then break high into the chorus with the guitars mirroring the rise in pitch. The chorus is really catchy, it'll have you singing along for sure! It's quite a slow track by comparison, but ends with a great climax given by the double chorus.
'Sealed With A Fist' is just as catchy. It may be track 7, but it certainly is no filler! On this album, each and every track has it's worth, and this track is also one of my favourites. Track 9, 'Imapler', is the first track I heard from the album and is the reason i bought it. It reminds me more of something by Iced Earth; the riffs are a similar style at the beginning, then midway it breaks through to Exodus's territory. Pure thrash!
I love the vocals on this album. They are shouty and raw, yet you can understand perfectly what he is saying, which is why some of the choruses are so catchy on this album. It's a relief to me to be able to work out the lyrics without reading them!
I could go on about different tracks (Blacklist, War Is My Shepherd...), and all the different aspects about why this album is so good. But I'll just say that, if you like chunky, raw, headbanging thrash, you'l love this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
Vigorous comeback album from a very reliable bay-area thrash metal band. The always excellent Exodus, pull out all the stops here for a highly charged collection of aggressive and mandatory thrash attacks. Virtually undeniable modern classics from the likes of:- "Scar spangled banner, War is my sheppard, Blacklist and the title track" ram home some seriously convincing and effective thrash staples. Elsewhere, the entertaining "Forward march", the riffs fest of "Sealed with a fist" or the throttling "Throwing down" are also very notable highlights.

It's not all sublime stuff though, I still often find myself switching-off with the likes of "Shroud of urine" or the mind numingly average - "Culling the herd", but an encompassing- venomous and versatile quality prevails. There's no obvious shortage of riffs, destructive vocals or excellent lyrics. A topping of some cheesy artwork cover is a rather fitting tribute as the music goes, "all guns blazing" right from the start. It's almost a minor classic which thrash metal fans would likely not want to miss out on. Highly recommended!
66 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2004
EXODUS WERE ALWAYS MY FAVOURITE METAL BAND AND I SPENT AGES WISHING FOR A RE-FORMATION AFTER THEY CALLED IT A DAY AFTER THE 1992 ALBUM`FORCE OF HABIT`.IT CAME WITH `ANOTHER LESSON IN VIOLENCE` IN 97,A LIVE ALBUM WITH ORIGINAL VOCALIST PAUL BALOFF.WITH PAUL TRAGICALLY PASSING AWAY IN 2002,STEVE SOUSA IS BACK IN THE BAND AND HERE IT IS THE NEW STUDIO ALBUM.IT REALLY IS TREMENDOUS!THE RIFFS JUST SHRED YA FACE,THE DRUMS ARE INTENSE AND THE VOCALS ARE VENOMOUS.STAND OUT TRACKS FOR ME WOULD HAVE TO BE `SCAR SPANGLED BANNER`(BLISTERING),`SHROUD OF URINE`(LIKE AN ULTRA CHUGGING BLACK SABBATH)AND`THROWING DOWN`(GREAT GRINDING RIFF ON THIS ONE!)BUT THERE ARE NO AVERAGE TRACKS HERE,THE ALBUM SMOKES FROM START TO FINISH.THE GUITAR SOLOS ARE TRULY MEMORABLE THROUGHOUT AND IT REALLY IS EVERYTHING A GREAT METAL ALBUM SHOULD BE. BUY OR DIE!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
This is the Digi Pack version of the album with an AC/DC cover song "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap" as a bonus track. There is also an old Exodus track "Impaler" from the 1985 demo tapes that has been reworked to devastating effect. "Tempo of the Damned" is an amazing return to form for Exodus and is certainly welcome in my collection. If you love Exodus then you absolutely need this album in your collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2005
I bought this album after thinking back to all the classic Thrash albums of the late 80`s and early 90`s. I remember the old Exodus classics and decided to buy this on a whim.
WOAH!! One of the best Thrash albums I have ever heard. Without going into a song by song rundown, i will just say.... Fantastic riffs, great groove, great singing (not just shoutin/screamin) and SOLOS!!
Buy this CD, you wont be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2004
It's been 10 years since Exodus recorded their last studio album, now they are back with a fresh new sound that will seriously impress any present thrash metal fans and persuade the rest to give up everything else and start some serious headbanging.
If you won't a good excuse to completely destroy your head and neck this is the album for you, a serious recomendation for anyone of that persuasion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2004
it is good to see That older bands that we grew up with can still make the mark. Exodus have made an album that would not be out of place in they're hayday, but can still challenge the new breed of bands Emerging onto the scene. From start to Finish and outstanding thrash album, and well worth the money for a hardened metaler or a newcomer to the scene. Exodus can still thrash likes it's 1989!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)