Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic...
This CD is a remastering of the version issued in 1989 with the same track listing as here. The main protagonists of Justin Hayward and John Lodge were the first of the group to release an album following the Moody Blues' hiatus between 'Seventh Sojourn' and 'Octave' (the origin of the 'Blue Jays' title is hazy but there is the romantic notion that it was based on their...
Published on 23 Feb 2005 by V

versus
1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Autoripoff
The office of fair trading should look into this autorip, you are sending out sub standard discs and when they are returned you charge a higher price for the download version, this is wrong amazon.
Published 17 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic..., 23 Feb 2005
By 
V "moodswinger" (Tunbridge Wells, Kent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jays (Audio CD)
This CD is a remastering of the version issued in 1989 with the same track listing as here. The main protagonists of Justin Hayward and John Lodge were the first of the group to release an album following the Moody Blues' hiatus between 'Seventh Sojourn' and 'Octave' (the origin of the 'Blue Jays' title is hazy but there is the romantic notion that it was based on their membership of the group and that they shared the same first initials).
Every single track on the album is melodic, moody and mellifluous without being bombastic or saccharine. There is something different about each song but each has well-constructed melodies and simple harmonies with interesting choices of backing instruments (pipe organ and trumpets on 'Maybe' to a simple string quartet on 'Who Are You Now?' to the rocking guitar and piano on 'Saved by the Music') provided principally by Hayward and Lodge and ably assisted by members of groups signed to the Moodies' own Threshold label - Trapeze and Providence. With the Moodies' long-time producer, Tony Clarke, at the mixing desk, it is hardly surprising that this sounds like a Moody Blues album, although it is actually quite different in many respects.
The final track ('Blue Guitar') was a 1975 Top Ten single recorded at the Strawberry Studios (owned by Eric Stewart of 10cc) by Justin Hayward. Although Lodge doesn't play or sing on it, it was added to the canon under the Blue Jays project to capitalize on the album's success. It showcases Hayward's prowess as a guitarist and he emotes precisely the song's title on the instrument. Produced by Clarke and 10cc, it had 'When You Wake Up' as the B-side and stormed the charts.
Following this album, both Hayward and Lodge recorded solo albums ('Songwriter' and 'Natural Avenue' respectively) before reforming the Moody Blues for Octave. Since that time, there have been many songwriting collaborations between the two (e.g. 'Gemini Dream' on 'Long Distance Voyager'), which provide echoes of what they achieved here. A fantastic album that one never tires of listening too - several times in one sitting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Album that requires you listen!!, 15 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Jays (Audio CD)
Blue Jays has to be one of the most evocative and emotional peices of music ever. The whole sound, reminiscent of the Moody Blues, but somehow even richer, conjures up so much emotion that this is not a Cd you can have on in the background - it requires you listen to it! The harmonies that Justin Haywood and John Lodge form are so rich that you wonder how many voice overs they needed to make them - then you hear them live and know that they didn't! In some ways it's a shame they never did another duo cd....but then in some ways it isn't because this is the way I always want to hear them! Perhaps one day they'll do another live show of the whole album......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare treat, 16 Nov 2005
By 
ebatch "ebatch" (London - the centre of the world) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jays (Audio CD)
I'm in the process of replacing rarely played old vinyl with CD and had truly forgotten what a fantastic album this is. I concur with the earlier comments and would add that every track is memorable and familiar as if all of them had been hits.
I've also got The Very Best of The Moody Blues on CD and I'd say that Blue Jays, in spite of being a different animal, is easily superior and will get played far more frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Jays, 16 Jun 2006
By 
M. L. Fletcher (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Jays (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl when it first came out.I still have the original LP in mint condition.I love my LP's!!The only difference between the CD and the vinyl LP is that Blue Guitar was a welcome addition.I have all the Moody Blues albums, mainly on vinyl, but must admit Blue Jays is the only one where I enjoy every track. This has been one of my favourite albums for years and I still have it in my car CD player, though you really need to listen to it at home to appreciate all the different sounds and nuances on the disc.It is sad that Justin Haywood and John Lodge did not get together again to do a Blue Jays 2. To my mind this is a classic album, still fresh after 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 26 Jan 2006
This review is from: Blue Jays (Audio CD)
The previous reviews have pretty much said it already, but I just wanted to add my appreciation here of a truly great album. The Moodies were good, if sometimes a little inconsistent, but Blue Jays surpasses all that, giving a fuller, richer sound with better crafted songs.I hadn't listened to this album for a while and when I put it on again recently, I was blown away by the sheer quality of it. I found myself shaking my head in virtual disbelief and smiling as I drove along listening to it. It did reasonably well on it's original release but it deserved to do much better and seems to have become somewhat forgotten about now which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last on cd - Blue jays, 16 July 2004
This review is from: Blue Jays (Audio CD)
As far as i know it's only taken 29 years for this classic album to venture out onto CD but it's well worth the wait. Gone are all the scratches and hiss from the worn out vinyl version (kinda miss them in a way)to the perfect sound on CD. We all know that it sounds like another Moodies Album but to me it's not,a unique classic !! Perhaps it's so special to me as i was one of the lucky few to see the Blue Jays live at the old great Hammersmith Odeon , London, back in late 1975 where the whole album was played and the bestest of the Moodies Hits, a great night. Not much of a review really, more of a trip down memory lane - Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Duo Recording!, 10 Aug 2004
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Jays (Audio CD)
Released between "Seventh Sojourn" and "Octave", Hayward and Lodge composed an album as worthy as any Moody Blues collaboration. Each song takes the Moody Blues atmosphere and elaborates on it. The natural strings are abundant and are well used as backgrounds and accents.
Opening with the wistful "This Morning", each songs glides into the next almost seemlessly; like a concept album. Only "Saved By The Music" is a tad jarring, but this is immediately replaced with arguably the most beautiful Hayward/Lodge song ever written, "I Dreamed Last Night". It is a masterpiece. "Maybe" was a FM staple that year of 1975 and it is a triumphant celebration filled with horns, cellos and strings. It reminds one of "Question" in it's structure more than it's sound.
The last song on the album, "Blue Guitar" is actually a bluesy number by Hayward that was added when this set was released on CD. It's a good finish to a moody and beautifully crafted album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of all time, 20 Jan 2001
By 
Andy O'Boogie (Widnes, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: BLUE JAYS (Audio CD)
I have been listening to music since the early sixties and I have not heard a better album than Blue Jays. It was a continuation of the superb music of the Moody Blues but it was better. It was better because the mix of Justin/John's voices with acoustic guitars and orchestration worked so well. At times it is a big sound, at others a simple sound. They have not achieved anything like this album either before or since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very emotional experience to listen to this once again., 12 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
But that is because this album takes me right back to the mid 1970s when going to see `famous artists' was still an intimate experience; the drive was not towards bums on seats in huge auditoria. I was lucky enough to see the Blue Jays at Trentham Gardens and they were both gracious enough to stay behind after their performance and talk to a small group of us. That evening was truly magical.

The 1970s is portrayed in the present media as a naff decade steeped in decline, but to some of us who were there, the 1970s in England were the last days of a life lived in innocence; a short, safe and swift phase sandwiched between austerity following the horrors of the world war and the later rise towards a blatant, ugly, mundane artifice that we seem to be stuck in today.

To a younger audience or those who have come late to the Blue Jays, some of the songs may seem a bit `less than' in comparison to the artists of today. But their music carries within it the very essence of a lost age. The songs have no pretence about them; they are clever in a simple way and evoke that which the world is still filled, no matter what we are led to believe and that is - beauty, magic and the irrepressible decency of mankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How good music should be., 19 May 2007
This review is from: Blue Jays (Audio CD)
Can there be many albums on this site with such universally rapturous reviews and blanket 5 star ratings? This is how good music SHOULD be. Intelligent lyrics, intriguing melodies and marvellous orchestrations. There's a video of Justin performing one of my all-time favourite songs, "I Dreamed Last Night", on youtube. It's acoustic and solo and while it has wonderful soul and his beautiful diction and tone, it is an interesting contrast with the full orchestrated version on this cd. Those rising strings, those clever chord links; it's music to nourish the soul. With the addition of "Blue Guitar" on this remastered cd, you've got everything from the wistful "I Dreamed Last Night" through the simple "Who Are You Now?" to the thumping good tune of "Saved By The Music". A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Jays
Blue Jays by John Lodge (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews