Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark III As good as Mark II Live album
What more could any one want ? Deep Purple in their pomp, rarely perfomed material(from Stormbringer) & added to this is the emotionally charged atmosphere of Ritchie Blackmore's final show.
This has it all, & is remixed from orginal source tapes, so it doesn't sound like the band are playing on the phone, or as on Made in Europe (the orginal album this was taped...
Published on 24 Feb 2004

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Have to agree
Have to agree with a lot of the complaints on here about Glenn Hughes.
Not only is he very irritating with his vocal interjections during the songs and his ridiculous announcements between songs but he actually dominates this set to an unusually large degree - you just can't escape him.
Yet his bass playing is pretty good.
And I'm not knocking the bloke for...
Published 22 months ago by Phantom Reviewer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blackmore Ends On A High, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
Just took ownership of this & listened to it straight through (except the interview)

So what have we got:

Sound: Not bad quality but not enough "oomph" on the bottom end for my tastes. Sounded a bit weedy in places.

Musicianship: As repeated elsewhere, this was Blackmore's last gig with DP until the reunion. Sounds like he was proving what a loss he'd be as he is on fire. Mind you, so are Lord & Paice. Never been that much of a fan of Coverdale this era but thought he improved with Whitesnake.
Hughes is a better singer IMHO but find his bass too low in the mix to form an opinion.

Setlist: Excellent. don't let the track list on the cover fool you. A lot of the numbers here feature either long jams or medleys (Lazy & the Mule make an appearance amongst others)

Packaging: A disgrace. A single tray for 2 discs? Looks like someone is still believing the hype about CDs being indestructible.

Worth £8.00? Oh yes. Will probably continue to buy these as hey are released
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRENCH FAREWELL TO GUITAR STAR IN PURPLE 1975 !, 31 July 2011
This review is from: Live in Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
Deep Purple (MK3) Blackmore/Coverdale/Hughes/Lord/Paice performed this final concert together in Paris 7th April 1975. It's a phenomenally good concert as the band power through a set of mostly Mk3 classics such as 'Burn', 'Mistreated', 'You Fool No One' and 'Stormbringer', as well as 'Smoke On The Water' and the set closer and half hour long 'Space Truckin'. Lots of improvisation and extended solos from Ritchie Blackmore on guitar and Jon Lord on Keyboards, with a drum solo from Ian Paice, along with his incredible playing during the songs. David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes were always a brilliant dual vocal line up for Deep Purple. And Glenn's bass playing is excellent. This was Blackmore's final concert with the band before forming his own incredibly successful band Rainbow. Burn (30th Anniversary Edition)Stormbringer: Remastered/+DVDRitchie Blackmore's Rainbow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I had forgotten just how goodthese guys were!, 20 July 2004
By 
Brendan Riley "bren404" (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live in Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
What a superb album, one of the best live CDs that I've heard. It's what Made in Europe should have been, instead of the looped audience response and what I thought was a muted recording. This on the other hand is at full volume and boy is it good.
It's not just good, it's simply awesome. Coverdale, Hughes, Lord and Paice are brilliant and on top of all that, there's Blackmores guitar playing. For me, he's the best guitarist by a mile. If you don't buy another DP MkIII CD, buy this one, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Made In Despair?, 22 May 2013
This review is from: Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
Having been a life long Deep Purple fan & anxiously awaiting the release of "Now What?!" given the hype that preceded it (you'll have to read my review of that particular album to see what I think) I had this on the back burner in my "Wish List". I really couldn't make my mind up if it was worth parting with my hard earned cash as this was the short lived MKIII version whose 1st album "Burn" promised so much only to be followed by the disastrous "Stormbringer" which prompted the exit of a certain Mr Blackmore. On further investigation it turns out that this was Ritchie's swansong appearance with the band making it a must buy for any true Purple fan. So is it any good? The answer is yes & no ... it is a major improvement on "Made In Europe" but it seems a bit messy & amateurish in parts especially from the DC & GH. Mr Hughes as is well documented had a penchant for the white powder, which doesn't seem to affect his bass playing, sees him trying to take centre stage at every opportunity (it's an embarrassment when he does) & Dorothy shows his lack of "star" quality with his inane introductions & attempts to whip the audience into a frenzy (or was that Glen Hughes butting in again). So what you have here is a little piece of history, some sublime musicianship from Blackmore/Lord/Paice, & the hopeless "Stormbringer" album given the breath of life. I chose to take the download option as I am not a huge fan of live albums & am pleased I did. This is not "Made In Japan" by any stretch of the imagination but certainly a priceless addition for any Deep Purple fans that grew up with the band as I did ... at least it sounds like Deep Purple ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mark 2 is my favourite line up but mark 3 were great also, 3 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
Been a Purple fan for many years, mark 2 is my favourite line up but mark 3 were great also, there are some superb tracks and great recording quality, the missing star is purely because of Glenn Hughes, when he behaves himself and plays bass and just does normal backing vocals things are fine, but when he tries to take over he sounds like a chihauhau with it's tail stuck under a rocking chair!, it's awful, combined with his frankly embarrassing comments to the audience which include him chastising them for getting fat if they didn't dance more, not to mention that they're French and probably don't understand him anyway....it's a Purple gig Glenn not a school disco, get a grip, can't believe Blackmore et al let him get away with it, and probably why Ritchie left after this tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ritchie Blackmore wow, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
Like this band, music sound of this concert wel restored. Like the music, songs and all the live-(guitar)mistakes. This makes the album alive.... Great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blackmores final swansong, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
A great mix of the great man's last gig with Mark 3 Purple. Even with Glenn Hughes persistent whooping and nonsense. Can't wait for the 5th release in the series. Still a shame about the packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love Mk2, love Mk3...........Dont like mixing Mks, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
Massive Deep Purple fan for many years. Mk2 fantastic, Mk3 fantastic. Mk 3 doing Mk2 doesn't work for me. Pure Mk3 tracks brilliant...shoulda stuck to that. In my opinion Mk3 murdered Mk2 tunes on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple Live in Paris 1975, 21 Feb 2011
This review is from: Live In Paris 1975 (MP3 Download)
Having got the Last Mk III Concerts CD we were unsure whether to get this or not. Having decided to get it we were not disappointed as the sound quality was so much better, plus it is the complete concert. It's a pity that the record companies won't part exchange older versions for new when they re-release music that has been been sonically enhanced, though, as it does end up costing more if you want the enhanced editions :) If you are a Purple fan then this is worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loads Better than Made In Europe (Glenn Hughes excepted), 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris 1975 (Audio CD)
After Made in Japan, Made in Europe was a massive let down. I don't know where the tapes for this were at the time or whether these concerts post dated MiE but this is how Purple of that era should have sounded and should have formed the basis for that album. These are much better performances. Glenn Hughes talking between tracks is very irritating and mostly inane babble. His attempts to sound like Stevie Wonder were always bizarre in a classic hard rock outfit and I could never understand why RB put up with it, he wasn't known for his tolerance of thing he didn't like. I've always found his periodic yelping like a dog that's had it's tail stood on confusing and concluded back in 1974 that he was in the wrong band performing a style of music that was not really his 'thing'. Let's put it this way, whilst you might proudly put this on the CD player and let your son listen to what you liked so long ago, you might well cringe with embarrassment as Glenn Hughes comes to the fore. Anyway, the long and short of it is that if you like this era of Deep Purple this is a really good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live in Paris 1975
Live in Paris 1975 by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews