Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best purchase I've made in months
I first saw this at a friend's house. He'd just brought it, and had invited a few people round for a sample. I was transfixed for half an hour, then headed into town to buy my own copy!
There is truely something for everyone on this DVD, from chilled out funkyness right through to strange twisted weirdness, plus some randomness for good measure. Some of my favourites...
Published on 8 Mar 2004 by medstock

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not as gud as i thought it would be
after reading some fantastic reviews of this dvd, i really did have high expectations from it, but we didnt really enjoy all of it to be honest!! some of it was fantastic tho!!
Published 18 months ago by jan L


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best purchase I've made in months, 8 Mar 2004
This review is from: Video Retrospective- Best Of Ninja [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this at a friend's house. He'd just brought it, and had invited a few people round for a sample. I was transfixed for half an hour, then headed into town to buy my own copy!
There is truely something for everyone on this DVD, from chilled out funkyness right through to strange twisted weirdness, plus some randomness for good measure. Some of my favourites include Funi Porchini - 'Atomic Kitchen', Mr. Scruff - 'Get A Move On', and Coldcut - 'Re:volution'
A lot of the tracks work with anamation of different kinds, others work with samples from videos. 'Re:volution' for example is made from samples of speeches from British political figures, and most of these clips come from tv footage. In the video, the same footage is is used alongside the other video clips. Anouther track, by Hexstatic, uses samples and video clips from an old Kung-fu movie: The track is called 'Ninja Tune'
This DVD is now one of the prides of my collection. I recomend it to anyone and everyone. And I've still not seen half of it yet! It's easy to get lost in, dipping into tracks from artists you know, then trying something from an unknown, and finding you like it. If your a fan of Ninja Tunes or not, it doesn't matter. This collection is so good. Incidently, Amazon offer this at a couple of pounds less then High St. shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ninjalicious, 29 Jan 2004
This review is from: Video Retrospective- Best Of Ninja [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
its good times when another facet to the music you love is finally in reach in one satisfyingly splendid package. videos to 35 choice ninja tracks, we get a pick of the classics mixed with an insight into new artists, new directions. put them on random. get cheered up by scruffs simple but so damn evocative pie story! be entranced by reverse milkshake accidents on bonobos flutter! the videos are diverse, and some are more appealing than others, but at the end of the day this is a collection of top quality art and music from a consistently fine label that youd be a fool to miss out on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must buy!, 12 July 2004
This review is from: Video Retrospective- Best Of Ninja [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd is jam packed full of everything that I love about this label. Over 2 hours of the best and strangest Ninja tune videos from artists such as mr scruff/hexstatic/herbaliser/coldcut..well you get the idea which chart the rise of ninja tune from the early ninties right up to recent releases. The menues are beautifully presented and you also get a 60 minute hexstatic audio mix. If you have to get any music ralated dvd this year it has to be this one, it will have you transfixed for hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nise Eye Candy, 1 Nov 2006
By 
M. Godenho "mg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Video Retrospective- Best Of Ninja [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a fan of Ninja Tunes then you HAVE to get this.

If you're not then I'd still reccommend it.

Ninja Tunes (the label) looks after a lot of trip hop and down beat stuff so there's nothing too offensive or grating.

As my girlfriend said "it's nice music to listen to just before you go to bed".

Some 160 min of top quality music vids on the dvd, including the pointer sisters (remixed by dj food) doing the pinball number song. Anyone who has seen Sesame St as a child will remember:

1-2-3-4-5,

6-7-8-9-10,

11-12...and the pinball animation that went with it...yep it's all on here.

Plus some bands Ive never heard of but that have really good videos.

If you're after a present for someone (but dont know what) this dvd is perfect. It's good cause it's cool....no really it is.

nise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as gud as i thought it would be, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Video Retrospective- Best Of Ninja [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
after reading some fantastic reviews of this dvd, i really did have high expectations from it, but we didnt really enjoy all of it to be honest!! some of it was fantastic tho!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ninja Brilliance!, 25 Mar 2009
This review is from: Video Retrospective- Best Of Ninja [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent Journey into the world of Ninja Tune. Some interesting ideas, techniques and great music! 9/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a bit of visual ninja japes, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Video Retrospective- Best Of Ninja [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
All sorts of stuff on here, just the sort of mish-mash of originality you'd expect on such a ninja release, there is a cinematic orchestra track that just oozes atmosphere, mr scruff at his animated best, to name but a few...and you thought they just made music!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU DON'T GET THIS YOU ARE A FOOL, 21 April 2004
This review is from: Video Retrospective- Best Of Ninja [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
best dvd in the world?... absolutely!!!! :DDD Just an amazin collection ofsome of the best chilled out tunes and crazy videos, pure quality stuff totoke to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Video Retrospective-  Best Of Ninja [2003] [DVD]
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews