Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars22
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2008
If you have wondered why they don't seem to make this genre of movies anymore, then the passing of John Candy is probably the biggest reason why. There are very few actors who can drive the kind of slapstick comedy film we used to get in the 80's and early 90's. Steve Martin, Bill Murray & Chevy Chase are about the only truly great comic actors I can think of (Eddie Murphy should be there, but he too often lets himself down by his own massive ego).
For me John Candy was the finest of the bunch, and is deserving of the highest of accolades.

One of his finest moments was trading comedy blows with Steve Martin in 'Planes Trains & Automobiles'. But for me it was the discovery of this little gem that certified my love of John Candy. The film sets up Candy as the fall guy, and it leaves him in situations where he is constantly getting the short end of the stick.
He gets hideously sun burned after falling asleep on the sun lounger, within the first few hours of arriving, thus having to spend the next few days of his holiday avoiding the sun, holed up in a kids paddling pool in the shade.
He also annoys the boating community when he accuses one of the residents of stealing his dinner. The phrase "YOU STOLE MY LOBSTER!" will forever draw a smile across my face. One of the films strengths is it's subtlety, unlike 'The Great Outdoors' it doesn't rely on huge bear attacks and slapstick water skiing, but instead relies upon the great comic ability of it's suffering star.

My only grip is that the end of the film does surrender the comedy for a grander Hollywood style closer, and that it also looks very much a film from the 80's (e.g. Big Hair and Bad Clothes). But this remains one of my favourite John Candy films.
0Comment20 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2007
Summer Rental is not John Candy's finest film but compared to comedies these days you'll find it good fun. It's a very light movie in the vein of the Chevy Chase Vacation movies from the 80s with a Typical fun John Candy twist. If your looking for a simple movie for the whole family Summer Rental is a vacation away from reality for an evening. 3/5

It's strange but watching John Candy on screen takes you back to a time when comedies were just fun, now most comedies focus to heavily on box office success.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2009
I watched this years and years ago when i was a kid growing up, and its just as good now as i remembered!! The films easy to watch and brings quite a few good laughs, and it doesnt drag on for too long either.This is a bonus but also a little frustrating to as the films ends extremely quick after the finale scene. If your a fan of the 80's then buy this!!!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 January 2010
John Candy was a REAL comedy legend. A large, loveable man, he was funny before he even spoke. Sadly, today all we have are a breed of crass, rude, unfunny misfits barely 25, who want to be action heroes, Hollywood hunks and funny too. Candy knew his place and Summer Rental is pure joy.
The story is simple, sweet and delightful, we've all experienced part of it:
Stressed out dad takes the family on holiday....but the holiday does not go well.

One of the pure highlights of this film is watching Candy, stressed to boiling point, eat his breakfast as half of the world scramble noisly past his window to get to the beach. All he can utter is "what is this, what is THIS!".
11 comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
After roughly 40 mintues of the 85 min running time, I could not stop grinning at this cheesy comedy from 1985.

It had exactly what I was in the mood for- a feel good movie, good genuine laughs and of course the late great John Candy. However for the remainder of the film the film switched from a comedy to a drama and it felt as though a writer had been sacked halfway through production. The drama in the film consisted of Candy proving to his family that he wasn't just a bungling fool and that he would enter a sailing competition and win it- and be a man!
Utterly boring, predictable and pedantic. Remember that only refers to the second half of the film.

If you love comedies from the 80s and John Candy this could still be worth getting as the first half is close to comedy gold. The restaurant scene, the beach scene, the volleyball scene and the dog locking Candy out of the holiday home are brilliant. Candy's expressions and timing are perfect and I miss the big guy.
A keen eye will spot the underrated John Larroqette and Kerri Green only adds to the 80s vibe.

Alas Summer Rental has been too hyped up here, it certaintly has its moments, but fails for way to long without any laughter soon after.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
A great movie with John Candy as an stressed ATC controller who is given a forced holiday to rest. But it turns out to be anything but restful when he and a multi time regatta winner meet up. The stakes get higher also when this rivallry threatens the family holiday. Its comes down to the family and some new friends to work together to save the holiday.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
I hadn't seen this movie for about 20 years, since I was a kid, so I wasn't sure if I would still enjoy it, but I did! This is not Candy's best film - I would rate Planes, Trains & Automobiles, then Uncle Buck, then Only the Lonely before it (and in that order), yet it was still very enjoyable. Some classic lines, esp. the wammo joke! Classic comedy!!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Jack Chester, an overworked air traffic controller, takes his family on vacation to the beach.

Things immediately start to go wrong for the Chesters, and steadily get worse.

Jack ends up in a feud with a local yachtsman, and has to race him to regain his pride and family's respect.....

It's the eighties, John Candy is the head of the family, and they go on holiday, and bump into special guest star Richard Crenna, and you get exactly what you would expect, a fun breezy comedy were Candy gets into all kinds of hi jinks.

Things go awry when Candy puts a hole in Crennas boat and he forces them to move out of their summer home. Candy challenges bets him he will win the regatta, and if he wins, he gets to stay.

So they get help from Rip Torn, a hilarious Scotsman, and the most uncomfortable playmate ever. And the film is ready to serve.

If you've seen Reiners other movies from this era, you know what to expect.

Its enjoyable fluff, something that you could watch from time to time, and forget it straight after.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2011
This is a very funny film , made by a gifted actor who died before his time , John Candy stars as a overworked , stressed Air Traffic Controller who rents a nasty house for a summer holiday, with hilarious results true comedy,from a true comedy actor, excellent film recommended very highly
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
This is a true feelgood movie. My family loved John Candy and this is a great example of his work. A sort of lower budget 'Mr Hobbs Takes A Vacation'. Have a look.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Great Packages, Budget Prices Save Your Money For Exploring!