Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty as Chips
Being a male student (and having had this film recommended by his mother because it 'moved' her) I came into this film a little wary.
It starts a little slow but the story develops at a much quicker pace throughout. Its' comedy edges are still as funny today as i am sure they were when it was made. Robert Donat is excellent as 'chips' and equals his quality of...
Published on 9 Mar 2004 by Mr. T. Hoskins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
Ariived in good time. Plays well, good quality. I watched this film on TV as a child and when I saw it on sale I was excited to see it again. I had watched the modern version with Martin Clunes and had thought the old version better but I was wrong. On watching this again I was disappointed and it is relegated to the back of the cupboard.
Published 4 months ago by Annie


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty as Chips, 9 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: Goodbye Mr Chips [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
Being a male student (and having had this film recommended by his mother because it 'moved' her) I came into this film a little wary.
It starts a little slow but the story develops at a much quicker pace throughout. Its' comedy edges are still as funny today as i am sure they were when it was made. Robert Donat is excellent as 'chips' and equals his quality of Hitchcock's The 39 Steps. The chemistry between him and Greer Garson is excellent and the power of the scenes makes you feel really close to 'chips'. The sounds is a little wayward at times, but in the main the DVD is excellent. To be fair this film has 'moved' me and I feel it is one which will stick in my mind for a while to come.
Only one problem is the lack of extras. Actors' profiles would have been nice, but it's only a minor complaint.
An excellent film, one I recommend whole-heartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Oscar for a Great Briton, 9 Sep 2006
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodbye Mr Chips [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
If ever a film showcased a great talent it was 'Goodbye Mr Chips' and Robert Donat.

His performance is engaging and credible. From a young insecure new teacher, to a stale middle aged man, whose life is turned around by love, to an eccentric but lovable old fellow, Robert Donat takes you on a wonderful journey. He is in nearly every scene.

He deserved the Oscar he won. When you consider that Clark Gable was also Oscar nominated in 1939 for 'Gone With The Wind', you begin to realise what a great performance he gives.

Greer Garson's role is fairly small, but pivotal. She is on screen for surprisingly a short time, but makes a great impact.

The film shows a world long gone, if it ever existed, but Donat's great acting raises it well above sentimental. The end however, will move the tender hearted to tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not realistic, but a superbly sentimental film, 8 July 2004
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodbye Mr Chips [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderfully sentimental depiction of public school life in the Victorian and Edwardian eras and beyond. Chipping, like so many other schoolmasters of the time, lives a cloistered life on which the outer world only occasionally impinges -- mostly during wartime.
In the film, he ventures out on only one other memorable occasion -- a holiday with the school German teacher to the Tyrol where he meets the handsome Greer Garson (in her first movie appearance), who somewhat improbably falls for him. This sets off a chain of sentimental events: marriage, introductions to the common room, tea with the boys, her death through childbirth, and a never-ending cycle of Colleys (played by the same actor, but with a slightly different haircut for each generation). The school hymn is also designed to pluck the heart stings.
The movie was actually filmed at Repton. I went to a similarly confined, all-boys, English public school, set in a country town miles from anywhere else, though somewhat more recently than the Chips era. Many of the masters never married because it was so difficult for them to meet any women. We still had corporal punishment -- which Chips continues to inflict even when brought out of retirement to become head during World War One. This film does not reflect the grubby reality of public school life -- the author must have had his rose-tinted spectacles on when he wrote this -- but it's hard not to be moved by it.
I have special memories of first seeing this at the age of 12 in our headmaster's study, together with all the other senior boys at the prep school. Today, its meaning for me is more about staying in the same place for a long time, while all about you moves on. (I've recently completed 25 years with the same employer!) I also enjoyed trying to work out how many of the Tyrol scenes were shot in the studio. (At one stage, Chips and his friend even walk against a film background.)
The DVD has no special extras, but the picture and sound quality is reasonable. I haven't tried the film on my teenage children, but I think this is one of the few black and white movies that they would be absorbed by. (Don't be misled by the colour photo on the DVD box cover into believing the movie is in colour!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Donat is believable, 7 Dec 2004
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Goodbye Mr Chips [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
This is the story of the 60 plus year life of a school teacher, Mr. Chipping (Robert Donat), from neophyte teacher to hopefully Head Master. On his way he will make several mistakes and learn from them. The movie has the feel of several stories running in series that all tie in to Chipping's life. He is also destined to meet the love of his life Katherine (Greer Garson) and see that the Danube is blue.
I do not want to go into a detail as that is the fun in watching eh stories unfold however I think it is significant when Chipping and Katherine are alone on the top of the world and time stops finding them selves in eternity. He also gets an insight or different slant of his carrier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A meaningful life unfolds over time, 22 Mar 2004
This review is from: Goodbye Mr Chips [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
The origin of all the inspirational teacher movies, Goodbye, Mr. Chips is a heartwarming film that unfolds the story of a man who is transformed by love, and goes on to influence the lives of his pupils and colleagues. Nostalgic, even when it was released in 1939, this is a tender and affectionate study of a society, an education system, and a man who belatedly outgrows his constraints and develops a true vocation from his professional commitments. It is Chips' transformation that makes this film a classic example of a man who belatedly discovers how to use strengths that ultimately give meaning and value to his life.
The film opens amidst the hustle and bustle of a new academic year at Brookfield with new and returning pupils hurrying to attend the first-day assembly. Chips arrives late for the event and is locked out with a young pupil with whom he shares his knowledge of the stone tablets that serve as memorials to past students and staff.
Mr. Chips: So, you're a stinker, eh?
Student: A stinker, Sir?
Mr. Chips: A new boy. That's what we call them here. Stinkers... (he indicates a stone tablet that commemorates the hero of the Armada: "Sir Francis Drake 1552")
Student: Drake! Was he here, Sir?
Mr. Chips: Yes.
Student: Was he a stinker too, Sir?
Mr. Chips: To be sure he was. But he grew out of it. And so will you.
This exchange sets-up the question of how 'stinkers' are helped to mature into the fine young men and heroes whom we see later in the film. We see the answer in a series of flashbacks that extend over sixty years of Chipping's life.
The young Mr. Chipping arrives at Brookfield, filled with enthusiasm and ambition. Some early misjudgements make him vulnerable to criticism by the Headmaster who reprimands him for his poor control of the boys.
Our profession is not an easy one, Mr. Chipping. It calls for something more than a University degree. Our business is to mould men. It demands character and courage. Above all, it demands the ability to exercise authority. Without that, I think any young man should ask himself seriously if he has not perhaps mistaken his vocation. When a man is young, Mr. Chipping, there are many other walks of life open to him.
In a disastrous attempt to assert his authority, the teacher forbids his pupils to attend a cricket match, which the school then loses because of the absence of a key player. Despite Chipping's apology, the reaction of the pupils and his colleagues leads him to develop a protective shield of authoritarianism and inflexibility. Chipping's enthusiasm ebbs away over the years: he is so intimidated by life that he retreats into a sterile existence that smothers rather than protects him. Passing him over for promotion, the Headmaster praises Chipping for his ability to exact high academic performance from the boys but explains that he is thought to lack the empathy and vision that is needed in a Housemaster.
... We felt that with your unusual gifts of getting work out of the boys that you'd rather concentrate on teaching and leave the rather tiresome job of Housemaster to someone with special gifts in that direction...I doubt if Mr. Wilkinson will ever turn out as many minor Latin poets as you have.
Although surrounded by the rich, social network of the school, and a senior member within it, Chipping is exposed as an isolated figure whose relationships are restricted to the functional, and are grounded only in perfunctory respect and status. Humiliated, Chipping withdraws into his room, where his loneliness and the darkness close in around him. Fortunately, a young colleague persuades him to accompany him on a walking tour to the Tyrol where Chipping meets the fascinating Katherine Ellis who is destined to be his wife and help-meet.
Chipping's feelings are reciprocated in a charming courtship that changes his view of himself, and alerts him to the possibilities of living his life in a different way.
Chipping: Do you suppose a person in middle age could start life over again and make a go of it?
Katherine: I'm sure of it. Quite sure. It must be tremendously interesting to be a schoolmaster.
Chipping: I thought so once.
Katherine: To watch boys grow up and help them along. To see their characters develop and what they become when they leave school and the world gets hold of them. I don't see how you could ever get old in a world that's always young.
Chipping: I never really thought of it that way. When you talk about it, you make it sound exciting and heroic.
Katherine: It is.
Chipping: (He turns to her) And the schoolmaster? Is he exciting and heroic too?
Katherine: (teasing him for his earlier actions and diffidence) I've met only one - a reckless person who climbed the Blochner in a mist...
The couple marry before the start of the school year. And from the start, the pupils and colleagues view Chips (as he is now affectionately named by Kathy) in a new light. She encourages him to use the strengths (such as empathy and a dry sense of humour) that she knows him to have, but that are little seen by others. Inevitably, Chips wins the trust and admiration of the pupils and the change in his status is reflected when he wins the appointment of Housemaster.
Despite personal and larger-scale tragedy, we see that Chips' life becomes one of meaning and influence: we see his crucial role in the transformation of 'stinkers' into admirable men and the foundations of the freedoms enjoyed by others, built on their sacrifices.
This film epitomises key aspects of a meaningful life: Chips learns to use his previously concealed Signature Strengths (see "Authentic Happiness" by Marty Seligman), is transformed by love and a capacity to be loved and is taught that it is never too late to change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Actor who plays Dorset?, 17 Aug 2003
Goodbye,Mr.Chips 1939, is in the top ten of all movies in my opinion. If anyone knows the name of the actor who plays Dorset, the school boy, please e-mail me. He has a speaking part at the beginning of the movie where Chips and Dorset are locked out of the main hall.It's a shame that the listing of this actor is no where to be found. There is a fantastic modern soundtrack on cd, The Film Music of Richard Addinsell, Chandos Digital,Chan10046 with chorus and lyrics of the school alma mater included.Anyone who can watch the ending of this movie without becoming choked up has no soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent performance of one school masters dedication, 29 May 2000
By A Customer
By far one of the best films ever made.Robert Donat gives an excellent performance as "Chips" of Brookfield,a dedicated school master who does so much someday want to be Headmaster and he does after sixty years . He loves his boys as they love him too! A Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent traditional film, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We like traditional films. Goodbye Mr Chips is based on kindness, appreciation of others, respect for the elderly, friendship between all ages. It is a very fine film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Nostalgic, 11 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Goodbye Mr Chips [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a timeless classic which could be remade many times over in almost any time period:the sets and costumes are very basic,the story being set in a Public School where all the pupils wear uniforms and the teachers wear robes/cloaks over their contemporary clothes.

Most of the film is set within the confines of the school,so little is seen of the outside world and the changing times bar gossip by the boys of major events(the Franco/Prussian war,the Boer war,the Great War etc.).

The only major departure from the school is Mr Chipping's holiday and meeting with his future wife in Austria.

And that is the turning point in his life;from staid,cold and uninteresting teacher 'Chips' is transformed into a bright caring person that the pupils come to admire and love.

Superb performances by Robert Donat and Greer Garson(in her first screen role)as Mr and Mrs 'Chips'.

My only gripe is the annoying,stylized colour illustration of Donat and Garson on the front of the dvd jacket:it is obviously studio artwork as they never appeared together in the film without his obligatory moustache(to age him)and the film is totally in black and white.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great oscar winning performance from Robert Donat, 28 Dec 2001
By 
Jeffrey Davis "jmd555555" (Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful film. Robert Donat, who has to age about sixty years during the film, puts in a wonderful performance as the kindly, lovable school master. The film is humorous, moving and uplifting and is, in my opinion, one of the great classics of the British cinema. The film also contains a fine musical score by Richard Addinsell, who had to compose an authentic sounding school song for the production. Terrific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodbye Mr Chips [1939] [DVD]
Goodbye Mr Chips [1939] [DVD] by Sidney Franklin (DVD - 2004)
5.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews