Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What this girl wants!
A charming film. A simple story, well-crafted with strong performances from Colin Firth and Amanda Bynes. It's nothing deep but it doesn't pretend to be. It's definitely one for the ladies what with not one but two attractive guys. Of course the picture it presents of this country and the British is completely stereotypical but it doesn't spoil the film. It's so nice...
Published on 29 Oct. 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What A girl Would Want
If you saw the title of this film and a picture of the film you would think that this was going to be another sweet film full of sugar and for most of it it is. A teenage american girl comes to Britain in search of her father(Colin Firth)who is high in the social ladder and the last thing he needs is to find a long lost daughter, who by the way is accepted straight away...
Published on 2 Jan. 2004 by M Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What this girl wants!, 29 Oct. 2004
A charming film. A simple story, well-crafted with strong performances from Colin Firth and Amanda Bynes. It's nothing deep but it doesn't pretend to be. It's definitely one for the ladies what with not one but two attractive guys. Of course the picture it presents of this country and the British is completely stereotypical but it doesn't spoil the film. It's so nice to see a film which doesn't rely on bad language or crude comedy to attract the teenage market. For me it ticks all the boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but nothing more..., 29 Mar. 2004
This review is from: What A Girl Wants [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A movie that runs along the lines of so many others we have seen lately. A teen movie I would even dare say. Yet 'What a girl wants' is, underneath its rather common exterior a movie that has enough depth the please even the more mature. The basic plot is nothing refreshing but entertaining none the less and when you're willing to look just a tiny bit deeper you'll be able to appreciate the subtle mockery of aristocracy and high society. Nothing much to say about the performances although I believe Colin Firth has been able to give some more depth to his character than I had originally expected.
'What a girl wants' is not exactly a must see but certainly not a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 19 Aug. 2006
By 
T. Stanton "coolgirls" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Girl Wants [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This films is sooooo nice.

Daphne Reynolds (Amanda Bynes) lives in Chinatown New York with her mum Libby (Kelly Preston). She has never seen her father.

One day she leaves her mum to go find her father. He is a british politican who is running for office.

She finds him, Henry (Colin Firth) is shocked to know he has a daughter.

Daphne has to try and fit in and be ladylike so that her father doesnt lose his votes.

But she stills has to be herself.

A very good film, girly film. At the end, it's a very touching scene with daphne and her father.

A good watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What A girl Would Want, 2 Jan. 2004
By 
M Wilson (Nairn, Highland Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What A Girl Wants [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you saw the title of this film and a picture of the film you would think that this was going to be another sweet film full of sugar and for most of it it is. A teenage american girl comes to Britain in search of her father(Colin Firth)who is high in the social ladder and the last thing he needs is to find a long lost daughter, who by the way is accepted straight away without question.
One main message that came across in this film was that the British are up tight and Americans are cool and know how to get the party started. This is however not true and probably just giving the american public what they expect of us Brits! The posh, rich and living in the 18th centuary.Balls and dancing ,boat races and a rather odd bike chase happen in this fim.
Colin Firth was not meant for this role but the film had to get a big name for it to attract some interest. In a way colin should stick to what he knows best trying to win the lady instead of trying to play dad!
Overall this is in a way a bit of a girl's far off dream but if it wasn't for sugar sweet films like this and the fact that one day our mothers could come to us and say "your father is rich and lives in a massive house in the middle London" Wouldn't we do the same run away and find him and get a romance going at the same time. Ahhh.. well we can only dream!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING amazing .........what can i say i love it :), 23 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Girl Wants [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This DVD was absoulutly Brilliant!

Colin Firth = Amazing

Amanda Bynes= Wonderful

Kelly Preston= Excellent

Amanda Bynes and Colin Firth star in this irresistible funny comedy.
Amanda stars as Daphne, a irrepressible American teen who impulsively jets over from the US
to meet heraristocratic father for the first time.
Determined to fit into her dad's world, Daphne stifles her vibrant personality to be the
perfect daughter, plunging into a whirl of garden parties, fashion shows and more.
Can goodintentions and proper etiquette conquer all? Not if it means Daphne must also abandon who she really is.
She's going to remain true to herself and she's going to do it with courage and style every
girl wants to see.........

This is the blurb at the back of the DVD box i got from amazon.

I would recommend this to a girl its also a good film to watch with your mum.
So mothers & daughter film (well i think so :) )

I saw this movie on the t.v on channel five and i loved it to bits
i only buy the movies i really really like of amazon.
i have bought Parent Trap (Linsay Lohan)
I have brought what a girl wants.

Hope you enjoy watching it :)
I will be suprised if u dont :)))))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Girls get together!, 5 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Girl Wants [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
My friend recently visited from the states and bought this movie with her. Her and her 3 daughters, my daughter and I, all sat watching this movie together. I loved it and so did the girls. Plenty of humour and for the ladies among us, the delightable Colin Firth (Darcy in Bridget Jones) graces the screen (what more could a girl want indeed!). A real feel good movie and one for a girls night in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 and a half stars really, 7 Oct. 2009
By 
F. Lee (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Girl Wants [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is entertaining fun but slightly misses the mark. I found Amanda Bynes a bit irritating at times. Would have liked to see a bit more of her mother who seemed an interesting character. Colin Firth is good, but doesn't get his portrayal of his feelings for his daughter quite right - there are a couple of occasions when it feels more like a romantic relationship, which was a bit uncomfortable for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a girl wants DVD, 25 Jun. 2012
By 
F. NEILSON (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Girl Wants [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Daughter and wife loved this DVD, very cheap and surprisingly entertaining, well worth a look. My daughetr is age 9 my wife considerably older and both enjoyed a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 12 Jan. 2011
This review is from: What A Girl Wants [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I got this dvd for christmas from my mum. I put it on straight away as i love movie's. I watched it and i absolutely Loved it!!! It is definatley worth buying, and i have now watched it about 50 time's!! So if People are looking for a good movie to watch for a night, this is definatley the one for you!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, seen better seen worse., 16 Mar. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Girl Wants [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I did find the sterotypes histreically inaccurate of us english -you can just see that an American made this one, and am also a little disapointed that Colin Firth allowed himself to be casted a such an amercian invented character! but is a light airy reasonably funny film that would suit teenage girls, although i guess this film was aimed at the American market due to the puns against English poeple with money and big house that work in goverment, plot line is typlical, girl goes to find estaranged father in another country who happens to be mega rich and posh, so she has to fit into his society - and does it badly, then deciedes thats shes has her own ways and tells him to like it or lump and then he of course follows her back to the USA and falls back in love with her mother and everyone lives happily ever after!. I found myself watching this with a blanket when i had flu, it's that kind of film. And of course it has Colin Firth in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What A Girl Wants [DVD] [2003]
What A Girl Wants [DVD] [2003] by Dennie Gordon (DVD - 2004)
£3.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews