Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MRS MINIVER IS A CLASSIC!
Mrs Miniver is one of the best classic films in existence. It is a wonderful film with much sentiment and patriotism. Greer Garson, one of the finest "stars" of the 1940's, gives a gripping performance as the title character (and she won an Oscar for it to prove it). The most incredible thing about Mrs Miniver is that it is a WWII movie filmed during WWII,...
Published on 17 May 2000

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Miniver[1942] [DVD]
This is a classic 1942 War Film and winner of several Oscars....It is a useful historical document about life in the U.K. during the difficult days of 1940 and 1941..
It underlines the collective bravery of civilians as well as service people in the British Isles...Since there is a shortage of such films it must be hoped that this film is kept in print so that future...
Published on 13 Nov. 2009 by Mr. Philip Copland


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MRS MINIVER IS A CLASSIC!, 17 May 2000
By A Customer
Mrs Miniver is one of the best classic films in existence. It is a wonderful film with much sentiment and patriotism. Greer Garson, one of the finest "stars" of the 1940's, gives a gripping performance as the title character (and she won an Oscar for it to prove it). The most incredible thing about Mrs Miniver is that it is a WWII movie filmed during WWII, so the outcome of every thing was still unknown. It is even said that Mrs Miniver was one of Winston Churchill's favourite movies...it certainly is one of mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muddling through, 12 Mar. 2007
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mrs Miniver [1942] [DVD] (DVD)
Sir Winston Churchill said that Mrs Miniver did more for the British war effort than a fleet of destroyers. Released in 1942 when America had not long entered world war 2, it showed the US public the desperate situation that Britain was in, and did much to strengthen the US ressolve to fight and win.

Greer Garson gives a fine oscar winning performance, as a housewife coping with the horrors of a war that was brought home to the civilian population. Her intelligence, natural charm and good humour made her the perfect choice for the role.

Greer was ably assisted by her co-stars. You have to forgive the dodgy English accents of her husband (Walter Pidgeon), her elder son (Richard Ney)and his sweetheart (Teresa Wright). It does not spoil their good work. Most of the other main players were Brits, including Dame May Whitty, who gives her usual flawless performance, and Mrs Miniver's two younger children. Her younger son in particular, stands out as perhaps the most likable precocious child on film.

This film has the power to entertain people who were born long after he war had ended. It is just the film to watch on a wet Sunday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable film, 17 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a remarkable film, especially when you think it was made in the early 40s and no one knew what the ultimate outcome of the war would be. Particularly poignant was the scene of the family in the Anderson shelter during an air raid. I watched it with my sister whilst on holiday in England, all these things happened over twenty years before we were born and it humbles you to think of the sacrifices that were made for us and how lightly we take our freedom. I wish more people of my generation could see this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic War Movie, 4 Oct. 2007
By 
ray dorrity "ray dorrity" (New Forest, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mrs Miniver [1942] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a "must have" classic. I would give it 10 Stars if I could.
It features bits of everything that was going on in UK during the early part of the war, the little boats to Dunkirk to rescue nearly 400'000 of our soldiers, the Battle of Britain, the Blitz etc., etc.
I should be scathing about the film, as being made in Hollywood, it has all the usual American characterisations of the Brits at war, but you overlook all that.
Good story, good acting and very enjoyable.
Churchill said that "Mrs. Miniver" did more for Britain's early war effort that a fleet of Destoyers would have.
Incidently, at the time of shooting, Greer Garson was having an affair with her on screen son, Richard Ney!
Buy and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Our enemy is no respecter of flower shows.", 9 Oct. 2008
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mrs Miniver [1942] [DVD] (DVD)
As the story opens early in 1939, Mrs. Miniver (Greer Garson) is a happy wife and mother living a charmed life in an English village. Her husband, Clem (Walter Pigeon), is a successful architect and she has three children she adores. When war is declared, her life is deeply affected: Her eldest son is a pilot in the Air Force, Clem is gone for days on boat patrol, and her village is subjected to enemy bombs.

Released in 1942, this movie was a big hit with its patriotic message and wholesome family values. While the Miniver family is somewhat idealized, they nevertheless feel the horror of wartime. It's rousing and sentimental without being overly preachy and won six Academy Awards, including Best Picture. Garson is just perfect as the loving woman who holds her family together and Pigeon is a good match as her husband. The supporting cast is lovely, especially Henry Travers as the rose-loving station master.

The DVD extras include two patriotic short films that were made during the war. This is an inspiring, sweet, and timeless story of the effects of war on the home-front. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greer Garson IS Mrs Miniver, 17 April 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Miniver [1942] [DVD] (DVD)
Such was the power of this WW2 film that Greer Garson complained that she was forever more referred to as 'Mrs Miniver'.
This is the Americanised version of a middle-class English family, living in England, during the course of WW2. Strangely enough, the American accents do not detract from the storyline of the lives and loves of this English family complete with captured Germany pilot and 'little boats' to Dunkirk set pieces. However, it also contains much to show how people strived to carry on with the normalities of life, like the annual flower show!
It deals with subjects which have become virtually taboo in the England we know today ~ love of family, love of country, love of God and loyalty to all.
Yes, it is sentimental and cynics may even say idealistic BUT it contains truisms that remain as important today as when this country fought for its very existence against the tyranny of Nazi Germany.
There are wonderfully strong performances from all the cast both main and supporting roles and remains an absolute classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, shame about the closeups, 16 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Miniver [1942] [DVD] (DVD)
I have always loved this film, however, I have read in more than one biography of various actors, how Miss Garson would have her own cameraman, and made sure that wherever possible she would be filmed in closeup, that is quite evident in this film, in fact it was irritating, why not show the leading man occassionally in close up too ? he was rather nice looking, the film was very moving however and I would encourage people to purchase it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not enough stars for this movie, 26 Nov. 2002
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It is hard to tell of the importance of this movie and skip the details. Yes the technical stuff may not be that interesting in a review like, after first choice Norma Shearer rejected the title role (as she refused to play a mother), Greer Garson was cast. The meat of the story is the action and interaction of family members. Add this to plausible plot twists and you come up with a movie that had a unique view of the sacrifices they endured during WWII. This is not some cardboard war propaganda film. So you do not think this review came off of some box cover, I would say to me the most moving sections were, the outcome of the Miniver Rose, unexpected war casualty, and of course as results the final church scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Miniver DVD, 4 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Miniver [1942] [DVD] (DVD)
Though filmed in the 1940s and probably used as propaganda at the time, nevertheless good colour quality and a fascinating story. I want to give this to my children (now in their 50s!) and families to give them an idea of what it was really like to go through the Second World War as civilians; it was so true to my memories of everyday life, air raid warnings, bombings while in the Anderson shelter, D-Day etc. Very touching at times and makes me appreciate yet again how wonderful it is not to be at war any more! The only fault I found was in the character of the son (why couldn't they have used an English actor?) His v poor English accent as a supposed toff was cringeful - but if you can ignore that, the rest was really enjoyable and full of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much More Than ‘Just’ War-time Propaganda, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mrs Miniver [1942] [DVD] (DVD)
Although (for me at least) William Wyler’s 1942 Oscar-winning film of ‘Brits’ stoically defending their leafy patch in the face of the German airborne bombardment overdoes the jingoistic preaching a little, it is otherwise a very fine film, as comedic as it is tragic, and, as well as putting us through the ‘emotional wringer’, making some perceptive and wryly humorous points about the British class system and the 'battle of the sexes’. And even parachuting in (as it were) 'American’ stars Walter Pidgeon (actually Canadian) and Teresa Wright as (respectively) architect and father, Clem Miniver, and 'little rich girl’ and Clem’s daughter-in-law to be, Carol Beldon, does not overly detract from the 'homely British family feel’ created by wife and mother, Greer Garson’s eponymous heroine ('Kay’) and her three children (the eldest of which, Richard Ney’s Vin, is destined for confrontations with both Carol and the marauding Bosch).

Indeed, Wyler’s film (and Arthur Wimperis’ (+ others’) screenplay) sets up a clever little metaphor for the defiance required in the face of the imminent conflict in the form of (in perhaps rather stereotypical Brit fashion) an immovable flower competition. Class divisions are thence to the fore as Carol’s indomitable and snobbish grandmother, Lady Beldon (played by the great Dame May Whitty) objects ('We don’t take orders, we give ‘em’) when Henry Travers’ modest station master has the audacity to challenge her ladyship’s ‘inherited dominance’ in the local ‘best grown rose’ competition. Wimperis’ script is particularly sharp around the finer points of social commentary, as returning student Vin has his newly acquired radicalism ridiculed by Carol, whilst the locals’ unshakeable stoicism provides a resolutely dismissive response to German radio propaganda and the inflicted bomb damage. And the film’s otherwise central (and deadly serious) theme of war’s devastating impact on families is convincingly brought home as Clem and Vin go off 'to fight’ (the former as part of the Dunkirk evacuation in some evocative scenes of boats massing), leaving the women behind (in a nicely framed shot of Kay and Carol’s pensive faces). My only other slight reservation is with the (otherwise highly inventive) scene of Mrs Miniver’s confrontation with the crashed German pilot which is also (in dramatic terms) a little too 'black and white’ for me (though probably understandable given the film’s propagandist intent).

These slight reservations aside, Mrs Miniver remains a highly engrossing watch and stands up well alongside other films of the genre, such as Powell & Pressburger’s The Life And Death Of Colonel Blimp and The Spy In Black and Alberto Cavalcanti’s Went The Day Well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mrs Miniver [1942] [DVD]
Mrs Miniver [1942] [DVD] by William Wyler (DVD - 2004)
£4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews