Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twitchy
For Nicolas Cage fans, MATCHSTICK MEN is a treat diluted only by the knowledge that Cage wasn't even nominated for an Oscar-worthy performance.
Cage is Roy, teamed with partner Frank (Sam Rockwell); both are con artists, or "Matchstick Men". As the film opens, we watch as the two cash in on a scam that enables them to plunder the bank account of an elderly...
Published on 16 July 2004 by Mr. Joe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as original as it thinks it is.......
With hints of Paper Moon and The Sting, Matchstick Men promises a lot, and it almost delivers. Cage, who I veer between loving and hating as an actor, is excellent, but there are huge holes in the plot which, without going into details and giving the story away, render the whole thing unbelievable, ruining what could have been a superb film.

I'd still recommend...
Published on 29 July 2011 by FiTP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A very slick con :), 6 Sept. 2013
By 
M. Crawford (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Matchstick Men [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
"If you wanna go swimming you have to get wet" just about sums up this film. It's a clever who's who that keeps you guessing till the end. Who's the con? The shrink, the partner, the "daughter" or the sucker? Great viewing & gets 5 stars from me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting movie with a surprise ending., 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. Jerome Brown "Old Salt" (Marske , Cleveland , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matchstick Men [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I liked this movie, and thought Nick Cage did a fine acting job as he usually does. the story is light hearted, and has a surprising ending, with moral overtones.The good guy loses the money but gets the girl and becomes fulfilled. Liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matchstick Men [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Good fun and nice storyline. Nicholas Cage has done some pretty lame films of late. Great one to watch to remember the skill he has! Great for re-watching, add to you library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the kind...., 5 July 2013
This review is from: Matchstick Men [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
.....that you will spend $$ to buy the DVD after you watched it in movie theatre. Totally fantastic with unexpected twists!! This is one of the top of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A charming Scott comedy., 9 Jun. 2015
This review is from: Matchstick Men [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A charming comedy film by Scott that provides comedci moments by Cage and Rockwell, however the father an daughter is a bit meh which the ending is nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matchstick men, 6 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Matchstick Men [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Absolutely love this film got to be my favourite nick cage film! Love the twists and turns and totally got me first time around and have watched it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matchstick Men (a Ridley Scott film), 10 Feb. 2013
By 
K. Adams "DeJarreVu" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matchstick Men [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A very clever script. It's certainly worth watching if you enjoy a good con type film. See if you can see the plot twist before it happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good plot, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matchstick Men [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a great film. Some good twists. Starts off a little bit slow but it is a good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 31 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic film - Nicholas Cage is excellent in this movie - great story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 9 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Matchstick Men [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A good decent film with a decent plot. Nice twist at the end as well. What more do you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Matchstick Men [DVD] [2003]
Matchstick Men [DVD] [2003] by Ridley Scott (DVD - 2013)
£3.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews