Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, seriously
Every song on this album is fantastic. Not a single track that you'd want to skip.
The songs are technically sound, filled with guitar harmonies and underlying riffs, but still remains amazingly original. The vocals have excellent harmonies too, and often two part vocals doing crazy things keep you interested.
The lyrics to the songs are clever and well thought...
Published on 19 Nov. 2004 by martin-3df

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but so was the case
The item itself is okay but th case is quite scratched and sort of sticky - had to wash it off with a cloth and it seems to be okay now but still scratched. Was a gift and it's had to stay that way because I don't have time to return anything as it was birthday soon after I got it. :( little didsapointedtk but I didn't test the CD since that was fine.
Published 3 months ago by Angela Stubbs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, seriously, 19 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Take This to Your Grave (Audio CD)
Every song on this album is fantastic. Not a single track that you'd want to skip.
The songs are technically sound, filled with guitar harmonies and underlying riffs, but still remains amazingly original. The vocals have excellent harmonies too, and often two part vocals doing crazy things keep you interested.
The lyrics to the songs are clever and well thought out, but what is really amazing is patrick (frontman's) singing voice. He is one of the best pop-punk vocalists ive heard in a long time. Every song has a new hook or harmony to keep you listening.
The album's only weak point is that the songs are all very similar sounding, and that the album is a little short, but when they're produced such a punchy, catchy, to-the-point record, what else can i do but give them 5 stars.
Good job Fall Out Boy. I think any pop-punk or even emo fans should definitly check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars www.stateofemergency.net, 13 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Take This to Your Grave (Audio CD)
Fall Out Boy play an intelligent brand of pop-punk, laced with emo influences and sharp tongued wit. Their bitter, amusingly dark humour and intelligence are well demonstrated in lines such as; 'To my favorite liar, to my favorite scar: "I could have died with you" I hope you choke on those words, that kiss, that bottle' & 'On the drive home, joke about the kid you used to see and his jealousy, breaking hearts has never looked so cool, as when you wrap your car around a tree, your makeup looks great next to his teeth.
While the above lyrics hailing from; '"Tell That Mick He Just Made My List of Things to Do Today"' are interesting, funny and smart. The track's sound is very similar to that of Taking Back Sunday whereas the chorus of; 'Dead On Arrival' is very New Found Glory-esque. There is a delightful range of styles here - including the bouncy bass driven verses of; 'Grand Theft Autumn'. A song perfectly designed for the aural pleasure of a generation of 2nd wave pop-punk fans.
Bitingly witty lines such as; 'I've seen sinking ships go down with more grace than you' from; 'Sending Postcards from a Plane Crash (Wish You Were Here)' find the band sounding a little like Less Than Jake (vocally) yet writing on an entirely different level. 'The Pros and Cons of Breathing' is a little too rooted in the emo genre for it's own good and the chorus' chord progressions; when matched with the vocals - sound and feel awkward. The catchy palm muting in attendance on; 'Calm Before The Storm' and it's cheeky percussion work just as well as the dark, fast paced; 'Reinventing the Wheel to Run Myself Over' with it's small references to hardcore and twinkling emotionally charged pre-chorus fret work.
Fall Out Boy are going to be so vocally familiar to you; that you will instantly delight at their songs. The music, with its dynamics and extremely catchy and varied little hooks and riffs will be the element that finally bonds you to this record and perhaps even band - for the considerable future. This release will please you in the same way New Found Glory's 'S/T' release would have the younger, less mature, and less world weary you.
Standout Tracks: '"Tell That Mick He Just Made My List of Things to Do Today"', 'Grand Theft Autumn (Where Is Your Boy)'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fall out boy forever, 18 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Take This to Your Grave (Audio CD)
I bought this album a while ago but hadn't really spent a lot of time listening to it until recently. I have to say, this is one of the most catchy albums out there, but the difference with FOB is you don't feel like it's a crime to hum along with the songs. The lyrics make sense, the beat is awesome and it's just music you can dance to. My favourite songs are 'saturday', 'sending postcards from a plane crash' and the uberly fun 'grand theft autumn/where is your boy'. I know everyone adores them for under the cork tree, but in my opinion this is a far superior album with a lot of moments on that seem to be overshadowed by the catchiness of 'sugar we're going down.' If you like the music catchy, the lyrics slightly emo and the singing rather girly, then this is for you...you know you want it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is soooooo good!!!, 17 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Take This to Your Grave (Audio CD)
Well, when i bought the album it was because i read an article about them in a magazine. It sounded good, so i was curious about what they had to offer. I must say i was not disappoimted by them. The vocals on the album are heart-felt and at the same time they are well-executed and they sound good with the rest of the music, which is great. The songs never get boring, even though you hear them over and over again, cause every time you listen to them you will hear something new. To all of you out there who love catchy pop-punk with great vocals and melodies... BUY THIS ALBUM!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 25 July 2007
This review is from: Take This to Your Grave (Audio CD)
Early Fall Out Boy before they got really famous were just as good as they are today. I have to admit that I had to listen to this album a few times before I could appreciate just how good it is and now Fall Out Boy are my favourite band. I think I like all there albums equally and this album does have some great songs such as The Pros And Cons Of Breathing which is my favourite and it is closely followed by Saturday and Dead On Arrival. The instruments are well played and the singing is excellent. I reccomend this album to any rock\emo music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tell that mick... that this album is the best of 2004 so far, 5 May 2004
This review is from: Take This to Your Grave (Audio CD)
Fall out boy seem to be tagged as the next big thing in the states for this genre at the moment, and with take this to your grave as there debut its not hard to see why, full of great lyrics and great long song titles! It is probably the best new album of 2004 that i have perchased. stand out tracks: chicago is so two years ago, Grand theft autumn/where is your boy? and homesick at space camp. i would recommend this to any fans of Dashboard confessional, taking back sunday, finch, starting line ect....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than their other one, 13 Jun. 2006
By 
J. Batabyal "Jimzilla" (Caterham, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take This to Your Grave (Audio CD)
I actually bought this album AFTER having bought From Under The Cork Tree, as I really enjoyed that album, and wanted to see where FOB had come from. I have to say, I prefer this one. Being a fan of deeper, meaningful lyrics that I can relate to, TTTYG's theme of teen life hits the spot. From the repetetive but immense 'GTA/Where is Your Boy' and my personal favourite 'Saturday' down to 'Calm Before the Storm', each track catches you, sucks you in, and leaves you thinking about the inspiration for such clever lyrics (esp. Grenade Jumper)

A storming debut
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Their Best Album, 10 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take This to Your Grave (Audio CD)
I like all of Fall Out Boy's albums, but this is by far the best one. It's more polished than their first album, while still keeping their own sound. None of the songs on this album disappoint, whereas on the others there was always one song which, while I didn't dislike it, never really caught my interest. If you've heard and liked some of their later stuff then there's a very good chance you'll also like this album. If you've heard and disliked some of their later stuff, then obviously I'm not going to say this will change your mind, but if you're willing to give them another chance, this is the album to look at.

I will say that there's sort of a 'samey' feel to most of the songs. I really like the sound that's on show, so this isn't a problem for me, but if you only sort of like it then the album seems like it might get a bit tedious. But I, personally, love it.

To me, the best song on the album is 'Chicago is So Two Years Ago'. Honestly, I could listen to that song all day, everything about it is perfect to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 7 May 2005
This review is from: Take This to Your Grave (Audio CD)
i first heard fall out boy on "new skids on the block" that was ages ago i bought this album and i seriously didnt stop listenin to it for months straight. its amazing there is not one single song that is not good. i love it and also their new album is amazing too. buy them all dammit!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Take This to Your Grave (Audio CD)
This album is great, fine, 1 or 2 of the songs on here are slightly dodgy, but the great songs really make up for that and there aren't many of the not great one. Overall a definite success and I really enjoyed listening to it, because it is just great.

The songs are great and my favourite include the often recommended Saturday, Dead On Arrival, and The Pro's And Con's Of Breathing. These are great songs and you will probably want to listen to them over and over again.

The only problem with this album is that this is a stage where FOB were more like a boyband than a emo band, and I personally prefer there emo stuff, but that is just my opinion and it is still a brilliant album, and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Take This to Your Grave
Take This to Your Grave by Fall Out Boy (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews