Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars33
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 February 2004
What an amazing career Dave Grohl has had. As a drummer and stabilising influence in Nirvana, as a songwriter and guitarist with the Foos, and again as session drummer on the Queens of the Stone Age's latest effort this is a rock star who's musical credentials are in no doubt what so ever. Apparently Dave recorded the Probot tracks for fun in his home studio and came up with the idea of drafting in seminal metal vocalists at a later stage. Given this knowledge Probot could easily have been a ludicrously bad vanity project. However, what it actually is a technically superb, affectionately retrospective metal album in the late 80's - early 90's mould. What else should we expect from a man who has done as much as anyone else on the planet to bring the 'really damn big riff' into the mainstream.
I think the most immediately apparent thing about this record is how genuine it all feels. The songs are crafted to pay tribe and not to satirise the featured artists. Although I couldn't possibly name standout tracks amongst such gems 'Shake Your Blood' with Lemmy really feels like classic era Motorhead pumped full steroids and the totally immense 'Centuries of Sin' featuring Chronos takes some vaguely Venomesque dynamics and channels them straight into an adrenaline soaked, straight ahead riff-fest. I could go on all day like this but, certainly I couldn't stop writing with mentioned that 'Ice Cold Man' with Lee Dorian is utterly excellent and a fitting counterpoint to his work with Cathedral.
The production on Probot is not so much super-modern and flawless and dirty, loud and evocative of the eras to which they pay tribute (see Red War with Max Cavelera). Finally, rather than using his no-doubt considerable swing to have Probot relased on some high profile major label Dave has done much to enhance his already astronomical credibility by releasing it on the indy label Southern Lord (and the CD comes with the labels current catalogue).
Heres to you Boyo!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2004
Not being a Foo fighters/ Nirvana fan I approached this album with suspicion initially. However after a weeks repeated listening it has firmly captivated and brought me back to my youth. Like many metal fans in my agegroup, bands like DRI, Voivod and Motorhead were staples of my diet growing up. Its great to hear the old voices again, especially so well produced and with such a good musician as Dave Grohl providing the backing sounds. Grohl has written each song to suit the style of the singer and this gives the album a compilation feel rather than that of a unit. In my opinion there isnt really a weak point to this album. Obvious highlights are Red War with the peerless Max Cavalera, Silent Spring with DRIs Kurt Brecht and Centuries of Sin with Cronos.
All the tracks have something to offer and have introduced me to some bands that I heard of but never sampled such as Trouble and
The Obsessed whose back catalogues I will be checking out. In this world of nu metal and lite metal this album is something to savour and proves that the originals are still the best. That in itself justifies the buying of this record. Dave Grohl take a bow.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2004
Anyone who's interested knows the story by now; Dave Grohl writes a bunch of old-school style Metal tunes and gets his favourite vocalists to sing on them. Now it's finally released though, what everyone wants to know is, does it justify the hype? Basically, yes it does. It sounds pretty much as you'd expect it to do with each vocalist's song sounding similar to his own permanant band, so 'Shake Your Blood' featuring Lemmy sounds like classic Motorhead, 'Red War' with Max Cavalera sounds like Soulfly (not Sepultura unfortunately!) and so on. As an up-to-date celebration of all things old-school Heavy Metal it works very well indeed and classic HM fans will certainly enjoy this. Personal favourite songs are those featuring Cathedral's Lee Dorian and Trouble's Eric Wagner, though in truth there isn't a weak track on it. One final note, the much-mentioned secret, hidden track featuring a 'surprise guest' vocalist is excellent, though when you find out who the special guest is, chances are you won't actually be that surprised!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2004
In these sorry days of nu-metal and emo rock, it's great that someone is trying to drive the rock genre back to what it should be - Power, mysticism and downright kick ass mentality!
Probot should be a beacon for all these paranoid angst ridden "metallers" currently gaining recognition for the wrong reasons. The Opener "Centuries of Sin" with the immortal Cronos is a perfect opener and sets the standard for the album. "Red War" with Max Cavalera shows what a force they were and probably taught the likes of Slipknot everything they know!
We then trawl through the classic Motorhead sound and some hardcore type gems, before finally ending up at the finest track on the album - "The Emerald Law" with Wino. Having never heard of his obviously influential band The Obsessed, I was blown away by the power and intensity shown on this song and have now started sourcing some Obsessed material. Great mystical lyrics also.
All in all a great buy and I'll certainly be listening to this all year. How about a Probot 2, we still have the likes of Glenn Danzig, Tom Araya and Chuck Billy potentially waiting in the wings.
Rock out, do it quick, my my my let it rip!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2009
If you're a foo fighters fan looking for some mellow Dave Grohl side project, you've come to the wrong place. This is Dave exploring his metallic side and doing it brilliantly.

Grohl has drafted in some of the star names of metal for this Album, but the all-star cast works beautifully. Cavalera, Cronos, Dorrian, Warrior, Wagner, the list goes on, and all provide a slightly different angle to their respective songs. So many different styles on a single album often ruins the coherency of the product as a whole, but this time the variance of each star's carefully honed style brings the album together whilst providing a great journey through metal.

Max Cavalera's appearance on "Red War" is a personal favourite, whilst Lemmy's on "Shake Your Blood" is a close second. Not a bad track on the Album, any metal heads who doubt Grohl's credentials should buy this and listen hard: Grohl can thrash with the best of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Probot' is Dave Grohl's tribute album to his metal roots and provides a selection of songs played with various artists from the bands he grew up listening to. First and foremost it has to be said that the music on offer here is very much old school and heavier than anything the Foo Fighters have offered up so far. That in no way detracts from the music on offer though. You get such artists as Sepultura's Max Cavalera and Motorhead's Lemmy and the tracks they play on are probably the strongest ones on the album. But there are also some other highly credible metal musicians who compliment the other tracks. This album was released without much fan fare and was mainly a side project for Grohl, but it sits together well as a whole, offers up some great metal and ensures Grohl's metal credibility is never in doubt. Worth checking out.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2005
When I first heard of this record I must be honest, I wasn't too keen on it. However after a listen to it, I was more than pleased with the results! If you are reading this expecting some foo fighter similarities to be found in this review, don't. This lp is an excellent reminder of the sort of lp's people my age, once qued up outside their favourite record shop for!! Opening with Venom's Cronos & following on with Max Calvera, this album is rocking and very heavy with monster riff after riff and each song with a more than suitable guest vocalist! I was a bit surprised to see that Grohl plays all instruments on this lp (with kim kyhal, guesting on the King Diamond track). Buy this record, get the air guitar retuned and dusted down, you won,t be sorry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
From the first thundering bass line right to the last cymbal fade it's pure metal....with the mighty Grohl on drums (and everything else).

Is this man the luckiest man in the world?

Yes, yes I think he is.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
Are you a real Dave Grohl fan? Then you are used to have this. It's far from Foo Fighters, Nirvana and Queens of the Stone Age, but Dave Grohl serves great metal tracks for you, co-starring the best underground metal singers from 1984-1990, and...the most rock'n'roll musician the world has ever seen, Lemmy of Motörhead. Lemmy appears on "Shake Your Blood", which is by far the most brilliant track on the album. Released as a counterpart to the Foo Fighters laid back "There is Nothing Left to Lose", Grohl shows the metal side of himself showing of his undoubted skills as a drummer and guitarist, and most important of all, a songwriter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2004
This albbum may have some bad reviews but they don't do the record justice. This album is a fusion of all strands of metal (apart from turd like slipknot) that culminates in a classic blend of heavy, thrash and even country style (thanks to the vocals of Motorhead's Lemmyy on the track 'Boil your blood') metal in a fresh new breath , and we have Dave Grohl (a living musical genius) to thank for it. YOU MUST BUY THIS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£4.85

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)