Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out on the Edge
So-called country music has experienced major swings in both form and popularity in the United States during the past ten years. Aging baby-boomers are turning to country subjects and harmonies as a comfortable alternative to current pop and rock music. Musicians have been experimenting with fusion of the various traditions. Alison Krauss, for example, switches freely...
Published on 1 Feb. 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tasteful
Mindy Smith's debut album is a tasteful affair, delicately played and sung, with sparse country-tinged acoustic settings to frame her pure toned voice. It's the sort of album that some might find inspirational soaking in a hot tub by candle light after a hard day, but when Smith sings (on `Down in Flames') "I would tell you that I am happy, If I wasn't so damn sad" "Yeah...
Published on 6 Jun. 2008 by M. G. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out on the Edge, 1 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: One Moment More (Audio CD)
So-called country music has experienced major swings in both form and popularity in the United States during the past ten years. Aging baby-boomers are turning to country subjects and harmonies as a comfortable alternative to current pop and rock music. Musicians have been experimenting with fusion of the various traditions. Alison Krauss, for example, switches freely among the various genres. Mindy Smith has gone back to the roots of both country and folk music to present a raw, honest sound which challenges as much as it entertains. She will not fit some of the easy-listening programmers now dominating American radio. But Mindy came to the attention of Dolly Parton herself for her version of Dolly's tune "Jolene" which is now the featured video for the collection of Dolly's songs about women. "One Moment More" is an emotional tribute to Mindy's mother, who died when she ws 19. She admits to having a tear in her eye everytime she sings it. "Come to Jesus" is up tempo and heartfelt. So much so that some church groups have complained about its too playful approach to the subject. This is not a recording for easy listening. It will challenge you and even shake you up. But it is one of the most sincere and touching albums to come out in a long while. It is a joy to listen to. but it also leaves you strangely moved. You feel that you have in fact been out on the edge of Mindy's emotions. She has taken yo there and made you feel deeply the things which are important to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly beautiful album, 27 Mar. 2004
By 
Peter Moran (Leatherhead, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Moment More (Audio CD)
I came to this album having heard her interpretation of Dolly Parton's Jolene, and, I have to say, it is very impressive. It's not easily categorised; it's a little bit country, it's a little bit rock & roll, but it is also easy listening. Whatever it is it is a truly beautiful album. Ms Smith has a powerfully sweet, or should that be sweetly powerful, voice. Whichever, it is powerful, and, added to the wonderfully candid lyrics, very moving. The strong Christian influence hints at demons conquered and salvation found and this young lady opens up her heart and sings straight from it. Only the hardest of hearts could fail to be touched. This 47 year old, atheist, music loving builder sure was. Go listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Enhancing, 15 Feb. 2004
By 
This review is from: One Moment More (Audio CD)
What a shock - didnt have great expectations of this album - hadnt really heard of her - but it is fabulous. Great lyrics (quite religious) and really well sung - gets under your skin easily. Good album additions - nice video, couple of links - professionally done. Duet with Dolly is very good - really recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, I am addicted..., 1 Nov. 2004
This review is from: One Moment More (Audio CD)
I just can't stop listening to this album. Admittedly there are a few tracks I don't play, but the majority are wonderful, spiritual pieces. Smith has the most clear, pure, controlled voice I have heard and she uses it to draw your emotions to the surface. I am a hard person to impress, but she has done it. I can't wait for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 6 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: One Moment More (Audio CD)
I saw MIndy Smith play at the Cambridge Folk Festival last weekend and was blown away by her voice. Rushed over to the CD stall to purchase this album and am happy to report it measures up to the liver performance. A sort of mix between country and folk and in some ways she reminds me of Suzanne Vega. I would recommend this album to anyone who loves country or folk music or really anyone who just wants to listen to good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Alisson Krauss, you'll love this, 25 Aug. 2004
This review is from: One Moment More (Audio CD)
A beautiful album full of chill out melodies. The lyrics are strong and meaningful and the resemblance to the style and vocals of Alisson Krauss is uncanny. I would recommend this albume to all lovers of female - obscure - riddled with talent -artists. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing debut album, 8 Feb. 2006
This review is from: One Moment More (Audio CD)
I have to say, this is one of my favourite albums. Mindy has a beautiful, haunting voice that suits both ballads and upbeat songs. Her version of Jolene (sung with Dolly herself) is wonderful.
Buy this album. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its Amazing!!!, 15 May 2005
By 
This review is from: One Moment More (Audio CD)
This is such a beautiful album...Shes got a lovely voice and the songs are so spirtual and uplifting, I love every song on the album. My favourites include well all of them but if I really have to pick,"one moment more","amazing", "Angel doves" and "hurricane"...If you have never heard this laydee, shes a cross between Christian music, Country and folk and its all wonderful so I recommend this album to you!!!ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tasteful, 6 Jun. 2008
By 
M. G. Wilson (Eastbourne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Moment More (Audio CD)
Mindy Smith's debut album is a tasteful affair, delicately played and sung, with sparse country-tinged acoustic settings to frame her pure toned voice. It's the sort of album that some might find inspirational soaking in a hot tub by candle light after a hard day, but when Smith sings (on `Down in Flames') "I would tell you that I am happy, If I wasn't so damn sad" "Yeah life's so hard" I'm afraid it just makes me want to yell - get over yourself: try getting out more.

Highpoints are the terrific opener `Come to Jesus': neotraditionalist country gospel right out of the Buddy Miller textbook, and an impassioned performance from Smith, whose voice here has a hoarse edge lacking elsewhere on the album. `Hard to know' has a grittier rockier, more modern sound, as surprisingly does her cover of `Jolene' with Dolly on BGVs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for the hairs on the back of your neck, 18 Sept. 2004
This review is from: One Moment More (Audio CD)
I'm a brutally honest music critic, And I have just listened to Mindy singing a song called "One Moment More" and well ..what a voice!!!The only song that irritated me was her cover of Jolene, but that can be forgiven because of the rest of the performance.An absolutley crystal clear, perfectly controlled voice.
She has I'm told an affiliation with Dolly Parton However, no offence to Dolly Parton, as her voice goes, she knocks spots off her!. A great springboard, but once you hit the water swim your own way.
"Dolly's a Diferent time,diferent Genre Different target audience".
I wish her every success and look forward to seeing her live at again Cambridge next year I hope.
She needs to drop the Gothic Image ( leave it to the OZZY People.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Moment More
One Moment More by Mindy Smith (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews