Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent update of a great game
It's difficult to believe now but there was a time when Lucasarts were synonymous with great games and this game dates from when the company were at the height of their powers. It is set at some unspecified point in the near future and you play the leader of a motorcycle gang, Ben, who has been framed for the murder of the head of America's last motorcycle manufacturer,...
Published on 14 Mar. 2004 by C. C. Williams

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good puzzles / Short / Action parts
In simple words:

1) The game is funny at places and the character is kind of "cool".
2) It's a short game (shortest Lucas Art I have ever played), and the puzzles are easy, but not too easy. I used hints a couple of times.

3) Greatest drawback of the game: It has action parts!!!!!! I hate them!!!! I always hate action parts in adventure games...
Published on 24 Jun. 2008 by ImmortalWind


Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent update of a great game, 14 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: Lucas Classic Line: Full Throttle (PC) (Video Game)
It's difficult to believe now but there was a time when Lucasarts were synonymous with great games and this game dates from when the company were at the height of their powers. It is set at some unspecified point in the near future and you play the leader of a motorcycle gang, Ben, who has been framed for the murder of the head of America's last motorcycle manufacturer, Corley motors. You are out to thwart the evil machinations of true murderer, Adrian Ripburger, and win the heart of the lovely mechanic (and heir to the Corley empire) Maureen. The game is a typical Lucasarts point-and-click affair: you have various puzzles to solve and various items in your inventory which may or may not help in their solution. An example of this is when you have a minefield to navigate and a box of battery-powered rabbits in your pocket. What are you going to do? Not all the puzzles have such obvious solutions but fortunately there are none of the use-watermelon-with-souzaphone variety which require impossible leaps of logic. The game has great atmosphere. Ben is a fun character to play. Imagine this: you have a locked door and the key is on the other side of the lock. Bernard from 'Day Of The Tentacle' would slide a newspaper under the door, poke a swizzle stick through the keyhole, pull the newspaper with key on it out from under the door and open the lock. Ben, on the other hand, would simply give it a damned good kick. The graphics were good in their day and have been very well updated to run on today's systems. You can run it at 640x480 in a window and the graphics smoothing means that there is no horrible pixellation. In fact, the effect is similar to modern "cel-shading" techniques. The voice acting is really good with Mark Hamill outstanding as the odious Ripburger. The music is quite decent with some very good hard rocking tracks. Some of the scripted events are outstanding; the exposure of Ripburger, for example, is one of the more memorable moments I have encountered in a computer game. There is good use of humour throughout as well.
There are some complaints which stop this game from getting top marks. First off, it is far too short. I can complete the game in around four hours. However, given that these are four of the more enjoyable hours you will ever spend at your computer this is not so bad as it may seem at first. Also, there is a section which involves you fighting other motorcyclists. The realization is quite poor and the animation is very feeble and the whole minigame detracts from the atmosphere of the main game. Other than this, I have no real gripes. Some have claimed that it is too wasy. I disagree and think that the difficulty is judged just right. However, if you're the sort of adventure game nut who completed all the Monkey Island games without ever needing to resort to a walkthrough you may find that this game lacks challenge.
I personally do not believe that computer games used to be better than they are now, but some have stood the test of time remarkably well. All the Lucasarts point and click adventures are a case in point. They still ooze quality and class and their gameplay is a refreshing change from first person shooters and frantic action / adventure games. They make you think but don't hurry you or hassle you and don't punish your mistakes. I always liked that and still do.
Full Throttle isn't quite the best adventure game that you can get but it may well be the most fun. I recommend it wholeheartedly, particularly as it isn't very expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic game with classic game play!, 12 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucas Classic Line: Full Throttle (PC) (Video Game)
Any fans of these Lucas games such as the Monkey Island series are going to love this game. If you are one of the people that played it when it originally came out will remember the classic characters such as Ripburger or Ben and will be happy to see them updated to work on more modern operating systems especially after Lucas Arts binned the planned sequel.
All is not roses though as this game is incredibly short in comparison to some of the other classic titles available such as Escape from Monkey Island.
Because the game is only £8.99 at the moment it is well worth it if you like this style of game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic Point & Click Adventure!!, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucas Classic Line: Full Throttle (PC) (Video Game)
I came into this adventure game from a friend who lent it in my teenage days. Almost a decade back, I felt I was missing some adventure and this game blot out of my memory, so I decided to give a go for it again. After all these years I still feel enthusiastic with this game!

The plot is set in a fictional place in the US and mainly revolves around the Biker gangs subculture with a good dose of humor. You play as Ben, the leader of a once-flourishing Biker gang - the Polecats - who receives a simple offer to escort his long-time friend Malcolm Corley, founder of Corley Motors - the last motorcycle maker in the country - to a meeting whose aim is to discuss his succession. Behind this task, however, lies an insidious plan related to the future ownership of Corley Motors, which involve framing the Polecats into trouble...

In order to cleanse his name and of his gang, Ben will have to travel along the countryside, perform simple tasks, improve his gear and fighting rival gangs. While the former are not the most challenging I've seen in an adventure game, they surely are originally fun and involve a lot of sarcasm, something that will hold the player's interest; if case it don't, then wait until facing rival bikers- and then pick a fight!

Any player fond of this genre will surely find Full Throttle attractive and fun enough to give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full Throttle product review ;-), 11 Mar. 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lucas Classic Line: Full Throttle (PC) (Video Game)
The product itself is simply the box and a CD. No bells or whistles. Just straight to the point. All relevant instructions are contained on a PDF on the CD. The game, as far as I can tell remains unchanged from it's original format.

Great plot, soundtrack and characters make this a very easy game to like, whether you are new to it or not. It has good gameplay with decent puzzles throughout. Perhaps most importantly is it's sense of humour, which is nothing short of brilliant.

Dated though it's graphics may now be (it never pretends otherwise) it still holds it's own with all other games of this type. If you are a fan of point and click adventure, it is one for your collection without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good puzzles / Short / Action parts, 24 Jun. 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lucas Classic Line: Full Throttle (PC) (Video Game)
In simple words:

1) The game is funny at places and the character is kind of "cool".
2) It's a short game (shortest Lucas Art I have ever played), and the puzzles are easy, but not too easy. I used hints a couple of times.

3) Greatest drawback of the game: It has action parts!!!!!! I hate them!!!! I always hate action parts in adventure games! They have to do with riding a motorycycle and throw down some opponents if I remember correctly. And you have to do this a number of times in the game.

So, 3 stars minus in the fun factor for the action parts, and 3 stars for the game in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but too easy, 1 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucas Classic Line: Full Throttle (PC) (Video Game)
Gameplay up to same usual high Lucasarts standards but unfortunately the game is just too easy and short comared with Indy, S&M, Monkey Island, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucas Classic Line: Full Throttle (PC)
Lucas Classic Line: Full Throttle (PC) by Activision (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / Me / XP)
£9.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews