Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Shore thing
Remember when the Bio-Dome was not a joke? You have to be sophisticated to understand such subtle humor. Many people express themselves in a subliminal manor. If you do not watch closely (like going to the refrig while this film is running) you may not have the opportunity to hear key statements:

"What? Do you think you are, some rocket scientist?"...
Published on 20 Oct. 2002 by bernie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A really dumb movie that actually manages to become rather funny by the end
Bio-Dome compels one to ponder one of life's most inexplicable mysteries: how could Pauly Shore be given the opportunity to make out with both Kylie Minogue and Joey Lauren Adams - and actually get paid a good sum of money for the privilege? I mean, come on - that is just wrong on so many levels. Oh man, Joey Adams ... Sorry. What was I talking about? Oh, yeah,...
Published on 17 Nov. 2011 by Daniel Jolley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Shore thing, 20 Oct. 2002
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bio-Dome [DVD] (DVD)
Remember when the Bio-Dome was not a joke? You have to be sophisticated to understand such subtle humor. Many people express themselves in a subliminal manor. If you do not watch closely (like going to the refrig while this film is running) you may not have the opportunity to hear key statements:

"What? Do you think you are, some rocket scientist?"

"Yes"

"Sorry"

If this film is not prominently displayed in your library, people will suspect that you have couth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!, 1 April 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bio-Dome [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw Bio-Dome when i was younger and watched it everyday for a week, it's still high in my top films of all time, it may be daft but the storyline is brilliant, it could be a serious film but they made a comedy and i'm glad they did. For some reason Pauly Shore get a bad name for acting but i think the guy is a comedy genius, people also slate the film because they are supposed to be in junior college but they look 30, so what! if you've got a sense of humour you should be able to get over things like that, i definently recommend this film and hope you enjoy it as much as i still do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A really dumb movie that actually manages to become rather funny by the end, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bio-Dome [DVD] (DVD)
Bio-Dome compels one to ponder one of life's most inexplicable mysteries: how could Pauly Shore be given the opportunity to make out with both Kylie Minogue and Joey Lauren Adams - and actually get paid a good sum of money for the privilege? I mean, come on - that is just wrong on so many levels. Oh man, Joey Adams ... Sorry. What was I talking about? Oh, yeah, Bio-Dome. This is a really dumb movie; in fact, this may be the dumbest movie Pauly Shore ever made, and that's really saying something. Pauly Shore isn't even the dumbest character in this movie; he's a veritable da Vinci compared to Stephen Baldwin's character. These two guys are almost too dumb to live for the first half of the film. Then, somehow or other, things start to turn around and - despite numerous moments of utter crudity - you end up not hating the film in the end. There are even a few nice surprises along the way, such as what I believe to be the first film performance by Jack Black and Kyle Gass (Tenacious D) and a couple of scenes with a young Rose McGowan. Oh man, Rose McGowan ...

Bud Macintosh (Pauly Shore) and his bud Doyle Johnson (Stephen Baldwin) are two incredibly stupid slacker college students who somehow have hot girlfriends (Joey Adams and Teresa Hill). The girls are devoted environmentalists, so the boys are constantly going to extremely stupid lengths to get out of attending environmental events with them. The only way these guys could possibly care about Mother Nature is if she started stripping. So it is not without a heavy dose of irony when they accidentally find themselves trapped within the new Bio-Dome outside of town, having mistaken the place for a mall. With the doors locked until the next Earth Day 365 days later, they're in there for the long haul alongside the five dedicated scientists who actually volunteered to live there for a year. As you can well imagine, the constant adolescent actions of Bud and Doyle cause nothing but trouble - disaster, actually. As you can probably guess, it's ultimately up to them to save the whole Bio-Dome project after personally destroying it, and it is here that the film finally takes a turn for the better.

I don't dislike Pauly Shore as much as most people seem to. Son-in-Law is a comedy classic, as far as I'm concerned, but that features a somewhat mellow Pauly Shore. Taken in excess, Shore can be incredibly annoying, especially when teamed up with another brain-dead character like Doyle. I really didn't enjoy the first half of this movie. When the guys finally take on a little bit of responsibility, start acting like they have at least one or two neurons actually firing in their brains, and stop acting like complete idiots all of the time, some actual comedy is finally given room to come to the surface. I'm not saying there aren't a lot of crude and stupid moments in the second half of the film because there are plenty of them. I'm just saying that the comedy finally becomes something you can actually laugh at and enjoy down the stretch. It's enough for me to give the film three stars overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure., 12 April 2010
This review is from: Bio-Dome [DVD] (DVD)
A horrendous film, with a decent premise but ridiculous motivations (it was apparently supposed to be the third Bill and Ted film, which may have saved it but not much), and the two most horrendously annoying protagonists I've ever seen. That said, if you've got a few beers and are with friends, you WILL laugh quite a lot at just how dreadful the performances are. To that end, it does its job. It's got a cult following in recent years as a 'stoner movie', and I can see why. Don't take it too seriously, recognise it for the abortion it is, and you'll actually enjoy it for the most part. But as a piece of cinema, it's insipid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BIO ROCKS, 7 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bio-Dome [DVD] (DVD)
I FIRST WATCHED BIO-DOME IN THE EARLY 90'S AND I HAVE SPENT THE LAST TWO YEARS TRYING TO FIND IT AND NOW I HAVE!
IT IS THE MOST FUNNY THING I HAVE EVER SEEN AND IT IS A TRUE CLASSIC JUST LIKE HAPPY GILMORE, THE COMEDY IS JUST SIDE SPLITTING AND ONCE YOU HAVE WATCHED IT YOU WILL WANT TO WATCH IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN BIO-DOME ROCKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRIBAL!!!, 15 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bio-Dome [VHS] (VHS Tape)
What happens when Bill and Ted meets Dumb and Dumber?... BIO-DOME! One of the funniest and most care free films ever. If you haven't seen it then make sure you buy it and watch it over and over again, if you have seen it then you'll know the word TRIBAL all to well!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The new 'Weekend at Bernies', 21 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bio-Dome [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Superbly stupid comedy from forgotten comedy geezah, Pauly Shore. Not an intelligent bone in it, the jokes flow thick and fast in this eco-caper, not to mention, a rare movie presence from Aussie tottie, Kylie Minogue. Watch, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome movie, 15 April 2013
By 
D. Pulman (UK at the moment) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bio-Dome [DVD] (DVD)
always love biodome!
couldtnt find it since i lost it on VHS...yes VHS lol how times change
now i watch it on dvd often and never gets old :-) great a must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding...Thank you Mr.Shore, 13 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bio-Dome [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a very good comedy. You'll love it if you like
"In The Army", Chris Farley-ish and/or Will Farrell-ish movies.
In my opinion more bad comedies (featuring too much special-effects and far-fetched stories) are being made than just good ones (with good physical and psychic human humor) but this one is good in all ways.
It's perfect for a hangover-couch-laying-sunday-afternoon.
You don't have to use your brain - just sit back and laugh.
Not for square people! You eather love it or hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bio Dome DVD, 27 Feb. 2004
By 
Matt A (Horley, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bio-Dome [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd is truely fantastic it really is one of the funniest films i have in a long time. The film is a real tribute to the actors and is a well structured and directed film.
Steven Baldwin and Pauley Shore are a wicked duo who really make the film come to life with their energy and spot on acting.
I think that this film is for anyone who wants a giggle and bit of fun, basically everyone should watch this film at least once.
Go buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bio-Dome [DVD]
Bio-Dome [DVD] by Pauly Shore (DVD - 2004)
£4.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews