Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Youngblood
I guess the target market for this DVD release would be the now (late)-30 somethings who fondly remember this film from their various misspend youths. Certainly that was how I picked up the film as this formed a vast amount of my video and film watching time back when I was a teenager.

"Youngblood" tells the story of Dean Youngblood, a talented young ice hockey...
Published on 23 April 2006 by Rich Milligan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Too dated but a bit of a chick flick.
Published 3 months ago by Mandy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Youngblood, 23 April 2006
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Youngblood [DVD] (DVD)
I guess the target market for this DVD release would be the now (late)-30 somethings who fondly remember this film from their various misspend youths. Certainly that was how I picked up the film as this formed a vast amount of my video and film watching time back when I was a teenager.

"Youngblood" tells the story of Dean Youngblood, a talented young ice hockey player who is desperate to leave the impoverished farm he works with his father and older brother. Managing to secure a trail with a well respected Canadian youth team, the Hamilton Mustangs, he impresses the coach, Murray Chadwick, with his speed and skill but not so much with his size and strength. When the rough and ready Racki, a formidable rival trialist kicks Dean all over the ice it looks like Dean may not get the call up he so wants.

Still all's well that ends well and Dean makes the team and gets to meet his new teammates, who strip and shave him and also Miss McGill his boarding landlady who provides a lot more than bed and breakfast. He also meets up with Chadwick's young daughter, Jessie, and whilst both realise that any sort of relationship between the two of them is only going to antagonise Chadwick neither of them can deny the attraction they feel for each other.

The pivotal point of the film comes when the Mustang's captain, Derek Sutton someone with whom Dean has built up a firm friendship is critically injured by Racki who by now has been recruited by the Mustang's feared rivals, the Thunder Bay Bombers. Dean must decide where in light of Derek's serious injuries whether he has the heart for the game and whether he too can risk serious injuries or whether he should dish out suitable revenge for his friend's injury.

It's the classic sports film story, Dean is knocked down, built up, knocked down again, takes some advise from a fatherly older figure and then returns to become the last minute hero, but what I like is that the film doesn't try to be anything more than this. There's no subliminal messages to try to interpret and similarly there's no multi-faceted characters to try to understand. That's not to say the film isn't without its subtleties. Ed Lauter is great fun as coach Chadwick and daughter Jessie played by Cynthia Gibb also shows great charm and enthusiasm. Also mention for Jim Youngs & Eric Nesterenko (an ex-pro Hockey player in fact) as Dean's brother and father who show a real humanity and humility in their roles.

The two stars, Rob Lowe and Patrick Swayze should also be applauded. OK, the parts don't call for the most intricate or demanding interpretation but both deliver great energetic performances and are extremely watchable. Final mention for a very short appearance by Keanu Reeves as the quite bizarre French-Canadian goalkeeper and my personal favourite Duane Hewitt the assistant-captain. "I'm gonna carve you up Racki!" - Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey, did you know?, 12 Nov 2007
By 
Kyle (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
That the fight at the end of movie, where it is Youngblood versus Racki was completely legal? Yeah, the sword-fighting with the hockey sticks and everything. I watched this and laughed thinking that you could not do that, but I looked it up and under Rule 6.11, if both players agree or intend to use the sticks as weapons that there is no further penalty other than 5 minutes for fighting. Now I wish I was back in High School playing hockey I would have done that in the final game of the season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Youngblood, 1986 starring Rob Lowe as Dean Youngblood, 15 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Youngblood [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Having seen this film many years ago I still haven't forgotten a single scene. There are those who don't rate it as a memorable film but as a fan of Ice Hockey, I appreciate the storyline and how the American/Canadian hockey teams opperated at the time the film was released.
Dean Youngblood, a young gifted player, tries out his luck in the Canadian Hockey leagues. Although he is small for a player he finds his speed an asset. As it is quoted in the film, when he is on the try-outs 'Why don't they hit him' 'They can't catch him' being the reply. He soon learns that just being good doesn't cut it. He finds his nemesis in Karl Rakki, an ox of a player who is quite happy to be a 'goon' and throws his weight around to put off the opposing players and get time penalties in favour of his team. When the captain of his team gets badly injured by Rakki Dean soon leaves the team fearing for his own safety and sanity and returns home to being a farm boy, much to his elder brothers disgust. Kelly Youngblood gives Dean a dressing down and calling him a quitter shouting 'With one eye (injury) I begged them to let me play.'
The usual underdog story comes to light when Dean wants Kelly to prepare him for the return to the ice for the play off's. This he does and when he returns he muscles past the coach 'Mad Dog Murray' who was himself once an 'All Star' player to get back in the team to win the play off final and face Rakki in a fairly typical Ice Hockey fight scene. Dean even surprises Murray with his new found confidence and fighting spirit.
Yes, good old Youngblood does the business and along the way gets bedded by 'Miss McGill' his landlady and then moves onto the coaches daughter and has to suffer the indignities of various initiation procedures, one of which causes severe embarrasment.
If you're after the film of the decade, leave well alone. If you're after a fairly realistic Hockey film where you've always wanted to see what lies beneath the glamour and thrills of the sport, this is just up your street. Enjoy.
Rob Lowe, Cynthia Gibb and Keano Reeves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes you back, 1 Sep 2010
By 
Chris L (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youngblood [DVD] (DVD)
Whoever the reviewer is who said that this film is probably watched by thirtysomethings heading back to the films of their youth got it spot on!! This is one of the better ones with some typical story lines (of the time) and plenty of Ice Hockey and fighting! If you don't expect too much in the way of intellectual challenge (because there is'nt any!) then you will enjoy this and as a tribute to Patrick Swayze I think that this and Point Break must rate pretty high on the list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Youngblood, 1 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youngblood [DVD] (DVD)
A young Patrick, great on the skates, action, speed, exhilarating. I love to see Patrick in all his different roles and admire his work, shame there will be no more:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ICE HOCKEY STORY, 1 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Youngblood [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this film. A bit like slap shot but not quite so mental. Patrick looks great in it and plays the star of the team until rob lowe comes along. The family parts are good and characters believable. Also got Keanu in a bit part as part of the team. Even got him acting stupid in it, he should sue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Youngblood [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great packaging and service to get the item to me ..., 2 July 2014
By 
brandon baker (aldershot, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youngblood [DVD] (DVD)
great packaging and service to get the item to me asap very happy about this products so I can be sure to recommend to all my friends A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past!, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. C. Peters "Dundee Scotty" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youngblood [DVD] (DVD)
This movie was a favourite of my son's when he was younger and he had it on his wishlist - he is delighted with it. Arrived on time and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youngblood [DVD] (DVD)
This film would appeal to lots of different ages, nothing to brutal in it, even Mum and Dad will like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Youngblood [DVD]
Youngblood [DVD] by Peter Markle (DVD - 2004)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews